1998 Ford Windstar Reviews - Page 15 of 27

1998 Ford Windstar GL 3.8L from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance139000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Would never buy another ford

Faults:

Transmission gave out at 4600 miles. It got a new transmission, then transmission sensor went out and it wouldn't shift out of 2nd gear, got that replaced, but it caused the head gasket to fail.

Interior lights stay on due too bad door switches.

ABS front half shaft gears have split and needed to be replaced, again only at the dealer.

Intake manifold gasket has now gone bad, right rear brake "sing" when applied even with new brakes.

General Comments:

This is the first for I've bought since quality became job #1. Apparently Job #1 got laid off and quality is no longer there. Ford used to call to see how we liked our van, they quit calling the first time we complained about problems we were having... hummmmm didn't want to skew the surveys?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th October, 2004

27th Oct 2004, 22:45

I know that ABS brakes went the interior light stays on Ford disconected our ABS brake system.

I personally hate Ford.

1998 Ford Windstar GL 3.8L from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

We love this van!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this van. I have many friends who own this same vehicle and likewise have had nothing go wrong. Great reliability. We have maintained it well and had no problems.

General Comments:

This van handles well. It is very comfortable and has lots of room. My only complaint is that the engine is loud. We also found a knocking sound in the engine if we don't use mid-grade fuel during hot weather. Great acceleration and handling. Easy to put car seats in this van. Great air conditioning, with nice rear controls.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th October, 2004

1998 Ford Windstar GL 3.0 V6 engine from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 engine Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Does the word lemon mean anything to you??

Faults:

The car was under warranty up until 75,000 miles (this extended warranty was paid for as an extra at the time of the sale from the Ford dealership). Of course, the warranty expires and things start to go wrong.

At 78,000 miles the power door locks make a griding noise and do not work properly. The air conditioning system needed to be serviced and repaired.

The timing belt needed to be replaced in June, 2004 at 83,000 miles.

In August 14 of 2004, the racket pinion steering needed to be replaced and also the power steering.

August 16, 2004 the engine light suddenly came on 2 days later. The car was brought in to be repaired and needs an oxygen sensor along with a manifold gasket.

September 29, 2004 the van makes a hissing noise when I step on the brake. While driving on the highway, I nearly avoided a fatal accident because my brakes were weakening. I had to press the brake down to the floor of the vehicle and I still kept on rolling.

The van was taken in for repair once again and now the power booster needs to be replaced, meanwhile the rotors, pads and shoes are just fine.

Of course, by now, the van is completely paid for and I strongly and patiently try to wait for the day when I can get rid of this piece of junk!!!

I will never ever again purchase a Ford Windstar.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th September, 2004

1998 Ford Windstar LX from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance176000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Faults:

I think I solved the interior light problem with Windstars!!! Everyone keeps replacing the door sensors to no avail. My door chimes, interior lights would go crazy at any time with the doors closed. I checked the door sensors, they were OK, SO HERE IS WHAT FIXED IT! On the sliding doors, there is an electrical contact pad on the jamb, and pogo pins in the door, that that make contact with the pad. I lightly sanded the oxidation off the pads and the pins with 400 grit paper, and my problem went away! GOOD LUCK.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2004

1998 Ford Windstar GL 3.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5L Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

This minivan is a death trap!!

Faults:

Immediately after purchasing the car, the transmission failed and was replaced by the dealer under the warranty. I still had to pay a deductible.

The air conditioning gave out about 2 weeks after the transmission died. I also had to pay a $100.00 deductible to repair that.

The interior lights come on at random, as does the door ajar light. All the switches have been replaced, and the problem has not been fixed. I had to remove all of the interior light bulbs.

At 96,000 miles the engine blew. It cost $3000.00 to replace it with a re-manufactured engine.

To top it off, the engine caught fire, for no apparent reason that Ford can come up with. Now I feel like I'm driving a death trap, since I don't know when it will spontaneously burst into flames again.

I will never, ever buy another Ford product. This van has been nothing but trouble from the first day we drove it off the lot. It was a CERTIFIED vehicle. I think it was certified to break down on a constant basis.

I would like to sue Ford, but I don't know where to start.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st August, 2004

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 110 reviews