1992 GMC Sierra Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1992 GMC Sierra SLE 350 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 350 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 kilometres
Most recent distance495000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Laser

Summary:

I enjoy my GM sierra

Faults:

Replaced the alternator twice. The starter once. Battery twice and the wiper motor. Electric window switch along with the headlamp switch. Transmission mount and u-joint. Replaced the water pump and fuel pump.

The air conditioning quit 3 years after I purchased it. Never had it replaced or repaired. The ERG valve went on it this past summer. Brake pads and shoes were original. They were replaced last year 2002.

General Comments:

The truck is awesome. I would buy a newer model, but I would like to repaint it and customize it. It has lasted me for seven years. I would recommend this model to anyone who enjoys trucks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2003

29th Oct 2003, 11:46

You would buy another one after all the problems???

30th Oct 2003, 05:30

All of those faults are normal for any car. Even a Honda or Toyota. I have friends who have Hondas and Toyotas and they have done the same things!!

13th Jan 2005, 18:17

I recently bought a 1992 GMC Sierra SLE with a 5.7 liter v8.

My uncle had it for 12.5 years and replaced the fuel pump, and one light. Every thing else is original, even the spare tire. It has about 145,000 miles and the only mechanical problem is a knocking in the engine, but that rarely happens. I wouldn't sell it for a million bucks. These GMC trucks that are from that production year are virtually unstoppable. They are worth their weight in gold.

10th Dec 2007, 10:46

Yeah, the '92 Sierra is a good truck. I bought mine in '04 for cheap, $1000. The original engine was tired with high mileage, but still running. Drove it like that for quite a while, until the bottom end of the motor got pounded right out. Kept driving until oil pressure was zero, but that 4.3 never quit, just kept on running! Once the engine became really loud, I just dropped in another motor out of a Blazer. Truck runs great. It is a workable, no nonsense truck that is easy to fix, and it is very hard to kill these trucks. Mine is proof! These trucks are great fixer - uppers!

8th Feb 2011, 21:07

My grandfather bought his '92 GMC Sierra brand spanking new! It has a 4.3 liter in it and everything is original. I drive it now with 283 thousand miles. She will not give up!

1992 GMC Sierra Full Size, Extended Cab 5.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance86964 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

There are more aftermarket parts made for this series of pick-ups than any other truck made

Faults:

Exhaust system at approximately 60,000 miles.

Power steering hose on two separate occasions (during the time the vehicle had been exposed to temperatures of 50-60 degrees below zero farenheit).

An alternator at approximately 70,000 miles.

The idler pulley at about 85,000 miles.

The starter at about 80,000 miles (after the addition of headers, which greatly increased the under hood temperature).

The left tail light bulb at approximately 50,000 miles.

General Comments:

After 8 years of ownership and nearly 87,000 miles of somewhat hard use I think the truck has held up and performed beyond expectations.

I am a member of the U.S. Army, and I've made two trips in excess of 5,000 miles towing two different trailers, the first trip was during the summer of 1994 and I towed a 3700 lb. trailer from Georgia to Alaska. The truck was completely stock and made the trip without a problem. The second trip was from Alaska to Texas, and from Texas to New York, in the summer of 1999 (which is where I am currently stationed) and the trailer weighed in excess of 8500 lbs. The truck is a 1500 series (1/2 ton) which is rated at 7500lbs. tow capacity.

I modified the truck to improve upon its performance. I experienced a burned up alternator (in Canada) which I replaced on the road side. Some of the modications may have contributed to the burned up alternator and the (engine fire as a result of the alternator's bearing going out). The modification which I suspect to be the culprit was the addition of exhaust headers.

In addition to the headers, the truck was also equipped with a hi-performance catalytic converter, hi-performance (aluminized) exhaust system, hi-performance coil, hi-flo/hi-capacity air filter, hi-performance electronic system, and more recently, a low temperature thermostat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2000

28th Sep 2001, 10:41

That's amazing! I know GM trucks have a bad rep. for having little problems, but you can't beat their drive trains. The 350 is unbreakable and the 700R4 tranny is bullet proof. I have an '85 GMC pick-up, and its had 2500 lbs. of bricks in the box and never gave a groan.

10th Apr 2004, 06:07

My 92 just rolled over on 200,000.. 1 alternator 1 battery. Had the paint cancer, but took care of that.. one of those things drive it till it breaks which I'm thinking it will take a long long time.

8th Jun 2004, 16:09

I have a 92 GMC with 200,000 miles. Just replaced the transmission. During its life, I have also replaced the alternator, starter, and battery. This have been a great truck. If I knew the next one would serve me as well, I would order it today!

Average review marks: 8.7 / 10, based on 5 reviews