1994 Geo Prizm Base from North America - Comments

6th Oct 2003, 13:26

I have just purchased a 1994 Geo with 125,000.Runs excellent however the suspension bottoms out.Shocks, springs are very costly. Anyone else had this problem?

14th Jan 2004, 12:21

No, my 1994 Geo Prizm has about 140,000 miles on it and the shocks and struts are fine--- it's never bottomed out and it doesn't bounce like crazy either. Usually, I can tell if a car has bad shocks/struts because of my driveway; my friend has a Toyota Camry that he really beats up, it nearly bottoms out when it gets into my drive way--also, one of my family members has that same exact car (Camry) and it also doesn't do the same thing that my friend's car does.

16th Jun 2004, 23:58

No complaints at all. I have the Geo Prism LSi automatic 1.8L and I have done a 100mph through Santa Barbara and the RPM's are like 2800. I know when I bought my car a new engine and transmission was put in and they turned the odometer back to 0 when it happened. I am at 80,000 miles and nothing wrong. get the oil changed. Replaced the corner lamp light bulb. Nothing else. I get Chevron Gas and put fuel injection fluid in the tank every other oil change. I can do about 75-80 uphill, (not on huge steep grades though... then only 60ish), but it is smooth. I love it.

18th Oct 2004, 15:47

I have owned my 94 Geo,prism with 196,000 miles for about 2 years and we just put in the third transmission as well as the 2nd axle I was wondering if anyone else had this kind of problem?

26th Jun 2005, 21:09

I agree that it's a great car. But, I also had my alternator go at 85k. Look at the other reviews---there is a definite alternator issue with the '94 Prizm. Good luck replacing the alternator. The part was only $100, but it was a real pain replacing it. The bolts are located in a very confined area and you have to blindly loosen/tighten the adjusting/locking bolts because of the limited space. Also, the pivoting bolt on my alternator was only able to be backed out 3/4 of the way before running into my AC lines. I had to loosen those lines up just to get another 1/2" of clearance so that I could completely remove that bolt. Even though an easy one hour job unfortunately became a three hour pain in the butt, I still love the car.

5th Oct 2005, 22:43

Why the heck (wouldn't want to use profantity...) would you buy a car with a small 4 cylinder engine and equip it with a 3 SPEED AUTO? I know its cheaper, but CMON. Automatic tranny's reduce engine power a bit and since it's a 1.6 or something, it doesn't have much to begin with. Always go for a stick or 4 speed for the extra overdrive. 3...why...

28th Nov 2005, 19:53

Just found out at 155,000 miles I need a new trans. The price is ridiculous since rebuilders won't even touch them since they are made from junk. Needs to be a new dealer item.

16th Apr 2006, 22:58

I have a 1994 1.6L and when the cops are not looking, I can do 85mph on the highway (with the feeling I have room for more). So I do not understand about lack of power. I do oil changes every 3000 miles, tire rotation, and nothing much else.

The design is perhaps a little outdated for me (I am young), but then, in spite of that, I wouldn't trade this car for another.

17th Apr 2006, 09:35

Well, your "outdated" design is probably what is saving you from being picked up by the police. Be happy you have a sleeper car that doesn't scream "look at me, officer!'

26th Apr 2006, 17:38

Just found this bulletin board. I have a 1994 Geo Prizm with 207,000 miles. Had a new transmission around 185,000. It is burning oil like crazy without any obvious leaking, so I assume the engine is getting pretty well worn out. I'm inclined to put a remanufactured engine into it. No rust at all, and I don't want the expense of a new or late model used car. Any tips on what to do or what to avoid if I decide to do this? I am in Indianapolis, IN.

9th Aug 2006, 23:21

I have a 1994 GEO PRIZM LSI with 147,000 miles showing on the odometer.

The sticker from the window shows a TOTAL VEHICLE PRICE of $18,025.00. The car cost me $15,548.12 and had a vehicle security on it. If you add the Document fee, Registration fee, State taxes, Finance fee and subtract a down payment of $6175.00, the GEO still cost me $18,100.12.

It will be twelve years old in October.

I put two set of new tires - $600.00.

I put new struts and shocks - $450.00.

I had both window regulators replaced at the dealer - $900.00.

I had the rear view mirror replaced twice for $100.00.

I had replaced rotors twice and front brakes three times - $200.00.

I replaced knobs on the blower switch twice - $30.00.

I replaced rear brake cylinders once, back brakes twice for $50.00.

I changed oil 49 times at $10.00 for a total $490.00.

I replaced wiper blades 5 times at $25.00.

I changed bulbs rear lamp, dome, stop, at $40.00.

I had the trans flushed for $89.0.

I had replaced hoses at $50.00.

I replaced the battery twice at $140.00.

I had the coolant flushed for $85.00.

I put $10,000 in gas over 12 years.

I paid $900.00 a year for insurance for 7 years and $580.00 for 5 years totaling $9,200.00.

The total for driving the GEO for 12 years is $40,549.00 or $3379.08 a year.

I JUST TRADED IT IN FOR A 2006. THEY GAVE ME $200.00 DOLLARS. NO CAR IS GOOD VALUE.

26th Sep 2007, 10:38

I have a 95 Geo Prizm Lsi 1.8. It has 280,000 miles, but still hangs pretty well with a lot of the newer cars out there. I've had a couple of things done to the engine like light weight racing crank pulley, spark plug wires, headers, cold air intake, racing slicks, custom 2.5 inch exhaust, coil-overs. Now the car handles like a real performance car, one time I raced an Audi A3 on the freeway doing about a 110mph was a close race though. I'm planning to build a turbo version of my engine for about 300hp. I'll swap out the auto transmission first though.

4th Oct 2007, 20:41

I love my 1994 Prizm Lsi. I purchased mine almost 6 years ago, with 47,000 miles, for $2500. I now have 106,000 miles. This car is from Michigan and has driven to both coasts: Boston and Los Angeles. Aside from regular maintenance and tires, I have only had to replace the alternator, at just over 100,000. I also put on new belts at about 85,000. One was a bit worn and squeeky, so I replaced them all at once. My only complaint is the lack of power when I've done mountain driving. Otherwise, I plan to keep this car as long as possible. It's a great car!

11th Oct 2007, 13:19

Purchased 94 Prizm new. Standard Shift, 238,600 miles, averages 35 to 40 MPG. Replaced starter, generator, cv joint, rear shocks & a/c condenser. Burns little oil. Drive 76 miles round trip daily to work and home. I have never been able to bring myself to replace it.