2005 GMC Canyon SLE from North America - Comments

27th Feb 2006, 15:47

I have an '04 GMC Canyon SLE 4x4 Crew Cab. It has been in the shop for the last 6 of 7 weeks with a check engine light that the dealerships cannot fix. GM tech support cannot seem to find the problem either. The shop has gone from resetting the code, to cleaning an injector, to all the injectors, to replacing the injectors, to replacing the exhaust valve springs, to replacing cylinder coils to fogging the engine to replacing the computer with no luck. There are sites out there with a lot more reviews both pro and con, do your research before buying.

8th Mar 2006, 19:10

I think you had bad luck man, Iv been reading these reviews, on the Chevy Colorado and the GMC canyon, I will most definitely consider buying one when I need a truck.

18th Mar 2006, 21:20

05' 3.5 liter. At 35000 miles began to idle rough. Check engine light came on. Long story, short- #3 cylinder lost compression and warpped head. Thank goodness I have extended warranty... major repairs...this happened 3 days after GM issued a bulletin about this problem.

15th May 2006, 13:36

I have a 2005 Canyon. Problems from the get go.

First, the driver's door kept making a loud popping noise when opened and closing. Took it in and they found that there were no BIG bolts to hold it in. Eventually it would have fallen off.

Next, my horn went out and I didn't have the truck 2 months.

Next, there was a grinding noise whenever I started the truck. Not every time, but enough to take it in 8 times, and they still cannot find the problem.

THEN, my check engine light came on, and took it in again, and it was an oxygen problem, so I have to get a rental car. This is very frustrating, as I am a single mom, and really can't get the satisfaction of getting my truck fixed.

Will not ever buy a GMC again...

15th May 2006, 18:06

I wonder what interest a single mom has in a compact pickup truck.

31st May 2006, 16:03

GMC Canyon. Z71/4WD. 47000 miles and had a check engine light coming on and rough idle. Got into dealer. Thankfully purchased the extended warranty. Damaged head (warped or cracked). Costly repair, but I paid the $100 deductible. Service writer stated that GM had a service advisory out for the Canyon/Colorado w/3.5 engine. Otherwise have been very pleased with this vehicle.

5th Jun 2006, 21:10

2005 GMC Canyon SLE 4X2. Most frustrating vehicle I've owned. I bought this truck almost a year ago and have a little over 10,000 miles on it. The CD player has been a hastle it seems to read Cd's when it feels like it, it has more squeaks and rattles than my 13 year old Honda did with over 300,000 miles. My ABS light thinks it's a strobe light. And when my wife tried to drive it to work this morning it wouldn't start. I think it needs to go to the dealer again. Oh I forgot to mention that when I go through a car wash I should be wearing rubber boots because the water just pours in. I do not think I will ever buy a domestic again.

7th Aug 2006, 14:04

Previously owned a Colorado that had minimal problems. Got into a car accident, now own a '06 GMC Canyon SLE 2.8L, 5 speed. Having many mechanical problems: electronic throttle not dropping idle, front brakes not holding, key less remote sensor giving out not to mention my CD player, doors squeaking & fuel gauge not reading accurately. I'm a newly-wed with 2 step-kids & a husband who drives my truck. Last thing I need to be doing is spending time at the dealer or getting into another accident. I love these trucks, but hate the mechanical defects on it.

15th Aug 2006, 20:14

My husband reported to the dealer in December (at approximately 5000 miles) that his 2005 Chevrolet Colorado's throttle stuck open when he accelerated hard (punched it) to pass someone. The dealer could not duplicate the event so returned the truck in the same condition.

I had the same thing happen to me while driving on the freeway last week. I punched the accelerator while entering the freeway just before an interchange. The throttle stuck open while approaching a 90 degree turn. I stepped on the brakes with both feet and all my weight and was able break the throttle's hold and pull over onto a wide spot in the freeway.

The dealer's representative, again, says the mechanic could not duplicate the event (7000 mileage at this point) and that left them between "a rock and a hard place."

I, too, am between a rock and a hard place as the truck is unsafe to drive and unethical to sell.

Has anyone else experienced this problem with a 2005 Colorado 4-door truck?

11th Sep 2006, 19:48

I'll join in the complaint department! I have an 06 canyon 4x4 with the I5 and z71 suspension. This thing (I've unnamed it, I dislike it so much) has been in the shop 10 times in 7 months with 7,300 miles on it for the ABS engaging when it shouldn't, the dash lights and cd player shorting out, the door speaker cracking, the LEAF SPRING BREAKING?!? coil spring up front cracked, and now it's mimicking a transmission slip. I have opened a claim with GMC... their answer? "Well, maybe you should see another dealer." MAYBE you should take this hunk of junk back!

26th Nov 2006, 20:45

I have a 05 Canyon ext cab Z71 I5 5speed w/17000 on it. I have been noticing three things that make me nuts. After driving for a while then parking (running to the store) when I start the truck up to leave the engine likes to occasionally almost die out. It will idle then drop 500rpm three times or so before resting at proper idle. I have almost stalled it as the engine feels like it's not ready to go yet. I have also been noticing a creaking sound coming from the chassis when I am on/off the power at parking lot speeds. Was told this could be a cab bushing issue. Also while at parking lot speed/ maneuvering around sometimes the steering feels like there is a knock as I am turning. Doesn't happen that often, but with this many miles it shouldn't happen at all. Otherwise I have no complaints about the truck. Anyone else having these issues? Have any advice?

28th Nov 2006, 16:56

I purchased a 2005 GMC Canyon Extended Cab with a 4 cylinder engine and Z-85 Suspension in April, 2005. It was downhill after that. After over 10 visits to 2 different dealerships, I had a brake line leak repaired, 3 each speakers replaced, brake noises left unrepaired, 1 each back seat replaced, 4 each tires replaced on the front and 2 each front end alignments accomplished within 19,000 miles. I had to complain to to get the speakers replaced, I was told there was no problem with the brakes to begin with, and I still do not know if the front end is repaired. After 28 years as a loyal GM customer, I will not buy another GM product.

29th Jan 2007, 18:24

I bought a 06 Canyon with the 5-cylinder auto (4X4). Love it so far. There are small things I don't care for, like when you hit a large bump the steering shakes, but it's a truck. I put on HID headlights and a cat back exhaust, plus a full intake, and it gave me such a power difference at all RPM ranges.

I've been reading all the other messages about the mechanical problems, and my advice is stand up to the dealership when they don't fix something; write a letter to GM. The dealers hate that, and they don't want to look bad.

If you read up on any car or truck, somebody always has something bad to say. In the end, it's all your choice, and I love my truck.