1997 GMC Jimmy Reviews - Page 4 of 7

1997 GMC Jimmy SLT 4.3L 190 hp from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.3L 190 hp Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Jury is still out on this one

Faults:

Bought the car used from the dealer. The vehicle had one previous owner. The problems when bought where the following: plastic piece on dash broken, rear brakes worn out, fuel gauge was non functional and rear tires seem to wear faster than front. In addition, the side passenger mirror is loose (not attached securely). Interior condition seems excellent so far.

General Comments:

Good engine. Reasonably comfortable. Handles well in the wind. Reasonably quiet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th June, 2004

1997 GMC Jimmy 4.3 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

This SUV is perfect for people who know how to fix cars

Faults:

I have probably paid more on repairs than what the truck is actually worth.

Replaced the alternator at 80,000 miles.

Also had to replace the brakes a few times.

The belt in the engine squeaks when it rains or in the morning.

Also had to replace the ball joint once before and it is starting to make noises again.

General Comments:

This SUV is pretty good with cornering and steering.

The inside is like an older style, but the seats are pretty comfortable.

The tinted windows can be a small problem though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th May, 2004

30th Jul 2008, 21:31

I see a lot of people getting on the case of this truck. I drive a 97 jimmy and absolutly love it. Everything that needs to be replaced as far as ball joints, or front end parts are going to go wrong on almost every car. You can't buy a car and expect not to have to put anything into it.

1997 GMC Jimmy SLS from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

Mustang and SUV in one

Faults:

I bought the car October 2002.

My transmission blew at 100,000.

The wiper motor was recalled.

116,000 miles Check engine Soon light appeared: upon inspection idler arm needs replacement.

General Comments:

I love my Jimmy.

I would not trade it, I have had some normal problems with the car.

Nothing major other than the transmissing.

Although whipping around turns is not an option in this, it does have a great pick up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2004

1997 GMC Jimmy STARCRAFT CUSTOM 4.3 VORTEC from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.3 VORTEC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance73500 miles
Previous carGMC Jimmy

Summary:

I can actually say that I love this truck!

Faults:

Very little has gone wrong with this truck over the 7 years that I have owned it. Some of the body moldings have faded from sun-exposure, but a recent re-paint on a few of the problem areas has corrected this. This vehicle is not garaged, but looks better than many that are. No problems with the engine or transmission.

General Comments:

This is no ordinary '97 GMC "JIMMY"! This is a "special" limited-edition (approx 1000) luxury "ENVOY" prototype designed by STARCRAFT under contract with GM. In appearance, the truck looks like a cross between a "TYPHOON" and a custom show-rod designed by Barris or Starbird. It is my daily driver, and looks better today than it did when I first purchased it off of the dealer's lot. The truck performs and looks even nicer with the addition of a BORLA all-stainless "CAT-BACK" exhaust, VIBRANT dual stainless exhaust tip, HYPERTECH "POWER-PROGRAMMER", 160 degree HYPERTECH "POWERSTAT", and K&N air filter. The beautiful cameo white exterior with gold accents, and beige two-tone leather interior really sets this truck apart from everything else on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2004

5th Sep 2004, 13:17

How did the writer determine that only 1000 of these units were made?

1997 GMC Jimmy SLT Vortec 4.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Vortec 4.3 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Scirocco

Summary:

Great car for a mechanic

Faults:

Driver side window intermittently will not close.

Rear wiper fluid leaks into car.

Water pump corroded. Had to replace at 70K miles.

Rusted oil dipstick.

Wiper control board failure. Wipers only work when it's not raining.

Gas gage sending unit failure. Gas gage reads full to 3/4 at all times.

Speed sensing unit failure at 115K miles caused the transmission to stop shifting. Mechanic (not dealer) replaced the transmission which didn't fix the problem. Had to argue with the dealer mechanic to have them look further into it and replace the speed sensing unit. Dealer wanted to rebuild recently replaced transmission.

Replaced failed alternator at 100k miles.

Newly replaced transmission skips from OD to 3rd erratically. Valve body needed rebuilding at 120K Miles.

Driver side door hinge worn, water now leaks into car.

Air conditioning system leaks. Dealer cannot find the leak to fix it.

CD player failed, replaced with aftermarket player.

2wd light does not come on.

General Comments:

The car outperforms many other vehicles in it's class.

The only SUV I've driven and liked better was the BMW X5.

But my Jimmy is simply a nightmare of electrical problems.

The engine is powerful and the torque is great.

But I would not buy another American made car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th October, 2003

13th Jan 2004, 04:39

I really agree with you; My 97 Jimmy also get lots of electrical problems. In addition, the seat is hard to fix in the position that is not shake.

5th Sep 2004, 13:23

I have a similar problem with water from the air conditioner leaking in on the passenger side floor of my 1997 Jimmy Starcraft.

19th Nov 2004, 10:41

I have had two transmission replacments and electrical problem also. Would You like to buy it?

24th Nov 2004, 07:03

I despised this SUV. Bought it used in March of 2004 and just traded it in in November of 2004. Transmission went out the day after I bought it. Had to replace the shocks with something stiffer because it made me car sick. Terrible "roll" - way too cushy. Probably a nice SUV for someone more used to the ride of a car. Had a lot of electrical problems too. I just hated it.

22nd Sep 2007, 19:08

I have just had my 1997 MGC Jimmy. It was stolen and my Auto Pac just wrote it off, and it's only worth $3500.00 with only 115 thousand km. I am so happy to see it go; nothing but trouble with this truck (transmission, water pump, air con).

I would never buy one again.

17th Jul 2008, 11:43

Funny, I have had exactly all of the same issues plus some. Such as, having to replace the fuel pump, 3X. :( Rear washer fluid leaks inside the car- and I thought I was the only one. Have replaced a number of sensors and rusted out dipstick. I had the wipers wired direct, by this time I was fed up with the monthly repair costs. I have now bought a newer car WITH the Extended Warranty. Jimmy is up for sale, any buyers?

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 23 reviews