2001 GMC Yukon Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2001 GMC Yukon XL from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

Have been happy until now

Faults:

The ABS light and Brake warning lights come on frequently. We took it in... the GM dealer looked at it, charged us $500+ and said that probably took care of the problem. Three days later, the lights came back on. Now he tells us it will cost us an additional $1,200 to fix this... the ABS module is defective and that we have no ABS. Any others with this problem on a 2001 model Yukon XL?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th November, 2005

21st Dec 2005, 22:38

I had the same problem with my 01, it's a common problem, you can find info regarding this at automotiveforums.com. It's a not too expensive fix if you're mechanically handy. Love mine.

21st Mar 2006, 09:31

Same with mine, Called dealership and was told $1200.00. I pulled the fuse and just have standard brakes.

11th Oct 2011, 16:19

All they do is disconnect the battery to clear the computer memory, and voila, the light is not on any more and you are out 500 smackeroos. Try it some time, just disconnect a battery terminal and see if the light goes off and stays off for a couple of days before coming back on.

2001 GMC Yukon SLT 5.3L V8 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.3L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

A good choice for someone needing room and trailer towing capability

Faults:

The transfer case computer acted up at about 55000 miles - repaired under warranty.

The seat heater switches (both front seats) acted up. One was replaced under warranty. The other would not act up for the dealership.

The emergency brake required frequent adjustment, and one of the drums needed to be replaced. When the drum was replaced, a new design of the brake unit was installed (redesign by GM - TSB report). No problem was noted after this fix.

General Comments:

It has a very smooth ride - much to my wife's liking, but a bit "soft" for my tastes. For a big vehicle, it is very nimble. It has a relatively small turning radius.

It has adequate power, but it could use more (especially at my altitude - about 7,000 ft).

The vehicle is a very good tow vehicle. It is somewhat hampered by the lack of power with a heavy trailer, but it has given me no reason to complain. It is a very stable tow vehicle.

This vehicle has the third row seats. They are fine for people without legs, but they really only work for small kids or very short trips.

Other than the seat heater switches and emergency brake problem, the vehicle seems to be well designed and built.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2005

2001 GMC Yukon XL k16 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired75 miles
Most recent distance33395 miles
Previous carGMC Suburban

Faults:

Problem with the brakes at 33,395 miles. Brakes failed four times within two days of traveling. No vibrations, just soft, not able to stop within a given distance. Pulled off the road twice to keep from rear ending the vehicle in front of me.

General Comments:

Love the XL, but the brakes are no good. GM show place replaced the rotors, pads and cleaned the sensors. Said the old rotors were rusty and needed to be replaced. The pads were only half gone.

No warranty since I bought it on 1/27/01. Took it in at approx. 22,000 miles for soft brakes, they said the ABS was working OK. Each time you would stop the brake pedal would almost touch the floor.

Since new rotors and pads were installed, the brakes have been OK. Going to travel soon, hope they hold out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th October, 2004

2001 GMC Yukon SLE 5.3 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.3 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired1500 miles
Most recent distance53500 miles
Previous carFord Truck

Summary:

A quality vehicle

Faults:

When the truck is at a stop light or sitting still, it acts like it is going to cut off.

At 53000, the ABS and the parking brake light started coming on and staying on.

General Comments:

Overall I really have enjoyed owning this truck. It has good acceleration and the ride is smooth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2004

2001 GMC Yukon XL 5.8L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.8L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carChrysler Town and Country

Summary:

Great truck, poor quality

Faults:

Replaced front axle (under warranty).

Replaced tie rods at 45,000 miles.

Various and numerous electrical problems.

General Comments:

I have a serious love/hate relationship with this vehicle. Design and performance are great. Reliability is old-world. Trying to guess what electrical glitch will pop up next makes ownership exciting.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th June, 2003

1st Mar 2004, 18:23

Have you had any ABS brake problems since you've owned your vehicle? I am experiencing a problem with the ABS brake system running constantly. My wife moved the vehicle today and it has began showing these signs of trouble. Do you know of this in respect to your vehicle?

Thank You

John

Hartline1172@adelphia.net.

2001 GMC Yukon XL 5.3L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.3L Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance22080 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Dangerous brake performance issues

Faults:

Brake Failure at 22,000 miles. GMC wants customer to pay for this despite that the car is still under warranty.

General Comments:

GMC already settled a class action law suit for brake issues on the Chevy Suburban. My experience indicates the problem STILL has not been solved. If your car vibrates, shakes, or pulls to the left or right during braking from freeway speeds down to a complete stop, then you have the problem. Brake repairs are expensive, and brake performance issues are very serious in regards to safety. Email me at Erktank@aol.com if you have this problem with your GMC Yukon or Suburban.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th June, 2003

18th Jun 2003, 23:26

My wife and I have been chasing this problem for over 1 year now. This has been very expensive in time and money. The Best Chevy Dealer with 100 miles is clueless. The Yukon would almost jerk you off the road and they still couldn't trace it down. Rotated rotors, wheels, new brakes 3 times within 1 month, new ABS computer, new ABS sensors - nothing.

They actually sent us home after paying the bill with this to say "well, it seems to be a bit better, but I still wouldn't drive it on the freeway."

We are also having stalling / dying issues at all speeds. But the truck always seems to start right back up. It's Hell!

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 12 reviews