1994 Geo Prizm Reviews - Page 5 of 12

1994 Geo Prizm LSI from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance131000 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

Love the car, need to find out what the vibration is

Faults:

Vibration at idle felt throughout the passenger compartment. Has cracked exhaust manifold, not sure if that is the reason? Heater control knob broken off.

General Comments:

Dependable.

Good gas mileage.

Handles well at any speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2006

1994 Geo Prizm from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance159300 miles
Previous carToyota Cressida

Summary:

I would buy another one in a heart beat!

Faults:

I had the starter , CV joints, motor mounts, and alternator replaced.

The outside door handle broke and was easily replaced.

General Comments:

The car has been the most reliable one I have ever owned. The above mentioned repairs are normal over the course of time.

The car is a commuter vehicle and would not be very comfortable for very long distances.

The car is an excellent used car buy. It is the same car as a Toyota Corolla at half the price. It has the same drive train and shares many body panels.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2006

26th Nov 2009, 23:01

I now have 220,000 miles and replaced a coil. I am still getting 31-32 miles to the gallon.

20th Apr 2011, 21:00

Yeah, we're at 206k right now and our lil beater is still ticking. Although, we take horrible care of it... I wonder if you still drive your Prizm?

2nd Jun 2011, 03:42

I have a 94 Prizm LSi that has 238400 miles and still gets me down the highway at better than 31 MPG!

19th Mar 2012, 07:03

We now have 239,000 miles and still going strong. When it was 8 degrees outside and I hadn't started the car in 2 months, it just fired up! It is the best car I have ever owned.

1994 Geo Prizm from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

Best car I have ever owned

Faults:

The car has had one brake job (at about 57,000) miles and one repair for a broken axle (at about 80,000 miles). Other than that, just routine things.

General Comments:

Our Geo Prizm, which we bought new in 1994, has absorbed much abuse, but still runs like a Swiss watch. It is dented all over, has a gaping, rusty hole in the rear passenger door and is usually the ugliest car in the parking lot. It is often driven in New York City, and can squeeze into the tightest spots. It consistently gets 30 mph on the highway. We plan to drive it into the ground, but so far it has given no indication that it wants to die anytime soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th August, 2006

1994 Geo Prizm LSi 1.8L from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 miles
Most recent distance111000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Alero

Summary:

Good deal for $2,200

Faults:

I bought this car used around 3 months ago for $2,200 & with 109k miles on it. After paying for it, I took it to a mechanic who told me that I need the transmission flushed and timing chain (belt?) replaced, as well as a few other reg. maintenance things. Total costs will be around $700, so it will have to wait a little while. Not a big deal, but I wish the previous owner would have told me when I asked if there were any mechanical problems. Other minor issues include:

1) For a subcompact car, the gas mileage isnt impressive. I seem to go through gas as quickly as I did with my 2003 Oldsmobile Alero, and that car had much more room and power behind it. Could just be the things I need fixed/replaced that is causing the car to perform inefficiently.

2) Interior rattles when accelerating, usually at speeds around 30-45mph. Sometimes its the lid on the console, which stops when I place my hand on it, but other times it sounds as if its coming from inside the Air Bag compartment. Not sure if I should be worried.

3) Brakes squeak a bit at low speeds, but still have good amount of pads left.

4) Sliding sunroof squeaks sometimes, both when up and when down. This can usually be stopped by simply raising it and lowering it again.

5) Leather seats are cracked and torn a bit. I attribute this to the previous owner. I plan on having seat covers installed as the leather is too cold in the winter anyway.

6) Power windows in the front squeak as theyre being rolled down.

7) Rear-left door handle is broken. Again, previous owner said nothing and I just happened not to notice it before the purchase. Found replacement on Ebay for $12, so will be fixed soon.

8) Idles loud/rough in park.

General Comments:

Despite the few annoyances previously listed, I still really like this car. Its 12 years old and still running very well. Engine always turns over on the first turn of the key. Power windows/door locks/ etc still work. When I bought it, it had an Alpine single-disk CD player installed, and sound quality is good with factory speakers. From what Ive read/heard, crash-test ratings are very good, but I hope Ill never have to find out first-hand.

The car accelerates pretty well for a 4-cyl, which makes it easy to pass in heavy traffic. Its the LSi model, so it has a 4-speed automatic, instead of the 3-speed base model. Before I bought the car, I had heard that the interior handles and knobs were cheaply made, but with the exception of the previously mentioned door handle (which could have been the fault of the previous owner) I have to disagree. I had also heard that the back seat was rather crowded and uncomfortable, but again I disagree. We have comfortably fit 2 adults and an 11-year old in the back seat on a moderately long trip. The seats are comfortable.

I also love the huge trunk space in this small car! It has to be about as big as the trunk of the Alero, but without the hanging hinges that get in the way. This car is also a dream when doing a U-turn as I can easily maneuver into the closest lane.

I plan on giving this car to my daughter as soon as I find a newer car that I like for myself, but I might find it hard to give this one up!

Note: All apostraphes in this review had to be removed to pass spell-check for some reason. Just in case you were reading and noticed!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2006

16th Apr 2006, 15:44

Sir.

Not sure for prizm 95, but mine is 96 no timing belt change is needed according to the specification for as long as it lasts. Mine is 218,900 miles, still running excellent.

1st Aug 2007, 17:00

Greetings. I have two 1994 Prizms - one with the 3 speed automatic transmission and one with the 5 speed manual. According to the owner's manual, timing belt should be replaced at 60,000 miles when most trips are less than 4 miles, less than 10 miles in freezing weather, the car is frequently idled for extensive periods and/or driven for long distances at low speed, you tow a trailer, or you drive in dusty areas (Maintenance Schedule 1).

If none of these conditions are present, the manual does not specify when the belt should be changed. However, our mechanic recommended changing it at 90,000 miles. May 2006, I replaced the timing belts on both Prizms (one at 66,000 miles - lots of short trips, the other at 89,500 miles). This is not expensive maintenance - cost (parts and labor) was $160 for one car and $210 for the other. I'd rather change the belt before it becomes a problem than be stranded if it breaks.

18th Nov 2008, 17:30

Has any of you experienced ABS related problems/constant yellow ABS light? One day the brake pedal pulsated a little and then yellow ABS light lit up. Ever since the yellow ABS light comes on once the car starts moving.

Is it easy to find and clean the wheel speed sensors? Can it be because of dirty sensors? Or do I have to replace a sensor?

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 50 reviews