1994 Geo Prizm Reviews - Page 7 of 12

1994 Geo Prizm Base 1.6 liter from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Engine and transmission 1.6 liter Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired18200 miles
Most recent distance18300 miles

Summary:

Should be a kid's first car

Faults:

Ran out of engine coolant, and the reservoir tank started blowing steam. But I filled her up the next day, and haven't had a problem yet with it.

General Comments:

My first car, and I mainly bought it because it's a stick, and when I test drove it, it made my friend's Subaru Loyale look like a slug.

Raced a Ford Focus a couple of weeks ago and won.

Not the most exciting car to look at, but if you're driving it you feel unstoppable, because if you need the car to move, it will move.

I love it to death, and the only reason I want to get rid of it is because of the lack of after market parts for this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2005

6th Jun 2005, 19:47

I don't believe the Geo Prizm was ever intended for the race track, this review is useless.

7th Jun 2005, 12:23

The review IS useless, but then, so is the reviewer.

1994 Geo Prizm 1.6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance188500 miles
Previous carGeo Nova

Summary:

Reliable and economical

Faults:

Alternator replaced at 160,000

Trans-axle replaced recently.

General Comments:

My Geo Prism has been very reliable. I never have to add oil between oil changes. It gives consistent 40 MPG. I am really glad I kept it instead of selling it eight years ago when I bought my truck. I use it as a work car and it turned out to be a real work horse.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2005

1994 Geo Prizm Base 1.6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired64200 miles
Most recent distance64800 miles
Previous carGMC Sonoma

Summary:

Very good car for not much money

Faults:

Replaced all four struts at 64,200 miles - not cheap!

Windshield washer fluid reservoir cracked. Hard to find, even on Ebay.

General Comments:

I purchased this car two months ago with only 64K so my comments are based on a very short period of ownership.

The car has adequate power for in-town and freeway driving.

Even without power steering, the car handles well and is very stable.

Ride is on par with most subcompacts. You will feel rough parts in the road, but it is not objectionable.

If you have a choice, get the four speed auto transmission (or the manual transmission). With the base 3 speed automatic, the engine really revs at highway speeds.

The interior is generally nice, although some parts (like window cranks) feel cheap. Seat and dash materials are good.

Fit and finish are generally good although there is some wind noise through the windows at highway speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2005

19th Jun 2007, 23:45

Purchased this car almost 2.5 years ago for my fiance - time for an update. My fiance is now my wife and the car has 72,500 miles. In addition to the minor maintenance items (spark plugs, plug wires, wiper blades, oil changes, etc), we have had the following items: replaced timing belt at 66,700 miles (given age of the car, it was time); replaced front exhaust pipe, 66,700 miles; replaced front brake pads and resurfaced front rotor, 67,200 miles; replaced alternator, 67,500 miles; replaced gas tank and fuel pump, 70,400 miles (pump was OK, but it made sense to replace while the tank was being replaced); replaced all 4 tires, 71,800 miles. Given the age of the car, these are definitely not excessive repairs. The car still looks good - inside and out. Installed iridium plugs (along with new plug wires and distributor cap/rotor). Even so, performance with the auto transmission is still sluggish (my 1994 Prizm with manual transmission has much more power). This has been a great first car for my wife - dependable and easy to drive. Gas mileage is not as good as my manual transmission Prizm - 25-32 mpg is typical.

1994 Geo Prizm Base 1.6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired45673 miles
Most recent distance156983 miles

Summary:

Buy one of these great cars!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong expect for regular oil changes and routine maintenance.

General Comments:

This car is amazing. Really good gas mileage. Great for the first time car owner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2004

1994 Geo Prizm LXI 1.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance151000 miles

Summary:

Best used car value on the market today!

Faults:

Wheel Sensor on right front side at 135,000. Ended up having it diagnosed and repaired at dealer. Cost $450 as had to replace entire wheel assy.

Starter replaced in 2003.

Brakes all-around in 2003 as well, but normal maintenance item.

Exhaust manifold connection just repaired (welded).

General Comments:

My daughter bought this car in 2001 when she got her license. A great first car. The LSI model has all the nice toys and the 1.8L engine with automatic transmission rides like a Cadillac. Good acceleration and smoothe cruising. Paid $3500 from a new car dealer. It's a great, reliable car. No regrets. We plan to own it at least three more years when she graduates college.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2004

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 50 reviews