2009 Great Wall X240 from Australia and New Zealand - Comments

17th Apr 2010, 23:04

The best of three worlds, I guess...

10th Jun 2010, 01:19

We are new to own a X240 4wd and we love it so far, but we have 7 seater, so for the price 25 500 for 7 seats brand new, we are thrilled so far...

Dee.

13th Jun 2010, 00:14

I would not touch one. My boss had one, and one day on farm work it fell apart, while the Navar is still going strong and well.

20th Oct 2010, 03:15

Just bought a Great Wall X240.

What can I say? An absolutely magic vehicle, took to an off road track in Adelaide, it was very good, very good.

It does lack a bit of power, but with a young family I'm not going to be racing anyone in it.

Compared to other vehicles in its class, it's right up there! And the price is amazing.

I advise all to go for a test drive, you'll notice the power, but you'll see what a good little 4x4 this is.

New owner, very pleased!

30th Oct 2010, 22:37

I have put the Greatwall X240 on my short list, and for value for money, it's streets apart, but I am worried about quality, and am wondering would it compare to a Hyundai or KIA on the quality train? This will be used as a second car for me to get to and from work, with the occasional freeway drive and off road experience. Would it be worth spending the few extra grand on something else, but not getting as many goodies?

David.

13th Jan 2011, 20:23

Is a few grand worth your families safety. These sorts of cars a notoriously dangerous. A great wall Ute got a half star rating the same week Holden (Commodore based) Ute got 5 stars?!?!

16th Jan 2011, 06:07

I have been reviewing and comparing information available on mid size 4x4, as I am currently in the market for a new vehicle. This is also my first 'new' car, and I live in far north Queensland, so 4x4 option and pulling around my little tinnie sound great.

I have test driven the X240, and found much the same regarding it being a little under powered. The drive and handling was a little raw, and the gear shifts didn't always feel silky smooth. Everything did however feel reliable and comfortable. Up and down gutters, and across some bumpy paddock was easily handled.

Regarding safety, it has received a 4 star ANCAP rating on 27th April 2010, which is the same rating the Toyota Camry Hybrid received. Granted, this does not take into account electronic stability control or a myriad of other safety features on the Toyota, which may assist in reducing or avoiding a crash entirely.

Value for money wise, I can't see anything competing on the new car market, and definitely have this short listed.

Has anyone been able to actually get this car cheaper than $23990? I have seen it both a little cheaper and a little more expensive across many retailers on the net.

20th May 2011, 07:45

All these people that go on about its safety ratings; maybe they need to learn how to drive more carefully.

We did not have all this extra safety stuff on our cars 20 years ago, It won't stop the idiots hitting you, or stop you from crashing yourself.

All car makers had to start somewhere, even Holden and Ford. I bet the baggers have not even test driven these cars.

The fact of the matter is a lot of people are buying them, so they can't be all bad, and in time they will only get better.

Did you know the Holden Rodeo 2003-2009 is only 2 star crash rated oops LOL.

11th Jun 2011, 08:10

You can be the best driver in the world, but that's not going to save you or your family from an out of control driver. Safety is imperative, especially if you've got precious cargo!

28th Dec 2011, 06:01

When oh when will people learn that the cheapest option is usually not the best.

You are quite right, it is not one's own driving that matters on the road. It is the other idiots out there that can catch you by surprise, and entangle you in something that you have no control over.

Just yesterday I was nearly involved in a multi car pile up, thanks to some old blind fools who thought it would be a great idea to get in the overtaking lane, not overtake anyone, and then slam on the brakes 200m from the end of it because they can't merge. All of this happened at 100 km/h on the open road, with very little time to react.

I can tell you now, I felt very reassured at the time that ABS, ESC, ARP and 8 airbags had my back, if I and the cars behind me hadn't stopped in time. With the Great Wall, you do get ABS and 2 airbags, but ESC and ARP are essential for a 2 tonne 4wd with a higher centre of gravity than a car, when in a situation like I was, where I had to brake extremely heavily and swerve like a maniac to avoid kissing the rear of the fool in front of me. My Kyron beeped at me, and the computer smarts kept the car from overturning, and even used the auto transmission to slow the car quicker by chucking it in a low gear for engine braking.

So, go on, congratulate yourself on buying your Great Mistakes and smile as you save your dollars, but will you still be thinking about the bargain you got if you had been in my shoes, but had actually crashed?

And before the ill informed go ranting about the prices I might have paid for my vehicle, the 4wd I own is available new in manual transmission for only $3000 more that a Great Wall X240, and comes with all the features listed above (except for the curtain airbags) as standard.

14th Sep 2012, 04:40

I agree. A great mistake.

Never mind. Don't expect longevity out of this product.

29th Oct 2012, 20:14

Looked this model up here, because I followed a black one to work today, and was surprised how good it looked from behind. Not out of place in a pretty swanky suburb (badge aside). If these are now getting 4 star ANCAP safety ratings, I might even think about them as used options down the track.

15th Jan 2013, 09:42

Bought a new X200 diesel auto 5 months ago. What a great vehicle. Drives like a dream and full of creature features that you would have you paying over 60 grand for in one of the more well known brands, for under thirty grand. Looked at many vehicles before deciding to go new on one of these. Tired of looking at ageing, well used Toyotas and Nissans with big miles on the clock, that people expect top dollar for.

10th Feb 2013, 08:05

Seems someone here is trying to peddle his Ssangyong... must be from the sales department.

15th Feb 2013, 09:01

There is a reason why those Toyotas and Nissans keep their resale value. Don't get me wrong, I really hope you enjoy your purchase and it goes well for you; it's just I've just never been much one to buy vehicles without a proven track record.

Speaking to people who've worked on those Great Walls; they're built with components that are basically slightly less refined copies of Toyotas, Isuzus and Nissans. High tech manufacturing still hasn't quite caught up in China to match other manufacturers, but they're not sitting on their laurels and are catching up pretty quick. It's just a pity they seem to so overtly copy well engineered designs from other companies.