1998 Ford Windstar Reviews - Page 13 of 27

1998 Ford Windstar LE from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission LE Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile 98

Summary:

Very poor engineering and I will not be buying another ford

Faults:

Had to replace power steering lines. both pressure and return.

Replaced serpentine belt at 28000 and also idler pulley.

Replaced transmission at 89000 and still leaks.

Replaced torsion bar gromitts at 96000.

Replaced struts and bearing plates at 98000.

General Comments:

Should not have had to replace return line on power steering pump.

Serpentine belt and pulley should have lasted at least 40000.

Ford knew about tranny problems and never addressed the problem. bad business as far as I am concerned.

The van has serious front end problems.

Very dangerous steering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th April, 2005

10th Dec 2009, 21:04

If everyone would get rid of their Ford vans and no one would buy anymore of them, maybe Ford would see that people mean business and fix them like they should. I have a 1998 Ford van too and am going to junk it; that way it won't be on the road anymore. All they do is put out junk anymore and get a lot of money for it. I know a lot of people aren't buy American cars anymore.

1998 Ford Windstar GL 3.8 V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

It's been my best vehicle, all Fords

Faults:

Struts and related mountings replaced at age 4.

Front sway bar replaced at age 7.

No other unusual repairs.

General Comments:

Has never needed a tune-up after 120000 miles and almost 8 years.

Has served me well.

Test drove a 2005 Freestar in December 2004, saw no need to replace my Windstar.

It's been well-maintained and never died or left me stranded!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2005

1998 Ford Windstar GL 3.8L from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

This van's great ride isn't worth the hassle of the constant problems

Faults:

The traction control light blinks and ABS light comes on at speeds over 65 mph.

There is an unidentified "crunching noise" on the front left side when driving on uneven surfaces.

The sending gauge in the gas tank has broken, so gas gauge won't work.

The door ajar sensor malfunctioned causing door chime and interior lights to stay on continuously.

The brakes continually grind despite proper maintenance.

General Comments:

The van has a wonderfully quiet and comfortable ride, handles turns well and has lots of interior room.

The engine has quick acceleration, plenty of power and fairly good gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd March, 2005

1998 Ford Windstar 3.8 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carNissan Stanza

Summary:

Will not buy another ford windstar or even another ford

Faults:

Wiper washer malfunctioned since we bought the car.

Brakes makes a "grinding-metal" noise even though it's just been replaced.

The check engine light turned on at 80,000 miles.

You have to push the rear door harder just to get it to close.

The exhaust makes a "coughing" combustion.

General Comments:

The car is quite smooth when you're in open road the engine is quiet.

Lots of room. However since the check engine light kept turning on, we don't trust using it in long trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th March, 2005

1998 Ford Windstar GL 3.8L from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance172000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

More reliable than a Honda

Faults:

Bad evaporative canister at 128,000 miles due to overfilling fuel.

Other than that: nothing but normal wear on brake pads and tires.

General Comments:

After reading all of these horror reviews, I gotta believe that I am the luckiest man alive to have 172,000 miles on the original engine, transmission, suspension, and steering. Great van. Do the maintenance!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2005

1998 Ford Windstar GL 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles

Summary:

Maintain this vehicle as recommended and the Ford Windstar will serve you well

Faults:

CV Joint failed @ 26,000 Miles.

General Comments:

We purchased our 1998 Ford Windstar 3.8 with 15K miles and have had only one serious problem with it. The CV joint had to be replaced at 26K and was under warranty. Regular oil changes, fluid changes and service has paid off on this vehicle. We now have 122K miles on our Windstar and it runs and drives great. An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2004

26th Nov 2004, 18:37

I didn't have a problem with my 1998 Windstar until about 145k. That's when everything went down hill. I took great car of the van. I eventually traded it in and got a 2002 Windstar. So far so good except I am starting to have a problem with the power locks. Same problem I had with the 1998. Makes me think. Should I have gone back to owning a Caravan?

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 110 reviews