1993 Ford Thunderbird Reviews - Page 8 of 14

1993 Ford Thunderbird LX 5.0 H.O. from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0 H.O. Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles

Summary:

A great, Fun, Sporty Car for the money

Faults:

The Radiator had a leak.

Paint on rear ground effect is starting to chip.

Thermostat needed replacing.

Sunroof sometimes jams for no reason.

Transmission kicks when first starting.

Fuel gauge resets often resets out of nowhere.

Brake Line clogged.

Power Steering starting to make noises.

General Comments:

This is a very good car for the money and performance. Even though a few things have gone wrong with it, it still has never let me down or stranded in the middle of nowhere.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2003

1993 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance167000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

An absolute pleasure to own

Faults:

In the 3 years that I owned my Thunder-bird, I only had one major problem. At about 140,000 miles the V-6 blew a head gasket. Anyone who researches their car before buying would have known about the 3.8's only defect. I changed the gaskets myself with minimal problems. The job only cost me a total of 100.00 for the gaskets, 40.00 to shave the heads, roughly 40.00 for miscellaneous tune up items, and 60.00 for the tow truck fee.

General Comments:

I can only say great things about my Thunder-bird. I had the car for 3 years and only had one major problem. The car rides like a dream, performs outstandingly for a V-6, and is a breeze to maintain.

A word to the owners however, DO NOT LEAN ON YOUR DOORS!!! To change a sagging door hinge on a T-Bird is a pain. You have to nearly take the dash out to do it. Still, I will have another Thunder-bird. I reccomend these cars to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2002

9th Aug 2003, 07:27

I've a 1993 t-bird with a sagging driver's side door hinge. I've read a post concerning this problem from someone who stated that it's a pain to fix. I've purchased new hinges from the manufacturer & attempted to remove the old hinges & yes it appears to be difficult. Any guidance/advice to replace the hinges would be appreciated. Email sonnjab@aol.com.

21st Nov 2004, 07:42

I also had the same problem at 171382 miles. I followed the same repair procedure. Replaced the gasket, shaved the head. Make sure it has affected only one cylinder (#1 in my case) Car is running perfectly. But I have another problem that I would like to fix and appreciate all suggestions. My speedometer module has stopped working at 171382 miles. Tried to replace it, but only the speedometer worked. I changed another module, and I still have the same problem. As there is no cable. I am wondering if there is a sending unit that relays the turning of wheels information to the module. (Miles). Can someone enlighten me. Thanks in advance. Can you offer some help to vallegaray@msn.com.

1993 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carGMC Jimmy

Summary:

Nice

Faults:

Oxygen sensor problems at highway speeds for 1 hour or more. Check Engine light comes on. Had it scanned by the shop, and they advised just O2 problem.

Loose rod tie end on front left tire.

Ignition switch on steering column went out... had to have it towed and replaced.

AC unit completely lost charge.

General Comments:

Overall it is a good car, it just needs a lot of upkeep. I bought it about 6 months ago, and just need to give it some TLC. After 9 years, I can expect some wear and tear. Handles great, good acceleration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th October, 2002

1993 Ford Thunderbird LX V8 5.0 H.O. from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V8 5.0 H.O. Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

A very high performance car for how cheap you can get them for

Faults:

My front brakes shimmy at low speeds when slowing down.

I replaced water pump at 115,000.

I have been having cooling problems since I purchased the car.

The front end make a thumping noise when I hit bumps.

The rear passenger shock makes a thumping noise when I hit bumps.

The transmission started jerking at 117,000.

The rocker panels are rusted beyond repair, but I heard that was normal in T-Birds.

General Comments:

This is probably the best car I have owned besides all the problems I have been having recently.

It gets a lot of looks, especially when a car pulls up next to you and tries to race and you blow it off the road.

I was surprised at how much power this car has and how comfortable it is to ride in.

I always get good comments from people when they see it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2002

29th Sep 2002, 06:42

Thumps on bumps in the front, sounds like sway bar links are worn out. But something is worn out up there. In the rear? A shock is more than likely loose. Nothing lasts forever, and some preventive maintenance is in order. Was the tranny serviced regularly?? If it hasn't been, don't start now or you could be worse off. They are expensive to replace so wait until it's bad enough to warranty it.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 60 reviews