1992 GMC Sierra Reviews

1992 GMC Sierra 1500 SLE 5.7 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2014
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired168000 kilometres
Most recent distance240000 kilometres

Summary:

Good truck

Faults:

Nothing major.

General Comments:

Has been a very reliable truck. The original Bahama Blue paint still looks new from about 10 feet... has lot of chips and the odd scratch, but zero rust.

Have only had to replace the normal wear and tear items.

The 350 has a nice rumble with dual exhaust.

The truck looks sharp with a tonneau cover on the box, after market rims and 275/60/15 BFG tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2014

1992 GMC Sierra V8 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carDaihatsu Rocky

Summary:

Best vehicle I ever owned

Faults:

In six years and 125,000 miles, nothing went wrong with it.

No, I take that back, an oil pressure gage failed.

General Comments:

I have owned about ten vehicles and this is the best one ever.

Fit and trim was perfect. High quality.

Drove like a car.

Great power.

A bit thirsty on the gas though is my only complaint.

I pulled a two horse trailer with it and it did great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2007

1992 GMC Sierra SLE 5.7L V8 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles

Summary:

The most awesome vehicle I have ever owned

Faults:

We had to replace the alternator twice. The first time was when we first bought the vehicle and the second time was at about 80,000 miles.

General Comments:

We loved this vehicle very much. It was like a member of our family.

My husband wanted to keep it and "pimp" it out and make it a show truck and then eventually pass it to our oldest child.

It had an awesome 5.7L V-8 350 engine in it.

We entered it into a truck show and with the little work my husband had already done to it, it won second.

It was stolen from us in Arizona on February 13th, 2003.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2004

23rd Feb 2014, 08:53

Checking back in, after about six years since last posting on 10th Dec 2007, 10:46.

Changed brake and fuel lines when they rotted out ($25 for a roll of steel tubing), and replaced rockers and cab corners this past summer, which was more of a cosmetic 'want-to' repair, rather than a 'need-to'.

Replaced a ECT sensor (very cheap) when it developed a minor driveability issue.

It's been 10 years since I replaced the engine, which despite having zero oil pressure due to worn crank bearings, refused to die. Hasn't missed a beat since, have been on numerous road trips camping, fishing, sightseeing, and of course for hauling when doing work around the house. It is also a daily driver as well, and it just goes and goes. It has never left me stranded.

I will say what the other guy said. If I knew for sure a NEW GMC truck would be THIS good, I would go and buy one tomorrow! Although I don't think it will be necessary, as it seems that this '92 Sierra isn't about to quit any time soon. Starts, runs, and drives like new.

Hopefully GM will take a lesson from this, and continue to strive to be the KING of trucks.

27th Feb 2014, 00:01

My wife had been addicted to trading cars every 18 months to two years until she bought her current GMC Envoy in 2003. It has been absolutely incredible. In eleven years and 125,000 miles we have spent a total of $77 in repairs (water pump and serpentine belt). The original brake pads are barely worn and should easily make 200,000 miles.

Except for the repairs stated, our only other expense has been three batteries (which I replace when the warranty expires on all our vehicles) and one set of tires to replace the original Michelins, which made 90,000 miles. The car runs, drives and looks like brand new. I have checked all the fluids every 50,000 miles, and have added only a few drops of brake fluid. Never an alignment, shocks or anything.

I did replace the original anti-freeze at 117,000 miles when the water pump was replaced.

Definitely the best car we have ever owned. Due to the fact that we both hate front-drive vehicles and don't want the monster sized Suburban, we plan to drive this one another ten years.

Average review marks: 8.7 / 10, based on 5 reviews