1993 Ford Thunderbird Reviews - Page 14 of 14

1993 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Good bargain at a low mileage

Faults:

1) When bought, had the head gaskets replaced under warranty.

2) For first 6 months it would stall out in the mornings, but would be fine the rest of the day.

3) Keyless entry stopped working.

4) Power locks stopped working.

5) Interior lighting stopped working.

6) Suspension problems.

General Comments:

Good car, but too many problems with age.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd October, 2000

1993 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

High performance car for its price

Faults:

Had to rebuild the transmission and differential because of all those burnouts I made for seven years.

General Comments:

A good performance car and good looks for the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2000

1993 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance138140 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

It is the best car I have ever had

Faults:

This car has been nothing less than outstanding. The only problem was a failed alternator. I replaced the ignition system at 125k miles out of guilt. The spark plugs were initially replaced at 70k miles and again at 125k. I change the oil and filter every 2k miles and the transmission fluid every 30k.

General Comments:

The car runs as good today as it did new. I wish I could buy another just like it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2000

29th Mar 2001, 14:32

I agree with you! GREAT CARS!!!

1993 Ford Thunderbird LX 5.0 from Mexico

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 kilometres
Most recent distance93000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Shadow

Faults:

I had to change the water pump.

General Comments:

It's a super comfortable car, with exceptional technology for its years, and great performance, it's my love.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2000

1993 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.6 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carGeneral Motors Coupe de Ville

Summary:

Has become a headache after 45,000 miles..

Faults:

Needed a new transmission after 47,000 miles.

At 48000 miles the speedometer broke.

Automatic door locks stopped working on the passenger side @ 48000 miles. Therefore the car cannot be locked (Key does not work the lock either).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd July, 2000

1993 Ford Thunderbird LX V-8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission V-8 Don't Know
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carFord Tracer

Summary:

I would not buy another one

Faults:

The Thunderbird has constantly stalls out and loses power steering anytime the temperature dips below 60 degrees, which is quite often here in MI. It has always done this since I got it brand new. The dealership tells me that it must be my "imagination" because nothing is wrong with this car. Stalling out and not be able to restart your car in the left-turn lane in a busy intersection is scary. I had this car for seven years and only put 43,000 miles on it. The inside paneling started falling out at age 5 years. The one good thing I can say is that this is a smooth ride and nice looking car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2000

1993 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 3.6
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10

Faults:

Hmm, the rear suspension was getting kind of loud, the check engine light was coming on a lot and yes I had several problems with the transmission.

General Comments:

The car was a good ole American car, very reliable. I heard bad things about the car after I bought it but I've never had a great deal go wrong with it. I traded 2 months ago for a 99 Accord Coupe, the Thunderbird had 136,000 when I traded it and it had never left me stranded anywhere.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd August, 1999

15th May 2002, 21:39

It doesn't seem to say what was wrong with the car. The review sounded good even though he would not buy another one.

29th Sep 2002, 07:12

Sounds like you were overall pleased with the car... why the frownie face?

1993 Ford Thunderbird LX 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 5.0
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Faults:

Brake system-rotors, minor problems.

General Comments:

Love the car - second T-bird I've had - definitely would buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 1998

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 60 reviews