1996 Geo Metro Reviews - Page 11 of 17

1996 Geo Metro LSi 1.3L from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3L Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance58200 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Not at all dependable, although cheap

Faults:

Crank shaft worn out at 57,800 miles.

General Comments:

The engine broke down on me at 58,200 miles.

The crank shaft got worn out and it also caused caused a lot of wear and tear inside the engine where it sits.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th January, 2004

16th Feb 2004, 15:19

I think you got a lemon. I've heard a lot of people harping on the metro (i.e. the automatic transmissions are junk, the current velocity joints are week, etc.) but I've had nothing, but good luck with my metro. It's a 1997 model that is currently on it's 130,xxx mile. I think that owners of cheap cars don't bother to treat them as well as more expensive vehicles. I change the transmission filter and fluid every 25,000 miles and run nothing but Syntec that's changed ever 2,500 to 3,000 miles. Sure, it costs me around $40 every couple of months, but if you're having to replace cams at under 60,000 miles, alternative methods are required. Also, you can do quite a bit to the engines in these cars; contrary to popular belief. I now have been on the diagnostics up to 114 hp at 8,300 rpm which is 44 hp higher than stock.

2nd Mar 2006, 22:31

Constant velocity = cv.

3rd Aug 2007, 02:27

What did you do to the engine to make 114 HP???

1996 Geo Metro Base 1.0 3 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0 3 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Practical, but Not Boring

Faults:

Broken speedometer cable, probably due to accident.

The right and left sides of the dash have faded.

Probably going to need a new battery to make this winter.

Replaced pads and rotors at about 69,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car has been stone reliable in every way.

The heat and air conditioning both work great, especially for the type of car it is.

Maintenance is very easy because everything is easy to reach under the hood.

Synthetic blend oils will quiet the engine quite well.

The fuel mileage has never been "Metro" good.

With snow tires the car is perfect in the winter.

Changing the gear oil in the trans-axle periodically improves shifting smoothness in the 5-speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2003

1996 Geo Metro 1.o from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.o Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

Very Reliable Car

Faults:

None

General Comments:

Car has never been tuned up and has 160,000 since new. Burns no oil and drives like the day I bought it brand new. I pull trailers with it and it does OK on the highway. The geo metro is a very good car. For the money the Geo Metro is by far the best car out there. All I can say is I have used and abused this car every day since new and it has never let me down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2003

3rd Apr 2007, 11:33

I have a Geo Metro and I was wondering how in the world do you pull a trailer with a little car like that. When its going 65 the engine's turning 4000 rpm. My car's never let me down yet. I hope it never does let me down.

1996 Geo Metro from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired900 kilometres
Most recent distance130000 kilometres

Summary:

Great on gas, superior on dependability!

Faults:

I have had to replace the exhaust. This happened at approximately 50,000 kilometers.

My rear defrost stopped working at around 100,000 kilometers.

I had to replace the wiper washer motor.

General Comments:

This car has been extremely reliable. I have had very few problems and it requires little maintenance.

It would be great for a student.

It's extremely cheap on gas. It makes travel very inexpensive.

What you sacrifice on luxury (no extras!), you make up for on reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2003

1996 Geo Metro 3-door 1.0 3-cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0 3-cylinder Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A good, cheap, economical car.

Faults:

Put a new exhaust on.

Changed front brake pads.

Installed a new radiator and hoses.

General Comments:

This car averages 45-48 mpg in mixed driving. The motor makes 55 horsepower which is usually adequate, unless it's hilly. It feels cheap and it is a cheap car, but it has not let me down in my first year of driving this car, and I appreciate the fuel savings at the pump.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2003

1996 Geo Metro 1.3L from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A great buy

Faults:

I had to replace the starter at 58000 miles only because the previous owner used the car for many errands, etc. and the car had three times the normal amount of starts for the mileage.

I am having a problem with the ignition fuse shorting and am getting that checked out.

General Comments:

For a student, commuter, etc. this is a great little car.

The car gets great gas mileage and has had no major problems in its 7 years of existence.

The only concern I have is the problem mentioned above involving a shorting fuse.

The vehicle is obviously not a luxury car, but is comfortable enough for basic transportation.

Overall - a good buy!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2003

25th May 2005, 16:28

Good review. I am interested to see if you found out what the problem was with the ignition. I have the same problem. jandrewg@yahoo.com.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 64 reviews