1994 Geo Prizm Reviews - Page 11 of 12

1994 Geo Prizm LSi 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance230000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Spectrum

Summary:

Perfect car for students and people that travel long distances

Faults:

I needed to replace the clutch at 195,000 miles. ($550)

The rear passenger side door will not open. This happened at about 210,000 miles.

The starter is now going. My brother is a mechanic and with a phone consultation with me he believes it is probably just the starter solenoid. The engine started to be inconsistent in turning over at about 215,000 miles, I have yet to replace the starter solenoid as the car will start after 2-3 cranks.

General Comments:

I love this car!

The gas mileage is great (35-40mpg).

It costs very little to maintain. As you can see from the previous section, all of the parts that have needed to be replaced have happened at a very high mileage.

I am going to drive this car until it refuses to go any farther!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2002

15th May 2004, 22:26

Yeah, I am going to do the same. I love my Prizm. We have this special bond... kinda sad though. Washed regularly and I think I talk to it and hug it when I put crappy Arco gas in it because of the prices right now, so I apologize and it is a great car, and I love everything about. I like the body style of the 94 Prism over the 94 Corolla.

28th Jun 2009, 10:18

To the above poster, don't ghetto up your Prizm. Adding all that stuff on it is going to heavily change the factory specs like wind resistance and weight etc etc and then there goes your reliability. Every other person out there makes the same mistake with their Civic...

1994 Geo Prizm from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance144000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Prizm

Summary:

Amazingly durable and reliable

Faults:

My alternator failed at 142,000 miles.

Starter failed at 110,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is amazingly durable. 144,000. miles and it is still running like a new car with only a slight loss of power at this point. Amazing.

The ONLY complaint is that the seats are too hard, they're like a park bench on a long trip. Wish it had softer seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2002

1994 Geo Prizm STD 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance112500 miles

Summary:

A very dependable car

Faults:

New alternator at around 90,000 miles.

Exhaust Manifold at 105,000 miles.

You really have to stretch in order to adjust the radio controls.

Cup holders block the radio controls.

Cheap speakers, hard to replace them.

Extremely hard to replace headlight bulbs.

3speed auto trans gave up at 112,000 miles.

General Comments:

I gave the car to my little cousin who had the automatic fixed. I think its running at about 120K miles right now. The reason it gave up is because I drove like a maniac most of the time, basically beat the crap out of it. I'm surprised the engine is still holding (quiet as brand new). Very good on mileage, kind of a weak four banger, but very very reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th January, 2002

1994 Geo Prizm SLI 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance99380 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

A great car, with great gas mileage!

Faults:

Nothing had gone wrong with my car before I was hit head on.

General Comments:

I dearly loved my car. It was comfortable, very reliable, never gave me any problems at all. I would go out jump in it and off I went. The sunroof was an extra added comfort.

I lost my car due to being hit head on by a woman who was drunk, and the doctors couldn't believe that myself or my husband made it out alive, due to the damage of my car. I would suggest this kind of car to everyone!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2001

1994 Geo Prizm LSi 1.6 from Venezuela

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership1994
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Chevette

Summary:

Perfect

Faults:

Alternator.

Brakes (after 5 years of use).

Battery (after 3 years of use).

General Comments:

This the most wonderful car I ever had had... I think it will last forever!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2001

9th Aug 2001, 20:10

Is this car sold in Venezuela? If not how can you buy one? I am interested in buying one... What I have heard about the Geo Prizm is 100% good!

1994 Geo Prizm LSi 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired230 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

Lasts forever and ever and ever

Faults:

Altenator has gone out twice, but that's it.

General Comments:

This my second Prizm, my other 89 model has 235,885 miles on it and it still runs rather well. I only bought this newer one because I travel a lot. I think the 89 is a better performer but the 94 has held up better as far as the interior goes. I hope to get a 2001 model if it's available, the Chevy dealer wasn't sure if the car was returning next year or not.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2000

9th Jan 2003, 23:34

If you can't find a Prizm in your country, try a Toyota Corolla. It's the same car with different nameplates.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 50 reviews