1989 Ford Thunderbird Base 3.8L N/A V6 from North America


A great car, but very underpowered


Head gaskets went at 128000.

Fuel sender is wacky.


Underpowered car of the century!

MPG fluctuations.

General Comments:

If treated right, and not beat up by a bad owner as mine was, it won't rust out on you.

The car is an extremely good handler, I can take a turn at approximately 10 MPH faster than my buddies.

The base seats don't have much support in sharp turns though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2005

1989 Ford Thunderbird 3.8 V6 from North America


Not a bad car, But do yourself a favor and get the V8 version


Car just would not stay aligned!

Probably do to the lowering. Numerous $$$ in suspension repair.

Replaced both Cats at 160k at a cost of $300 for the two installed so called "High Flow Cats"

Fuel line broke sometime not too longer after that due to the cars low proximity to a speed bump. Only cost $1 for more fuel line.

Head gasket blew at 177k

Sold it right after for a mere $800.

General Comments:

Good Looking car! Low, Sleek, very streamline.

With just a little bit of modification it was unique.

Performace was ample considering the weight of the vehicle in conjunction with the moderatley powered 3.8 V6.

Confort was a plus although the interior was very basic even for 1989.

Handled extremely well. Combination of the Zenon body kit, wide tires and heavy curb weight.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2005

8th Feb 2010, 14:27

I have an 89 Thunderbird with a 3.8 too, and I would love to try out a super coupe with a supercharged V8. But don't sleep on the V6, it still hauls some ass.

Access Restricted

User Profile:

Reason: An internal error has occurred.

Category: None

To change any of the filter settings please speak to your CyberPatrol Headquarters? Administrator.

1989 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.8L V6 from North America


Great car for the price!


Driver side window won't move, but it's not the Motor.

Replaces the front brakes at 88 000 kilometers.

Replaced the rear brakes at 94 000 kilometers.

Chipping of paint on front and rear bumpers (common problem I see a lot on these birds) .

General Comments:

For what the car is meant to be I think that it is totally underpowered. If any of you out there are looking for a powerful bird go for the super coupe.

When I first got the car it seemed to be guzzling a lot of gas. I got some fuel injection cleaner that I sent through the system and that cleared that problem right up and now mileage is actually pretty good.

This is a very comfortable car. the ride is smooth as well as acceleration. controls are easy to you and close at hand.

The old lady I got the car from must have been insane. it had 86 000 kilometers on it when I got it and was in almost perfect condition besides the air conditioning. I lucked out and got the car for less than 1700 dollars.

For an older car she is pretty easy on the eyes. the styling is pretty nice especially on certain angles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd February, 2005

1989 Ford Thunderbird Super Coupe 3.8 Supercharged from North America


High performance, under-rated sleeper


No problems.

I replaced the headgaskets, tires, and performance exhaust.

All repairs done have been performed by myself for no other reason than I wanted to make the car as reliable as possible. With 200k miles on it, it still blows away the Mustangs and Camaros on the highway.

Top speed reached at 205,000 miles was 145mph.

General Comments:

Love the car. I own two of them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2004

15th Feb 2005, 19:04

Hey, I just bought a 1990 SC in November 2003. Rebuilt the engine after head gasket and rod problems. All stock and still doing a little over 145 mph.

1989 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.8 from North America


An excellent car for being 15 years old!


The Mass Air Flow sensor went out. Only cost me $12.00 to replace it from wrecking yard.

General Comments:

My Thunder bird is the most comfortable car I have ever owned.

I love the styling, especially the appearance from the rear. The tail lights are especially nice.

I get an average of 22mpg. That is around town. On the highway I get about 28mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2004

14th Jun 2004, 19:31

What size engine, v6 or v8.

25th Oct 2005, 21:50

I loved my Thunder bird too! Sadly, I crashed it last night and completely wrote it off. I drove an '89 LX, it was a really nice car, excellent handling, really smooth! I'm currently looking for a replacement.