2005 GMC Canyon Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2005 GMC Canyon from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carGMC Sierra

Summary:

Great Truck--would buy another in a heartbeat

Faults:

I don't really have any complaints. The 2nd day I had it the power went out on the truck and it died, the computer was replaced and no problems since then. I am looking to get a bigger vehicle as our family is growing and I am really having issues letting it go. I really love my truck!

General Comments:

Seating is nice. It has a lot of room for a truck. I have the 2005 Crew Cab.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2008

6th Feb 2013, 19:15

I purchased my 2005 GMC Canyon used in 2009 with 68,000 miles.

Now with 105,567 miles, I have just learned about the valve issues because the truck gave a code P0302. After calling GMC, they would do nothing for me to help with a service bulletin that I never received, due to not being the owner in 2008 when the letter was mailed to the owners at that time. They dropped the ball on keeping customers informed, and my truck exceeded their service bulletin time and mileage.

Now I have to go to a dealer and PAY out of my pocket for the $4,000 repair. I would have gladly paid the labor if they covered the parts they screwed up from 2004 thru 2006.

THANKS GM. I am glad my tax dollars kept your company going in 2011. Can I get some of my ball-out money back from you to pay for your mistakes again?

2005 GMC Canyon z85 2.8 DOHC I-4 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.8 DOHC I-4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired4645 miles
Most recent distance33599 miles
Previous carSaturn L200

Summary:

Will never buy another one!

Faults:

I purchased the truck in march 2005 and since than, It has been in the shop 26 times and will be going for the 27th.Things that have gone wrong include, the a/c goes from hot to cold and the dealer has never been able to fix it. Also due to the constant problems with the a/c the dash has been out 5 times and was never reinstalled correctly. The truck started to shut off on the interstate and it took 5 visits to the dealer to find the bad pcm. the pass-lock system has failed twice. the alignment was done and never has been right. the vehicle would shut off and not start for 30min.the brakes squeal terribly, and not just once in a while, but every time you hit the brakes. They are not worn out by the way.

The mass airflow sensor has gone bad. the belt squeals on humid days. the parking brake also does this on humid and cold days while I drive down the road. My valves and valve guides had to be replaced because they were causing a misfire and the vehicle still feels like it has one at idle. the transmission sometimes does not want to go into gear. the drivers door window regulator binds. the crank sensor connector came apart and caused the vehicle to stall intermittently. The tires were rotated every 3000 miles and 2 separated at 25k.the truck has a bad hesitation on acceleration.

The rear end is starting to whine.

General Comments:

On the other hand the truck when it does run right is very strong and a good driver, though the gas mileage is a bit low for a 4 cyl. I am only getting 20 mph and I drive with a light foot.

The bed is nice because it is very deep.

The cab is very roomy for a small truck.

I just wish it was a bit more reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st October, 2006

21st Oct 2006, 20:36

As a former auto industry employee, I really feel for you in getting such a lemon, however I constantly warn people NEVER to buy the FIRST YEAR of any new model. They are ALWAYS rife with problems, regardless of the make. We opted to wait until 2003 to buy our GMC Envoy because I knew the 2002 would have a lot of "1st year boo-boos". The 2002's did have quite a few problems, but in nearly 60,000 miles our 2003 has performed flawlessly. I needed a new truck about the time the Colorado and Canyon came out, but opted to go with a tried and true old-timer and bought a Ford Ranger. The bugs were worked out of it DECADES ago. I know new models are tempting because they are "new", but let the buyer beware.

18th Dec 2007, 23:06

It sounds like there may have been faulty workmanship at the dealer when they rebuilt the head.

10th Sep 2009, 14:35

I can sympathize with you on this, but honestly I feel it was the dealer and the mechanic that let you down. I was a mechanic for over 30 years, and the pressure of "getting it out the door" was tremendous! I know myself, I took many shortcuts and I would generally NEVER do that.

I do personally own a GMC and have nothing but praise for the engineering and quality of the vehicle. The company is NOT to blame, but the dealership and GREED of the so called dealership in pushing their mechanics to produce kills all quality, and the sense of trust and goodwill.

In my opinion, it isn't the product, but the service and again the dealer who's greed that isn't or is never seen!

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 13 reviews