1995 GMC Jimmy Reviews - Page 2 of 5

1995 GMC Jimmy from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10

Summary:

The car was one of the biggest mistakes of my life

Faults:

This car has given me problems ever since I bought it and I can't wait to get rid of it. It seems like every month I'm spending money to get this truck repaired.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th August, 2007

1995 GMC Jimmy 2 door LX from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.5 / 10
Distance when acquired158000 miles
Most recent distance158790 miles

Summary:

This is a very bad, non reliable car

Faults:

Well let's see... this was my first and worst.

We had the AC fixed twice, 4 wheel drive didn't work, power mirrors didn't work, hood would not pop open, truck hatch got stuck, engine rattles often, very bad starter in the car.

This car has stalled on me 3 times, and has had to be jumped like 8 times, and the seats are the most uncomfortable seats I have ever sat in.

General Comments:

This car does not make a good car; it ran for the little time I had it, and died soon after.

I now have a Sunfire, and miss the wideness of the Jimmy, but overall, I will never buy another GM SUV again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th December, 2004

1995 GMC Jimmy SLT from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10

Summary:

Its one of the best!

Faults:

Nothing major has gone wrong just a few little repairs.. Driver seat starting to wear alittle, but nothing really bad..

General Comments:

I like this 1995 GMC Jimmy, it is a really good suv. Its GREAT in the winter. I would buy another..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2004

28th Dec 2005, 11:29

I too have a 1995 GMC JIMMY SLT with roughly 110 miles on it and it still drives extremely well. I have had some minor problems such as bearings going, door hinges and some repeat problems with the egr valve, but this vehicle is of extreme comfort, has plenty of power and is an extremely good purchase. You won't regret it.

1995 GMC Jimmy LXE from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance187000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

The 1995 GMC Jimmy is a very special one of a kind piece of junk

Faults:

My major concern with this 1995 GMC Jimmy is that the engine is a one of a kind made only in 1995. Only in 1995 did they make the 3.4 vortex engine with the spark plugs on the sides. All other vortex engines have plugs on the top. In addition, there is some kind of sensor on this model, but is not on the other model years. No other year engine will fit.

My engine is blown now and I cannot find a replacement for it that is suitable. I am finding engines with 80,000 miles on it selling for $1200 dollars in junkyards. I do not want to spend that much on a motor with those miles on it.

General Comments:

I liked this Jimmy very much, but I am very sorry that I bought it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2004

12th May 2008, 09:32

The statement about the engine is false, Jimmys and Blazers were made with the Vortec 4.3 starting in 1991 up through 1995, and they always had the spark plugs on the sides of the engine.

28th Jan 2014, 16:53

I have owned a 93 S10 Blazer and a 94 Olds Bravada. They both have the Vortec 4.3 liter V6. GM was making that CPI motor from 92 to 95, then they switched the intake, but they used the same motor until 2004.

1995 GMC Jimmy SLT ? from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission ? Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles

Summary:

Turns on a dime, But needs pampering!$!$!

Faults:

Brakes started to fail the day I drove it off the lot. The dealership swore they had just replaced the brakes.

Horrible squealing coming from the front left tire.

Check engine light has been on more than it has been off.

A/C hits about 55 degrees F and stays that warm.

Unpredictable gas mileage every few weeks. My Jimmy does the same dangerous thing at 1/4 tank of fuel or below. When you need to step on the brakes pretty quickly, the power steering and the brakes lock up. It's happened to me, we almost went over a small cliff into some houses when we were turing down a hill/driveway.

Mechanics say there are metal shavings in my transmission fluid.

I'm trying to love him...

General Comments:

The Jimmy has a lot of power and looks very new and nice for it's year. He also turns on a dime!! Great to take camping. Slept in the Jimmy many times...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th March, 2004

Average review marks: 5.0 / 10, based on 22 reviews