1988 Ford Thunderbird Reviews - Page 15 of 16

1988 Ford Thunderbird Turbo Coupe 2.4L 4 cyl from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 2.4L 4 cyl Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance142000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird LX

Summary:

One of the most unique, fun, and fast cars you'll ever drive

Faults:

BRAKES! Very expensive when the whole set needs to be replaced. Other than that, no engine problems.

General Comments:

Mileage was exceptional, especially on long trips, got 529 miles on one tank of gas on my way to Texas.

Only raced it once, and that was because a guy pestered me at a bar, then followed me home, wanting to race me. I had the car in the garage and he still wanted to race. After 10 minutes of telling the guy to leave me alone, I told him to get it out on the road. Needless to say, he was a spec in my rearview mirror when I got through with him. I regret the day I got rid of that car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2000

1988 Ford Thunderbird Turbo Coupe 2.3 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.3 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance168000 miles
Previous carChevrolet 46

Summary:

This car is as fun to drive as a small sports car

Faults:

Fuel pump.

Fuel pressure regulator.

Turbo.

General Comments:

Great car, liked this car since I first drove it. One of a kind, not only a comfort car but also a sports car.

In two words - "Great ride"!!!!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2000

1988 Ford Thunderbird Turbo Coupe 2.3 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.3 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance193000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

A very good car

Faults:

Air conditioner.

Transmission.

Water pump.

Rear callipers.

General Comments:

Very good car, I love it. After 192,000 miles, it is still just as strong as ever. I have changed the exhaust, intake, boost level, and the chip, and the motor is still in one piece. When you can punish a car as much as I have with this one, and still not replace the motor, it is a very good car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2000

7th Feb 2001, 08:37

OK, I bought mine with no tranny in near mint for 400.00. The tranny was done at the shop prior, (cost me another 800.00) so the tranny problem was licked from the start.

All in all, very impressive bone stock. Would love any info on performance mods from anyone.

highoctane51@home.com

1988 Ford Thunderbird Turbo Coupe 2.3 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.3 turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles

Summary:

Great toy, not an everyday car

Faults:

Most recently the transmission and catalytic converter.

I have had this car for almost 12 years and the maintenance and repairs have been very costly.

Oil leaks, tail lights that blow out on a monthly basis, clutch, electric windows, electric door locks, graphic equalizer, electric seats just to name a few of the items that I have had repaired, some of them more than once.

General Comments:

I LOVE THIS CAR!!! When it is good it is the best car to drive!! If I didn't love it so much, I would have unloaded it a long time ago.

Also, for the record I have had the oil changed every 3,000 miles faithfully since the day I drove it off the lot as well as regular tune ups and maintenance.

I highly recommend NOT test driving this car or you will become addicted like me and will never again be able to afford the finer things in life.

On the other hand, if you are one of the lucky few who have money to throw away, if you can find one in decent condition, buy it!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th September, 2000

18th Dec 2003, 09:47

I agree its the best car ever! I have an 87 turbo, garage kept, only 19,453 miles. It's a beauty.

24th Feb 2004, 14:04

I have 87 turbo I bought new in 1987.The problems I have had with the car was it seem to overheat in the summer. I have 33300 mile on it The gas line rusted out and it had to be replaced. Ford dealers would not do it.. I had to get a private shop to make a new gas line. Above all that it has been a great car and I love it. I don't know if I would recommend buying one used.

1988 Ford Thunderbird Turbo Coupe 2.3L turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.3L turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance62100 miles

Summary:

Best car ever made!

Faults:

This car is great. The only thing I have ever done is replace a fog light bulb.

General Comments:

I have had this car for ten years and it still runs like the day I bought it.

It is very good on gas, and still has a lot of pick up for an 88.

I have read the other comments on this car and I personally think it was the BEST car Ford has ever made.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2000

31st Jan 2001, 16:00

I also own a 88 Ford Thunderbird Turbo Coupe and the pick-up on my car is horrible but it is still an amazing car, if you have any tips, please e-mail me at: Golden6339@aol.com

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 60 reviews