1999 GMC Suburban Reviews

1999 GMC Suburban from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

Reliable

Faults:

Mold smell. I had a foul smell and could not find out where it was coming from. I removed the carpeting and found the a lot of water. I put a hose on the car and found water getting in between the carpet and the floor of the car under the dash. I followed the path of water and it was one of the screws that holds the black grill under my wipers on has fallen out, and the water came in every time it rained. New screw and silicone, and the smell went away. I thought it was the A/C, but realized it was really bad after rain

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd August, 2008

1999 GMC Suburban SLT 5.7 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance245550 miles
Previous carToyota Tundra

Summary:

By far, this is the best vehicle I have ever owned

Faults:

The fuel pump went out at 160,000 miles.

The leather on the drivers seat cracked and ripped.

General Comments:

I love this truck. I traded in a brand new 2001 Tundra after 4 months to buy my second Suburban- which was used.

1999 was the last year of the best body style GMC has had for the Suburban and my truck is gorgeous.

It handles great, has a powerful engine, and drives like a dream. I have replaced the alternator twice, the fuel pump once, and most recently the radiator. However, I think for 245,000 miles, those kinds of things need to be replaced! I drive 3000 miles a month and get great gas mileage, averaging 15.86 miles per gallon (I check with each fill-up).

She is getting old and I'm starting to hear some noises in the engine that concern me. After looking at what is on the market now, I am seriously considering buying her a new engine rather than buy a new vehicle. Her body style is great and I haven't seen another SUV that even comes close. This is a luxury vehicle and I have no complaints.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2007

10th Jun 2010, 11:22

I don't know about you, but where I come from, 15.86 miles per gallon is not great gas mileage.

18th Mar 2011, 17:27

15.86 miles per gallon for a Suburban, probably running a 350 is pretty decent mileage. You also have to factor in the trouble free miles from this unit. It's great to get really high fuel economy, but one must factor in the maintenance and reliability cost into the mix.

1999 GMC Suburban LS 4x4 5.7L gas from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.7L gas Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carGMC Suburban

Faults:

All four electric door actuators failed between 60,000 and 75,000.

Fuel pump died at 82,000. Expensive to repair - gas tank had to be removed to replace the fuel pump.

Alternator failed at 83,500 - easy to replace.

Intake manifold gasket leak at 85,000 - expensive repair.

General Comments:

Great towing vehicle, however once I hit 80,000 miles it has been VERY expensive to maintain.

Extremely comfortable on long trips with small children (compared to minivan).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th August, 2005

12th Oct 2005, 01:10

WOW I could have signed my name to your experience. A good friend of mine has always driven suburbans. He normally trades them in at 45,000 and has never really had any issues. Our 1st one (1996) was fine up until the time it was stolen (46,000). Our next one (1999) was fine until approximately 55,000 - 60,000 miles. It now has 133,000, but has had the following replaced... steering box, shocks, back pumkin seals, front control arms, alternator, wheel bearings, 4 door actuators, 2 internal door handles, water pump, radiator...

1999 GMC Suburban K2500 SLT 7.4 Liter from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 7.4 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired42 miles
Most recent distance42540 miles
Previous carPontiac Montana

Summary:

No I will not sell it to you!!!

Faults:

I have had to replace the front disc brakes 3 times since new. That is my ONLY complaint about this wonderful truck is that the pads are too darn small for a 4 plus ton truck. I'm glad that GM increased the front caliper and pad size for 2000 and beyond. Although it only takes a bit over an hour to replace them myself, it's still a pain in the butt (bleeding the lines is always fun.) I had a short in my headlight module due to a backfeed from faulty trailer wiring. A $700 repair.

General Comments:

This truck is phenomenally fun to drive. It has a MAJOR command of the road. The only negative I have is that it only gets 7 MPG the way I drive it. I had to buy a commuter car recently due to high gas prices here in Chicago. I will drive this truck (weekends mostly) until I die. My two large dogs LOVE the back of it with the middle seats folded down and 3rd seat removed. Also, I strongly suggest putting in the Superchip to get the 290 HP Plus 25 HP (315 HP total.) The real benefit is that the chip does away with the 100 MPH transmission kick out (speed controller) and the automatic horsepower reducer (hot thermostat reaction) when the engine is warm. The heavy duty oil cooler takes care of any potential for overheating. I even surprise the FAST & FURIOUS wannabe crowd with this fast truck

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2005

5th Apr 2005, 10:01

Why would replacing the brake pads necessitate bleeding the brakes? Are you not able to do it without disconnecting the brake hoses?

And no, I don't want your 7 mpg truck. Suspect nobody else would either.

31st Jan 2007, 23:42

I had alot of problems with my truck. Some wear and tear, some is GM's faulty manufacturing. Trans was defective, covered by warranty, but I still had to fight with the dealer to get the work outta them. Fuel pump went 3 times, not sure why. Water pump and a coolant seal went, various other small annoying repairs. I'm not happy with GM's dealers and their lack of quality in the long run. Excellent vehicle for the family and cargo, especially long trips, especially if you need a truck that can tow something and fit all your family.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 6 reviews