2001 GMC Yukon XL 5.3 from North America

Summary:

I like my Yukon. I would love to get a newer one

Faults:

My fuel pump went around 270,000 KM.

My four wheel drive u-joints were just replaced at 310,000 km.

I changed both front wheel hubs at 300,000 km.

Lights on controls for heated seats are burned out.

Lights for windows and power door locks go on and off, ever since I had the immobilizer installed.

General Comments:

The truck always starts and runs great for me.

It is a comfortable truck.

The truck has lots of power for every thing I have pulled with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2010

20th Dec 2010, 13:41

We love GMC as well. Our 8-year-old Envoy has right at 100,000 miles now and has not had a single repair, not even brake pads. These vehicles are incredibly well built. My best friend just passed his Sierra pickup on to his son at 160,000 miles. It is still like new, inside and out.

2001 GMC Yukon SLT 5.3 from North America

Summary:

I would buy another GMC any day!

Faults:

I got a 2001 GMC Yukon XL. The driver side floor would get wet when it rained but not always. After the second or third time of getting wet. I pulled the carpet up and saw a rubber grommet that had play in it. I put some flowable windshield silicone around it and that fixed the problem.

I had that problem with the "black death" with the a/c. Clutch was making noise when accelerating. One day the high pressure hose blew clean off the compressor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2008

2001 GMC Yukon 5.3 from North America

Summary:

Pleasantly surprised owner

Faults:

Driver side front wheel bearing failure.

EGR valve failure.

Very slow coolant leak. Low coolant light comes on about 18 months, add about a pint.

General Comments:

The turning radius is unreal for such a large vehicle!! It can get in and out of spots like magic.

Trailering of two PWC, you can't even tell they are back there.

The height is nice for deep snow, but a little tough on grandma and the kiddies.

Relatively good on gas for its size.

Acceleration unreal for its size.

Stopping equally as good, with 4 wheel disc brakes and factory ceramic pads.

More than I expected for American car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2007

2001 GMC Yukon XL 8.5 Vortec from North America

Faults:

Stalling for no reason. The car has been continually returned to the dealer for stalling. It has done this a number of times. It, (usually...), would start after sitting for a few minutes. The dealer requested that the car be towed to dealership at next failure without attempting to restart. I did this and the car, (of course...), started with no problem. The anaylitical equipment said there was "no fault" with the car. After continual problems with stalling, the car was again returned to the dealer with the admonition for some one at the dealship to drive and try and duplicate. Of course, the problem didn't reoccur. Finally, after again returning to the dealer, the anaylitical equipment showed a fault. "Crankshaft position sensor bad." Have only driven the car a short distance since, but so far, it doesn't stall anymore.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th May, 2006

2001 GMC Yukon XL 5.3 from North America

Summary:

Very Nice Classy Ride!

Faults:

Battery, tensioner and belt twice to get it done right, ABS unit,

General Comments:

XL, 2WD, SLT, every option except sunroof, with traction control, I live in the NE, and haven't had any snow issues, not that we drive that much in the bad weather, the best part of the 2WD is over 20mpg on the highway! (that's better than many smaller vehicles) This SUV is my Cadillac, drives like a dream, has enough room for traveling with family and all the luggage, this is the only way to do any serious highway traveling, best vehicle I've ever owned, and safest vehicle also I might add, and I'm a very fussy car owner.!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd December, 2005

2001 GMC Yukon from North America

Summary:

Nothing but trouble, and sorry I purchased it

Faults:

I have a squeal in the front end that was promised to be fixed when I purchased the vehicle. Nobody can figure it out. It is very embarrassing driving down the road and being looked at. This vehicle is loud and annoying. Squeal is getting worst and worst to ear piercing and nobody can figure it out. I even called GM direct and still got nothing done.

General Comments:

This car is an annoying piece of junk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th December, 2005

6th Jan 2006, 15:33

If the squealing noise occurs at all start ups you should maybe get the power steering pump checked...

15th Jan 2006, 00:19

There is shield located behind the rotors that have a real nack for rusting and bending. Sorry I can't be more specific about it, it happened to my parents vehicle. it made a grinding squealing noise when driven.

10th Sep 2007, 17:47

Just as a side note I have replaced many serpentine belt tensioners for making a high pitched squeal. Fords have this problem on anything in the 90's.

23rd Jun 2010, 16:19

Have you changed your brakes lately? Or a new serpentine belt.