1996 Ford Windstar 3.0 V6 from North America


Money hungry pit... with no end in sight!


Rear windshield wiper does not work.

Weather stripping around doors doesn't like to stay on.

Handle on exterior doesn't like to work.

Door ajar light remains on.

Air conditioning has never worked.

Front cup holder arms broke.

Crank shaft sensor - replaced.

Cabin air filter - replaced.

Thermostat and gasket - replaced.

Fuel injector - replaced.

Head gaskets - replaced.

Belt - replaced.

Stalling out constantly... no confirmation on whats causing this as of yet.

General Comments:

This van handled well when we first purchased it. Even made a trip from New York to Alabama within first month of purchase and several back and forth to Pa. from New York.

Recently is another story though and it seems no end is in sight to the problems. We have defiantly found the bottom of the wallet before we found the end of the money pits problems!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th November, 2004

1996 Ford Windstar GL 3.8L V6 from North America


The windstar is a great vehicle and after 8 years of running, it is still running strong


Not very many things have gone wrong with the van. I have taken it to Florida 6 times. Besides tires, brakes, and normal things like that, I haven't had very many problems at all.

The only thing that ever happened besides regular matinence was one time the engine misfired. I knew right away because the engine diagnostics system had the check engine light start flashing. So I pulled over immediately and in the end everything was fine.

And one other thing. Once and a while I need to clean off the sliding door contacts, because they get dirty and then the door won't lock by itself. If I clean it off with a sponge it works fine again.

General Comments:

I love my Windstar. I have taken it to Florida 6 times and every trip was just as enjoyable as the first. I would still feel comfortable taking it to Florida now, with 156,000 miles on its first engine, first transmission, and its first radio even!

I can still go 0-60 in 7 seconds. Hows that for power and performance that lasts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2004

1996 Ford Windstar LX from North America


This van is a money pit


The engine was replaced, and the transmission is about to go too. I'm embarrassed on how much we have spent to fix this money pit just to end up with nothing but a paperweight that sits in front of our house.

General Comments:

If you value your time and money don't buy this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th November, 2004

14th Nov 2004, 20:22

Heeheehee... should have got the 3.0 liter engine! Or just bought a Chevy Astro...

29th Apr 2005, 08:32

On the whole a good vehicle... put 195,000 miles the last 100,000 very hard on this "GL" however, after replacing the motor the Transmission went out and it was a year old rebuilt. Now I must agree it has become a money pit!!

26th Feb 2007, 12:02

I replaced the transmission also at 92,000 miles. After about 2000 miles, had the same problem. The engine runs great though. I also had the problem with the lights staying on. I oiled the latches, and it cured it.

1996 Ford Windstar LX 3.8 from North America


Excellent quality, looks good, worth every penny


The intake manifold gasket failed at 100,000 miles after it was overfilled with oil by a popular oil change company.

The front cup holder arms broke after a few months use.

General Comments:

I bought this van new and it has been as near perfect as possible. It still looks and runs great and I'm still running the original spark plugs after 167,000 miles.

I've essentially just changed the oil, tires, and brakes and driven it without problems.

The rear heater blows hot air when the defroster is on and I don't always want to cook the kids in the back. It's not broken, it's that way by design.???

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2004

1996 Ford Windstar GL 3.8 V6 from North America


Never, never a ford again!


What hasn't gone wrong with this van. After just over two years of owning this 1996 Wind star, My repair file is as thick as the New Testament. That I am not exagerating. Yes, my head gasket, too, went at 74,000 miles.

We had numerous other problems with it as well. Our interior lights would not shut off. Had all kinds of new switches and sensors installed. Had a new ignition put in. The starter went two times. The rear bearings had to be replaced twice. The front coil springs were cracked.

Just two weeks ago, we went on a 900 mile road trip. We got 78 miles from our house and guess what... the head gasket went AGAIN. Had it towed 80 miles to a garage to tell us.. yeah the head gasket is shot, but so is the entire engine. The piston walls are all tore up. So time for a new engine... Next month I think it's time for a new NON FORD van!

General Comments:

And this is supposed to be a 5 star safety family vehicle? Thank God for roadside assistance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th October, 2004

11th Nov 2004, 17:07

If you are still having problems with the lights staying on, spray all of the door hinges and latches with WD-40. I did this and they all work fine now. The light on the dash for door ajar even goes off.

25th Mar 2005, 16:27

Thank you for the advice. I will try the WD-40. Thank you!