1989 Ford Thunderbird Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1989 Ford Thunderbird 3.8 Litre V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Litre V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired143000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

This car is positively a gem of a keeper!

Faults:

Replaced the water pump.

Replaced thermostat.

Fuel tank leaks.

Passenger power window doesn't work properly.

General Comments:

I bought this car on a trip to Tampa, FL.

Driving from there, through Georgia, and ultimately into Michigan, the car handled very well, fuel efficient, and possesses more power than I thought possible in a V-6!

I found it very comfortable, even driving such a long distance.

With the price I paid, it was definitely the best bargain I could have ever found!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2004

1989 Ford Thunderbird LX V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Summary:

Pretty good totaled out twice car!

Faults:

When I bought the car the engine was blown, replaced it. I was told the engine had over 200k. I replaced it with a used one that had about 160k (the engine was my grandfathers so it was free!).

The battery didn't stay charged.

General Comments:

Well I wrecked it in June of 03, my grandfather fixed it and is driving it today. It already had a salvage title when I bought it so it's been totaled twice and still runs! Impressive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2004

1989 Ford Thunderbird 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

A smooth old bird

Faults:

A/C doesn't work. Conversion needed.

Power Steering leak.

Headlights yellowed.

General Comments:

This bird has held up well for a 14 year old auto.

145hp V-6 is a little underpowered, but adequate for around town driving.

Rides and drives nice and solid. Rear wheel drive is the best!

Timeless styling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2003

1989 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

High performance bargain

Faults:

Power windows and locks went.

Ball joints and tie rods.

Radiator (plastic - melted) at 100,000 miles.

General Comments:

I love this car. I have had it for 5 years. It is so comfortable and stylish and fast. Everyone loves my car and the best thing is that even though it is a 1989 you wouldn't guess it unless you really love T-Birds and know every model like I do!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2001

1989 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.8L V6 gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance163000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Cabrio

Summary:

The best car I've owned in over 30 years!

Faults:

Replaced the fuel tank sensor three times within the first six months of ownership (under warranty). The last one must have been good, I still have it and no problems noted.

Brake disks warped, replaced twice under warranty. Ford never did get this right, these are warped, too, despite being turned when the brakes were done at 90,000 miles.

Alternator failed at 121,000 miles, the brushes were worn. New brushes cost $18 and took about 10 minutes with one socket wrench to replace. The alternator was not removed from the car. This just impressed the heck out of me!

Left head gasket cracked at 147,000, replaced both and surfaced the heads. Total cost, $250.

Air conditioner compressor locked due to low freon at 155,000 and overheated, causing one of the original hoses to blow out. Remanufactured compressor and conversion to new CFC-free coolant was $550, including labor.

Window motors have given me trouble within the last year, to the tune of about $240.

I've spent less than $1,300 on unscheduled maintenance on this car since new, and $1,504 on scheduled maintenance. A stunning declaration of quality.

General Comments:

Very nice highway ride, not quite "floating" but close. Pretty long-travel suspension, so it handles "whoops" type bumps well. Less sure on chatter-type bumps or broken pavement.

Corners very well, due to very sturdy anti-roll bars.

Doesn't handle asymmetric bumps (speed bumps or bad driveway entrances) taken at an angle very well, due to those same bars. Can be overcome by driving straight-on.

The best-balanced (fore-aft) car I've ever driven. Perfectly competent on icy roads, despite being rear-drive.

Very efficient with this engine. The transmission has a locking torque converter in 3 and 4, which contributes to mileages in the high 20s and even low 30s at 60 mph on level highways (such as around Houston). I have records showing that I *averaged* 28+ mpg on my routine trip between Houston and Tyler, 190 miles with some good hills during the last one third, for over two years! One trip with a slight tailwind turned 30.5 mpg. Incredible for such a heavy, quiet, and luxurious car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th August, 2001

2nd Sep 2001, 13:41

I totally agree with you. I own an 89 and it is the best car ever. I also had an 87 Cougar which was an excellent car too.

Last week I had to replace the radiator - $288.

Both head gaskets are going and it needs a paint job. Other than that, it is an excellent car.

13th Oct 2007, 05:24

Good grief! All those repairs and you call it reliable? Get a Toyota instead..

15th Oct 2007, 07:05

I have owned 2 Toyota's and both (although excellent to 100,000 miles) were money pits in repairs after that. The maintenance described above seems low for the number of miles.

1989 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.8L V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8L V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carDodge D100

Summary:

This is the most comfortable, and best handling car I have driven

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car. And it is 12 years old and looks new.

General Comments:

This is the best car I have next to my Mustang. We took a 90 degree turn at 85mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2001

1989 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired156 miles
Most recent distance266 miles
Previous carPontiac Gran Prix

Summary:

If people were only this dependable..

Faults:

Brake rotors.

Alternator.

Head gasket.

General Comments:

At 266,000 miles and counting this car is absolutely amazing! I commute 200 miles a day @ 80mph plus, without EVER having a problem.

I've changed the oil religiously, and to this day hasn't used a quart between changes.

Someday this thing has got to give up, or at least slow down, and when it does I'll be T-Bird shopping.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2001

1989 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance159000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

A fine example of what a sports luxury car should be

Faults:

The alternator went out, as did the battery. Nothing else has happened with the car besides this.

General Comments:

The only problems that I have with this car are that it is too heavy (3800 pounds) and the performance is so-so (the weight of the vehicle doesn't help this). But the car handles like a dream, and it has all of the lazy person features (auto headlights, digital dash, door keycode, auto seatbelts).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2000

1989 Ford Thunderbird 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance178000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Rabbit

Summary:

American car + 178,000 miles = OK by me!

Faults:

The engine was recalled at 60,000.

I have had several problems with brake warp.

Have replaced ball joints.

Some of my gadgets have died out (power seatbelts, some display lights, 1 power window, AC).

General Comments:

Still runs new. I can't understand it!

This car has taken me everywhere with speed, style, and comfort. Generally, I hate American cars, but I'm really gonna miss this one when its time comes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2000

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 16 reviews