1994 Geo Prizm Reviews - Page 9 of 12

1994 Geo Prizm Base 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance96503 miles
Previous carGeo Storm

Summary:

The highest performing economical compact car out there

Faults:

I had to have a headlight replaced about a week after getting the car. Under warranty so it didn't cost a thing. Just a minor manufacturing problem.

We replaced the alternator at around 85,000 miles.

Replaced the third brake light once.

Other than this just the general servicing, IE: oil changes, tires, rotations, balancing, etc...

General Comments:

For a 4 cylinder this car has amazing power. I have the 5 speed manual transmission and have never had a problem. Quick on take offs and accelerations. Does not lag at all.

The car is sporty to be a compact coupe. Very stylish, makes me look good.

The inside is roomy, even in the back seat you don't feel cramped up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd April, 2003

24th May 2003, 22:43

We bought the Geo Prism 1994 automatic car 1.6 when it had 95,000 miles and we are now at 110,000 miles. so far the only major changes that had to be done were 2 tire changes and front rotors change. overall, the GEO is a great car, however that on uphills, the car slows down to about 45-50 mph.

1994 Geo Prizm LSi 1.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired175510 miles
Most recent distance180950 miles

Summary:

The perfect first car

Faults:

The alternator stopped working at 177000 miles, had to have it replaced.

General Comments:

I love my Prism. It is a great car, and it has almost never let me down.

The interior is very comfortable, I can drive long distances without getting sore or tired.

It has a lot of power, I can get on the freeway pretty quickly and get up to speed in no time.

The trunk has so much space... so far I've been able to fit 3 large boxes, 3 grocery bags full of stuff, two baskets, and 8 board games, with room to spare of course!

It has a lot of leg room in the driver and passenger seat. My friend, who is 6'4, seats very comfortably in both seats with some leg room left.

The back seats are very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th January, 2003

1994 Geo Prizm LSi 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Best used car on the market

Faults:

Headliner is starting to come loose around the sun visors.

Inside door handles have cracked and the outside passenger lock has frozen up.

Air circulation vents are loose.

Factory CD player broke.

General Comments:

Very reliable car. This car is a ghost car quiet as a mouse rides like a dream. It could use a better transmission since the one I have is the 3 speed and not the 4-speed which I wish I had, that extra gear comes in handy on the interstate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2002

1994 Geo Prizm LSi 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A great car to put performance parts on

Faults:

Nothing ever went wrong with the car. I have had in since 1994, but about three months ago I put a turbo on it. The car is still running as it was, just a whole lot faster.

General Comments:

The turbo set up was a little difficult to do, but on the plus side the stock fuel system of the Geo Prizm was surprisingly efficient. It handled seven pounds of boost before anything computer or fuel wise came up. It was able to handle a 35 shot of nitrous on top of the turbo, and it was only when I went up to the 50 shot, that a check engine light came on. I would recommend to anyone with a Geo Prizm to try and turbo their car. Heres a little hint: a Geo Prizm is the exact make and model of a Toyota Corolla. I went ahead and custom made my turbo header with a tig welder and sent it off to get ceramic coated, but I am pretty sure that there are some people who make Corolla headers. If you would like to know anything, like how to get the bugs worked out, email me at chris_7teen@hotmail.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2002

26th Apr 2004, 10:31

I have about $2,000 dollars and I want to get a turbo for my 1994 geo prizm tell me where I should start. Pretty much I just want to make it faster.

15th May 2004, 22:20

I have a Prism (94) and it is the LSi 1.8 L. Would adding a turbo really make a difference? My brakes are practically in excellent condition. I got my Prism this past January and it had 70,000 miles on it (new tranny and engine, and then they set the odometer back to 0), and the brakes and smog were done a little about a month before the car was sold to me... they squeal kinda... is this weird or what? Brake fluid is fine. Other than that it is perfect. Not doing as well on gas as it should, but I had a K&N oil filter on it and it got better horsepower and mileage. That is my suggestion for you all.

31st Aug 2011, 21:48

I suggest starting off by getting a small turbo from a car that has one stock, for example, Eclipse, Saab 900 turbo, Celica turbo, Etc. then taking off your headers (exhaust manifold) and trace the flange on it (make sure to have marked the holes where it bolts on and the right size of the hole). Also trace the flange on the turbo and do the same as I said before. Take the traces to a metal shop where they can machine you a steel flange, then take the flanges to a muffler shop and have them make you a custom header for the Prizm, because it's hard finding a header for the car, and the ones out there are over 300dlls. Then once you have the custom header and the turbo, take it to a mechanic shop and have them install it.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 50 reviews