1994 Geo Prizm Reviews - Page 8 of 12

1994 Geo Prizm from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles

Summary:

Reliable Car for the Dollar

Faults:

Water pump went out around 65,000.

Head gasket went out around 89,000...expensive fix, but I think I was taken by the mechanic.

Knobs for a/c keep falling off (on going situation... I should just glue 'em on).

Driver's side door stopped unlocking with a key around 100,000 miles.

General Comments:

Overall, this is a quality car. The gasket problems were more my fault than anything. I'm horrible at checking/changing the oil, so it was my fault this got out of hand.

It's been two years since anything I'd call major has gone wrong. Normal wear and tear (battery, starter, etc.) situations creep up now and again, but the reliability far out way the occasional problems.

I only wish it held it's value. When I sell I'm not going to get a whole lot, so that's one downer, but, what-are-you-going-to-do?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2004

15th Aug 2004, 07:01

Not checking or changing the oil will not affect the head gasket in any way.

28th Nov 2004, 16:33

The head gasket is not an issue with the Prizm/Corolla engines however if you let and engine get too hot any head gasket will blow.

1994 Geo Prizm 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

Good quality, inexpensive transportation

Faults:

Replaced alternator 3 times. Toyota alternator was more reliable than GM version.

Driver's seat belt catches.

A/C knobs are cheaply made. They keep cracking.

General Comments:

Overall, the car has been very reliable.

It has good head room for a small car.

It has decent acceleration and gets good gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2004

1994 Geo Prizm LSi 1.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles

Summary:

A classy and efficient car

Faults:

The brakes squeal a bit. I think it may just be there is dirt on the brake pads. The brakes are fairly new, and I do have brake fluid. I have had nothing wrong. I replaced the left corner lamp light in the front, but that is it, and gotten the regular oil changes.

General Comments:

Using the K&N oil filter I have increased my horsepower from 115 to 125 and my gas mileage has gone up two or three miles per gallon. I can go about 400-410 on a tank. My car is not a fan of ARCO, and so it pings a lot when I use it. I am a Shell, Mobil, and Chevron user... and occasionally Texaco. I wash it every one to two weeks and get it professionally detailed monthly. The Castrol, Mobil 1, or Quick State oil is great for this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2004

1994 Geo Prizm LSi 1.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance141000 miles

Summary:

A great first car!

Faults:

The alternator was replaced shortly after I got the car (120k miles).

Roll-down window knob was broken off by a friend.

Lights for air conditioner controls sometimes do not illuminate (but if I smack the dash in the right spot, they turn back on).

General Comments:

I love this car. It doesn't have great pick-up and it won't go too much faster than 75 mph on the highway, but it moves and it moves around pretty well. It always starts and never fails me even on cold days, has never stalled or given me any trouble (knock on wood). It's pretty good on gas mileage too.

It's a small car, and that's fine with me since I'm not a very big person-- it fits me well. However, I don't think it's very roomy--- it's very comfortable for me when I'm driving it, but when I have a few passengers, it's not so great. Although, this car does have a decently sized trunk.

I can't complain much about this car--if you're in the market for your first car, this is probably one of your best bets. It's reliable, affordable and it moves!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2004

1994 Geo Prizm LSi 1.8 ltr from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 ltr Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance207727 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

Fabulous vehicle

Faults:

Very little. Replaced the alternator two times in the 200,000 miles. Replaced the seat belt retractor on the driver's side. Had the rear struts replaced. Besides that I had nothing else go wrong with it in the 10 years we had it... even though it was in 5 accidents.

General Comments:

Absolutely an excellent car. We had to total it after a recent accident and since they no longer make it we went to the next best thing... a 2004 Toyota Corolla with almost the same items as the Geo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2004

15th May 2004, 22:09

Well 1994 Corolla is exactly the same at the Prism.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 50 reviews