2001 Ford Windstar LX from North America - Comments

13th Jul 2001, 07:53

Just bought a 2001 Windstar and the wife just loves it. She has driven Caravans the last five years and she likes the Windstar the best of all. We have the SE model that has a lot of goodies. She likes the adjustable pedals and power seats. Good power and nice looks. Two early to check fuel mileage. So far so good...

16th Jul 2001, 11:58

When you see reviews this low with hatred, kind of makes you wonder if the reviewer is slightly biased. We know how it goes huge explictives for a Ford, and Toyota has seemless quality that can never ever fail.

If any vehicle was as bad as you say the Windstar is and as good as the Previa, how come everyone doesn't save money for a 9 year old Previa, perhaps you just have too much rage boiling in you.

Ford has been in business over 99 years, they are the 2nd biggest auto maker in the world, they can't be that successful if the rubbish you say about them was true.

8th Aug 2001, 19:54

I bought a new 2000 Windstar and have been very pleased with it. Only problems have been cosmetic with the paint and the window came off the track.

It is by far the best looking minivan (OK, ours is all black and has the spoiler) in my opinion.

17th Aug 2001, 20:28

I have a 1995 Windstar. It is the worst car I have ever had. There have been major problems from the very beginning.

We have a new transmission, a brand new engine, have had to have the rotors cut twice, have replaced the brakes twice, have had oil leaks, constant stalling, the list goes on and on, not to mention the 6 recalls on the vehicle.

The problems started immediately, and because we bought it, we were stuck with it. I'm with the commentator of the Toyota Previa remark... we have a '91 Acura Integra. That car has given us no problems. We change the oil and maintain it and that's it. I don't have to worry about where I will be with 3 children the next time a light goes off or the car just dies. That's what a good car should do for you. I've probably spent more than 30 working days sitting in the service center. Never again.

7th Sep 2001, 09:18

We have a 1995 Windstar LX. From the very beginning we have had problems.

We had the head-gaskets replaced and I had to fight to get that paid for even though there had been a recall.

Since we bought it used, we have received no recall information and I had to rely on a friend to tell me when there were any. The only one he told me about was the head gaskets. Now I find out there was more and maybe I could have gotten other things paid for too.

We had to get a new transmission and new water pump. It has been sitting in my driveway for over a week now.

I had windows stick down on me, brake problems, air bag light comes on and off, light saying my door is open goes on and off, but stays on most of the time.

Side door was stuck, rear view mirror fell off.

Now the cooling fans have gotten stuck again and the air conditioning and heater doesn't come through the back vents and on the roof.

I absolutely love my van (when it works). I've gotten a lot of use out of it since it does have 155,000 miles on it. As far as comfort goes, it's the most comfortable van I know of. We just drove to New York City with it two months ago. The trip was 8 hours long. I'm just glad it decided wait till we got home to break down.

I love the van and I can put up with all the little things that have gone wrong. Obviously I trust it enough to drive it that far with that amount of miles. I think the thing I'm most mad at is Ford for not letting us know about the recalls when they came along. I was just watching the news last night and I happened to catch that there was another recall! Did anyone hear about it and if you did, would you let me know what it was about?

26th May 2002, 19:48

Go to a dealership for your vehicle. Give the vin # and you will get a list of recalls.

2nd Jun 2002, 08:26

Bought a new 2001 Windstar in early spring 2002. Have two major problems. When we get any sort of breeze the car is very difficult to control. It is all over the road. Had a 1998 Windstar previously and was very predictable, As the wind increased there was a corresponding degree of steering input required to keep it centered on the road. With this 2001,the minute the wind picks up you are pushed 3 to 4 feet off line before you can react. Very dangerous on single lane roads! Second problem is rumbling sound at 97 to 106 km/hr and also when car is in 4th. gear at around 1400 rpm. Have bought 4 new tires as didn't like thread design on original tires, but has not solved problem. Any one out there have any answers to above problems?

8th May 2003, 13:25

My wife and I bought our used 2001 Windstar SEL two weeks ago and couldn't be happier! It has just about every option available for the SEL and even most of what comes on the Limited, Including the Video entertainment system, which has already paid for it self in keeping the peace in the back seat!

My wife drives it most the time, taking our kids to school and running local errands. I have driven it to work a few times, 62 miles round trip, the van drove steady with lots of power, no wind pushing, or drifting. I love the power side doors, I wish the back door was power like the Grand Caravan ES that we looked at before buying the Ford.

Other things I like about the Windstar, all the interior lights, from front to back there are reading lights that come on all at ones or one at a time, the overhead console has a convex mirror to keep an eye on the kids, a place to put the sunglasses, two buttons for operating the power side doors and another light! The front seats are extremely comfortable with power up, down, back, forth, and tilt, also a nice adjustable lumbar support in both passenger and driver seats. The center seats are also buckets with nice arm rests, also very comfortable. The back bench will hold 3 people, but is much more comfortable with two. The leather interior is top notch, very soft and durable. When you open up the driver or passenger doors there are MORE lights! There is a red warning light on the lower half of each front door visible from behind the van, it also illuminates the ground a bit for better footing. When the power side doors are opened the rearview mirror on the side that the door is opening flashes, warning passers by that a person/kid could be stepping/jumping out. One last thing I like (I could actually go on and on, but I won't bore you) is the two tone paint, we got the Tropical Green over Gold, its just beautiful.

Now the things I don't like, when you step into the gas from a stop you can really hear the engine rumble.

OK that's it! that's all I don't like.

All-in-All id buy this van again.