1991 Geo Prizm Reviews

1991 Geo Prizm from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired169000 miles
Most recent distance186000 miles
Previous carSubaru Legacy

Summary:

Don't just sit there, bust a move

Faults:

Oil leak from pan gasket at about 179000.

4th gear started slipping out on a road trip at 182000, just have to hold it in place.

Right before the gear started slipping, had to replace front brake pads.

At about 184000 the engine started losing compression and power.

186000 - sounds like something's loose in the exhaust.

General Comments:

Handled a 4000 mile road trip in a month, and is still dependably driving around. The bulk of its problems started after the trip. I've kept up with regular maintenance, replaced filters, oil changes, and the car continues to run dependably.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2009

1991 Geo Prizm from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance149000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

This is one of the best bargains I ever made!

Faults:

I had to replace the overhead inside roof material after about 11 years.

General Comments:

I have done nothing to this little car except the usual battery change, plugs, oil change and brake pads. Yes, I also had a new radiator--all this in 16 years.

It has been a wonderful little work car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2008

1991 Geo Prizm LSI 4 Cylinder from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired186000 miles
Most recent distance187000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Oh what a feeling! geo!!!

Faults:

Replaced inner door handle.

Replaced turn signal lense.

General Comments:

What a GREAT Little car! I have owned it, but a short while and I LOVE it! I bought it from a Co-worker who was the original owner. She drove it 50 miles a day twice a day to work four days a week! It is a Great little Car! She only changed oil, timing belt and changed transmission fluid. No other major work required! I bought it for $800.00 And I think it is the best money I have ever spent! Really a lot more car to enjoy than I expected. I drive it EVERYWHERE!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2007

1991 Geo Prizm from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance90100 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

One of the most dependable cars on the market, period!

Faults:

Started getting a little rust last year.

Just replaced the battery for the first time two weeks ago.

Have a CV Joint going bad, but needs replaced.

Have a crack on the bottom of the windshield I got 2 years ago.

Key broke off in ignition 6 months ago. Still can start it.

General Comments:

These Geo cars are some of the best cars I have ever drove.

Before I had this car, I had a Metro Convertible which was just as awesome to drive. Only thing that killed that was a careless driver going through a red light that broke up that happy marriage.

This Prizm is very good on gas. I can go about a week and a half on a full tank.

This car has actually gone 13,000 miles without an oil change. No kidding! I'll be getting it done soon to prevent damage.

Last, but not least, this car has got a good acceleration on it from all the highway miles I put on it and can jump out of the gate quick if need be.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2005

1991 Geo Prizm LSi 1.6 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A Corolla at a 30% discount (used). Can't beat it

Faults:

Transmission went out at 90,000 miles (2001). However, it was due to my ignorance of the car's design. Unlike most other cars, this model Prizm has a differential reservoir that fills from the underside only, separate from the transmission reservoir itself. The seal around my Constant Velocity shafts, where they enter the differential, was leaking. I regularly checked my transmission fluid levels (from above), seemed fine, thought nothing of it. Apparently, the differential drained dry, so my transmission seized up on the highway. I hadn't noticed because the clicking sound that preceded it for a couple weeks sounded like Constant Velocity shafts going bad, so I replaced them (as the boots on those were broken). Fortunately, a friendly fellow from Detroit stopped within minutes and we returned home safely.

Constant Velocity Shafts replaced at 90,000 (2001).

Muffler replaced at 110,000, in 2002.

Starter went bad at 120,000, in 2004.

Water pump at 120,000, in 2004, which dripped onto my timing belt and ruined it.

All the above were original manufacturer parts, which is pretty amazing when you think about it, especially the muffler. Was able to perform most all work myself, except the water pump. Unfortunately, the engine must be removed to do this.

Never had a problem finding after-market parts at major auto parts stores.

All in all, it sounds worse than it was. Being already 10 years old when I bought it, it had been passed around and some maintainance neglected, but I only paid $2000 for it, so I feel I got my money's worth in four years of everyday use.

General Comments:

Love the way it drives. Wife has a 2000 Prizm and we both prefer my old 1991 version. I think the larger body, on the same size wheel base, makes for less responsive handling.

Also, the forward-peripheral visibility is better in my car. Sometimes cross traffic is obscured by the windshield framing in her car, but not mine.

Will be getting rid of this one, probably junkyard, and buying a 2001 or 2002 model for sure.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd December, 2004

3rd Feb 2005, 22:32

Not to be a bearer of bad news, but if you remove the passenger side motor mount and jack up the engine slightly from underneath, the timing belt cover comes off and the water pump is then removable. It takes a little bit of coaxing to get the pulley out, but it can be done. I did this on my 90 Prizm.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 25 reviews