1998 Ford Windstar Reviews - Page 19 of 27

1998 Ford Windstar LX 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance42500 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

The biggest POS on four wheels

Faults:

The front molding on the drivers seat broke after only having 1,000 miles. This problem took the dealer three times to fix it correctly.

At about 30,000 miles the material on the seats started to wear thin.

At 40,000 the cable under the middle bench broke.

General Comments:

Between 39,000 and 42,000 miles I had to replace the Rack in Pinion Steering (which had to be brought back three times due to defective tire rods), the ABS system and the Cam Shaft Sensors.

Now at 42,500 the transmission is starting to slip and a clanking noise from behind the radio.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th January, 2004

25th Mar 2004, 10:07

Watch out for that transmission. Mine totally went at 62000 miles.

1998 Ford Windstar GL 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired250 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

There has got to be something better out there

Faults:

Door ajar light won't go off.

Auto door locks don't work; gear grinding noise.

Severe jerking when trying to accelerate during a turn.

Very loud clunking when putting in gear at very slight incline.

Passenger window failed to go down.

Black soot on panel near exhaust in a matter of months after buying. Black smoke came out upon quick acceleration at 35,000 miles.

Rear air conditioning not functioning.

General Comments:

High crash rating; does what it's designed to do, but poor quality in service and parts.

I still have the 1988 Mustang and it will be the only other Ford I will ever own. It's never given me this much hassle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th October, 2003

1998 Ford Windstar GL from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance98300 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

A great family van!

Faults:

Service engine soon light stays on.

General Comments:

We have really enjoyed our Ford Windstar GL so far. We just purchased it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2003

1998 Ford Windstar GL 3.0 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

Comfortable, but the transmission is straight from the depths of hell

Faults:

Transmission has been completely replaced three times by Ford dealership and is on the brink again.

Rear air conditioning fan went out.

General Comments:

The Windstar is roomy, comfortable and drives nicely; however, the chronic transmission failures are troublesome and very costly.

Although I hate the thought of buying a foreign car, this will be the last Ford I ever purchase.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th August, 2003

16th Aug 2003, 08:04

Foreign car? The new Japanese vehicles are actually built in America my friend.

6th Jan 2004, 21:34

Yes, but all the profit goes to Japan... Keep jobs and our money at home to create jobs in the dying USA..

10th Apr 2004, 23:01

There's a reason we're dieing, its cuz we can't make or design cars that I would trust with my 2 daughters lifes with...

1998 Ford Windstar Northwood 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance74100 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A reliable and cost effective family vehicle

Faults:

One shock absorber rod broke.

The O2 sensor had to be replaced.

General Comments:

I am very pleased with my Ford Windstar. Other than two indicated minor problems, my Windstar has been flawless. As of now, when it comes to replace this minivan, I plan to buy another Windstar.

I also own a 2000 Ford F150 with 43500 miles. My truck has also been flawless also.

I have had both my vehicles serviced by two Ford dealers in the North Dallas area. The service I received from both was excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2003

1998 Ford Windstar GL 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

One of the worst minivans you could buy

Faults:

Interior lights on constantly due to faulty latch on the hatch door.

Power steering is going out.

Van makes horrible noise while accelerating or decelerating due to lose belts.

General Comments:

When I bought this vehicle it was a wonderful vehicle, but now there are many problems that have made it a burden to own. Also the Windstar is one of very few vehicles that I feel embarrassed to be seen in. It makes other minivans look cool. For only being a five year old vehicle, I think that it definitely wasn't worth purchasing this Windstar.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th July, 2003

1998 Ford Windstar GL 3.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carMazda MX6

Summary:

Get out your tools after 40,000 miles

Faults:

Rear A/C control (vacuum switch clogged) - I fixed it myself for $23 (dealer $180+)

Passenger side window motor - I fixed it for $70 (dealer wanted $250)

Check Engine Light Code P1538 - replaced right intake manifold runner control myself for $213 parts + tax (Dealer wanted $400+ for a 30 minute R&R job) Guy at Autozone cleared the Check Engine Light for free.

Interior lights stayed on constantly - fixed by applying WD40 to latches on rear hatch.

Tie rods started to groan loudly when turning. Injected grease into rubber boots and noise is gone.

BTW, I'm an engineer and figured out how to fix most of this stuff myself by using the Internet and a crappy Haynes manual that really sucks.

General Comments:

I love driving the Windstar and it has it's little quirks that really tick off people who don't know anything about cars. This van has been fairly reliable for us and I haven't had any trouble with the engine or transmission (we change the oil and transmission fluid quite regularly). I haven't taken the van to the dealer after the warranty expired because I don't trust them. I tried to talk my wife out of buying this minivan because they are so hard to work on and the parts are expensive. I am surprised that we have not had more problems with the vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd July, 2003

20th Nov 2003, 19:22

The WD-40 on the hatch latches is the fix. Came home tonight to hear my wife complain about the lights staying on instead of turning off. I found this site and have to admit I am impressed. Thank you to the engineer for the answer.

7th Sep 2004, 13:42

Here's an update. The other intake manifold runner control has gone out so I had to shell out another $220 for the part but I saved a lot of money by fixing it myself. I injected some more grease into the groaning tie rods and they stopped making noise. The van is running great and no more check engine lights yet. Just passed state inspection with flying colors. We now have over 78,000 miles on our Windstar and the engine and transmission are running strong as ever. 09/07/2004.

A note to Ford engineers: You guys don't know how to properly design vacuum-operated devices. Also, a vacuum-operated intake manifold runner control shouldn't cost an arm and a leg. Something that moves a little lever back and forth should cost $20 not $200. Another question: Why do the tie rods groan after only 30,000 miles and why isn't there a grease port on the tie rods?

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 110 reviews