1986 GMC S-15 Reviews

1986 GMC S-15 High Sierra 2.5 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles

Summary:

Awesome old truck, perfect as manmade can get!

Faults:

Not much.

I put a thermostat and muffler on it, both natural service wear issue items. No other problems at all.

General Comments:

I drive this truck to work everyday. It runs well, hauls anything and uses little fuel. Best vehicle I ever bought.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2006

21st Nov 2006, 14:12

Please write a little more about the next car or truck you put out. I'm surprised that this all you had to do to this truck.

1986 GMC S-15 Sierra Classic 2.8 liter V6 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.8 liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance219000 miles
Previous carGMC S-15

Summary:

I couldn't have purchased a better truck at the time for the money if I tried

Faults:

I had to have the transmission rebuilt at about 140,000 miles.

The stock stereo tape deck quit working at about 120,000 miles.

The radio itself quit working at about 150,000.

I had to have the Air Conditiong motor replaced at about 200,000.

It has had an oil leak, which hasn't affected performance, since about 140,000 miles.

General Comments:

This truck has been extremely dependable.

I have always changed the oil about every 2,000 to 3,000 miles, and I still have the original motor, without a rebuild or any major work mind you, which passed smog last year with flying colors in California.

The truck has been extremely durable, and I have not babied it, but I have kept up on the general maintenance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2005

4th Mar 2006, 09:12

I've had my GMC S-15 for the last 16 years and I only had one problem with it. It had a head gasket leak which I had repaired on my own. Since then, which was about 16 years ago I never had a problem with it at all. I had taken this truck with me everywhere I have been since I have been in the militiary. It has seen Europes Autostrada if you are not familiar with what an Autostrada is, it is Europes Version of our Highways, but without the speed limits. The usually problems are normal maintenance stuff like the alternator going out which I had replaced once since I had owned it. I had changed the batteries twice. I try to keep up with the oil changes every three thousand miles, but sometimes I push it to double the miles sometimes also double the months on the oil change. I have put over 190,000 miles on it and it still runs like a champ. I am very pleased with my purchase of this truck and recommend it to others.

30th Jan 2007, 14:35

I was wondering if you could tell me how many quarts of oil my 1986 GMC Sierra Classic 6.2l diesel will hold??

2nd Aug 2009, 17:31

The S-15 was the first truck I ever owned and loved every moment I had with it. I even gave her the nickname 'MUZ'. even though I was not the first one to own the truck. I kept it in the best condition that I could keep it in. I've only had a few problems with it on the years, such as the alternator going out, and the 4-wheel drive vaccum blowing on me (leaving me stuck in the snow), which was the only time she got me stuck ever. it was sad when I had to get rid of her, and would take the truck back in a heart beat.

4th Feb 2012, 17:08

I agree that the S10 and S15 GM vehicles are GOOD vehicles; I put 437,000 miles on an original 2.8L V6 (1984 S15 Jimmy), and am still driving it after 150K miles on a rebuilt motor, and then put in a used motor (the later 2 were 3.1 V6's); still running at 612,000 miles.

It remains a great hunting, camping, scuba diving sport utility vehicle. I am trying to figure out how to get 25mpg from it.

1986 GMC S-15 2.5 fuel injected from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 fuel injected Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 kilometres
Most recent distance112000 kilometres

Summary:

A budget beater

Faults:

Head gasket blew at 100,000km.

General Comments:

This is a great truck for students of people looking for A vehicle that they can use for minor hauling.

The engine lacks power, but it gets you from point a to b.

The stock brakes are weak, but they do the job.

The overall design is crude, but it has held up very well for me.

The 2.5l 4 cylinder engine is bulletproof.

The 4 speed transmission is great for everyday driving, but for highway driving I would prefer the 5 speed.

Easy to repair, there are parts for these trucks everywhere.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2004

19th Nov 2008, 16:11

I replaced the stock clutch and slave cylinder just last year, which is pretty good considering the truck is older then I am. It's a fun little truck, I don't mind the 2.5l, but I would prefer a 5spd trans.

Average review marks: 8.6 / 10, based on 3 reviews