1999 GMC Yukon Reviews - Page 2 of 5

1999 GMC Yukon Denali 350 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 350 Automatic
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carGMC Sierra

Faults:

Window shield wipers and washer, and power windows, and radio shut off and don't come on for hours and sometimes days.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th December, 2009

1999 GMC Yukon Denali 5.7 gas from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.7 gas Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carGMC Safari

Summary:

Great ride if they still had spare parts

Faults:

1. Passenger seat heater, no replacement parts from GM.

2. AC compressor R&R.

3. Fuel pump R&R.

4. Intake manifold gasket R&R 3x.

5. Transfer case seal and gasket R&R.

6. Pinion seal R&R.

7. Heater blower motor R&R. Weak motor barely cools truck.

8. Driver/passenger front seat cover replaced at 37,000 mile wore out. Just out of 3/36 warranty.

9. Transmission R&R sun gear failure, known issue with this transmission.

10. Radio illumination lights failed.

11. Radio knobs cracked and fell apart, no replacement parts available from GM.

12. Replaced driver door bushings 2x

13. Replaced passenger door bushings 1x.

General Comments:

I really liked my Denali except for the color dark green, but my wife liked it. This SUV rides better than my ML350 and as good as an Escalade.

It was built with some inferior parts or subsystems that were not sufficiently specced for this size truck.

GMC discontinued manufacturing many interior and exterior parts 1999 + 4yrs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2009

1999 GMC Yukon Denali 5.7L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.7L Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 miles
Most recent distance146400 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Faults:

Dome lights don't come on when doors are opened. And dash lights don't come on automatically. Neither are a big deal.

General Comments:

You can't tell these trucks are a 99'. I thought it was much newer.

I have never gotten such a great deal, only paid 5400.00 way under value. It has 146000 on it now, but runs great. 1 owner and he took good care of it. I'm very happy and will be getting another in the future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2009

25th Jun 2009, 16:46

My godson's father bought one of these used 9 years ago. He STILL drives it with well over 200,000 miles on it, and tows a boat with it as well. What amazes me is not just the reliability (never a single problem) but the excellent fuel mileage. He actually gets a tad over 20mpg on the highway towing his boat.

2nd Sep 2009, 16:58

I bought a 1999 Yukon Denali in May of this year. I wanted one since the first time I saw one driving in 1999. I love this rig! Mine had 146k on it and now has 152, but it runs like a dream!

I put dual exhaust on it with 40 series flow masters for a bit better sound and performance. I did lose a bit of bottom end, but not much. Mid range and top end power picked up a lot!

Mine is black with tan leather. Looked at a bunch with less miles, but this one is in twice the condition with more miles on it.

I will have this vehicle forever! It has pretty much ever option possible in 1999. Front and rear heated seats still work great. Only problem is I need to replace the driver side door pin. Have to wiggle it around once in a while to get the dome light to come on when the door is open.

The Escalade is overrated. You can see one of those on every corner. A 1999 or 2000 Denali are a different story. These things drip class!

1999 GMC Yukon Denali 5.7L 350 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.7L 350 Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1574 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Baller

Faults:

Alternator at 39,000.

Ball joint at 95,000.

Brake every couple months (I drive a lot)

Power steering pump at 100,000.

A/C recharging at 103,000.

Rear differential blew out at 162,000.

Electronics all good; however from time to time my light sensor takes a while to turn the dash backlights on.

General Comments:

I still have it running beautifully today. If you take care of a car, the car will last a long time. My brother has the same car and he has 230 thousand on his, and it still runs good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2009

1999 GMC Yukon XL V8 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles

Summary:

Sucks

Faults:

The engine blew at 90,000 miles.

Transmission at 102,000.

Fuel pump at 105,000.

Radiator cap fell off last month. New top end.

Now the brakes are screwed up. After replacing rotors, bearings, calipers, rear cylinders, the dealer tells me that for $1200.00 they can replace ABS with no promises.

Never another GM for me. Any ideas about the brakes? Thanks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th January, 2009

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 15 reviews