1991 Geo Prizm Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1991 Geo Prizm Base from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired191000 miles
Most recent distance192400 miles
Previous carMercury Zephyr

Summary:

A sweet little ride!

Faults:

Brake lights shorted out due to corrosion.

Windshield washer fluid nozzle on the passenger side constantly clogged.

Seat belts are a pain!

Rear-view mirror broke, impossible to find replacement at auto parts store.

General Comments:

This is a great car. A Toyota at half the price.

Nice, small & zippy as all get out.

I bought this vehicle with 191,000 miles on it and it still runs like new. I fully expect to get another 50K out o it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2003

3rd Nov 2005, 12:31

I was the original poster on this veh and am sad to say that it finally died a dignified death on November 2, 2005. I was at 204+k miles.

RIP little GEO. You will be missed. (cue taps)

3rd Nov 2005, 13:30

Hmm, expected another 50K miles and got 14K. Oh well.

1991 Geo Prizm Standard 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles

Summary:

A Toyota at an affordable price!

Faults:

The starter started to go at about 65,000 miles.

At 83,000 the head gasket went, which is a $900 job in a repair shop. However we fixed it ourselves for $120.

At 87,000 miles there is an oil leak.

Carpeting is starting to come loose.

The driver side window never closed completely.

General Comments:

I love my Geo Prizm, I hate to see it go, but the rust is too much. The Prizn is an excellent first car. Although the body is shot, the car runs well. It will now be my sister-in-law's first car. I love the size, and how it drives. My next car will be a 1995 Prizm.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2003

1991 Geo Prizm Base 1.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership1991
Engine and transmission 1.6L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Great reliability for the money

Faults:

After about 40,000 the door handles broke off.

The rear defogger went after 5 years.

The transmission went at about 68,000 miles.

The exhaust was poorly designed by Geo, had to replaced 3 times.

Headliner staring to fall off.

General Comments:

The car is excellent in traffic.

Great pick up for a car that size.

Handles very well when turning.

Reliable for everyday driving.

Air conditioning is ice cold on hot summers days.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2003

1991 Geo Prizm from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance161750 miles

Summary:

A very excellent car

Faults:

I have had to replace the front axle.

I've had to replace the rack and pinion.

The inside door handles have all broke (besides the driver side).

The timing belt is about to go.

The CV boots have been replaced.

The dome light doesn't work, at all!

The rear window tail light cover has broken.

The rear defroster doesn't work.

General Comments:

I love it, and I will not get rid of it until it dies!

Once it gets going it is pretty fast.

It is a very reliable car to own.

I think it runs pretty good for having 161750 miles!

If any body knows where to get the interior door handles, please let me know at blueangel_760@msn.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2003

1991 Geo Prizm Base 1.6L 4 Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6L 4 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Dependable transportation for very little money

Faults:

Just a plugged nozzle on the windshield washer system. Unfortunatly it cost $20 for that little plastic part!

And the fabric on the ceiling is starting to come down a bit. Nothing a staple gun cannot fix.

General Comments:

It's a very affordable and reliable car. It's identical to the Toyota Corolla, but for much less money.

Great gas mileage for a 3 speed automatic transmission, however not much get up and go.

I average 34MPG in town and 38 on the interstate. And that is going about 70-75MPH.

Not the most comfortable car for long trips, but I am 6'3" tall, so that makes a little difference. Shorter people may have less of an issue with that.

Reason I bought the car was because of great reliability reviews, and my dad's great luck with his Geo Metro. He bought that new for $6000 in 1992. It now has 130,000 miles, and runs fine. Only thing he has had to replace was 1 set of brake pads, and 1 set of tires.

I think Geo does not get enough credit. Yes, they are cheap cars. But you get so much dependable transportation for very little money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2002

12th Oct 2010, 20:02

We also have a 1991 Prizm that was a program car, meaning it has all options. It's nearing the end of its life cycle, mostly thanks to the salty roads (they rust quite nicely). But I have to say that it has been by far the best car we've ever owned. We'll never have another car like it. 14 years of nearly trouble free driving. We paid 6 grand for it when it was six years old. I rest my case!

I have no idea why they stopped making these great little cars. With gas at just short of three dollars a pop, wouldn't it be nice to have a shiny new one of these right about now?!

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 25 reviews