1962 Hillman Super Minx 787 FXM 1 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Stylish and reliable

Faults:

It was a great runner. The disc brakes at the front always seemed to wear out very quickly.

Also prone to rust, in my case particularly the front drivers door.

General Comments:

My first car, Pale blue body with a white roof. Synchromesh gearbox (apart from first) 5 Bearing crankshaft.

It was comfortable, not fast, but classy looking for the time.

It had a proper heater and good styling in the interior.

One particular thing I liked which would still work today and that is a main beam/Dipped headlight switch in the footwell.

All my mates were driving crummy Ford populars or riding Scooters. I worked for a bank and I had a better car than the manager.

Also it had a starting handle. Oh how I wished for that on some of my later cars!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th March, 2005

1965 Hillman Super Minx 1600 1.6 CC from UK and Ireland

Summary:

British born and bred and fun to own!

Faults:

Nothing really, except I didn't look after it and the radial tires were worn through to the canvas, I left it parked in the road and was forced to scrap it because the tax was out of date, the battery dead and I couldn't afford to get it back on the road! The Police were on to it, so I had no choice.

General Comments:

I bought this car for £25 and drove it for a year until the tires were shot and the tax ran out!

I drove it around for a year or so and spent next to nothing on it, the bits I needed were easily obtainable from breakers yards, such as light bulbs etc.

It had a little rust and was thirsty on the juice, but it did about 60-70 MPH in reasonable comfort.

I was 19 when I got the car and the bench seat was cool, my girlfriend (s) could snuggle right up and steer the car while I lit a cigarette etc.

It had a good few dials and I managed to get an artificial horizon gauge from a scrapped military jet, which moved quite a bit when this heavy old car lumbered around corners, it was a scream.

The fake leather seats could be slippery and bouncy, they were horsehair and springs I think, it was too easy to slide across the bench seat when turning right too sharply, but that was all the more fun.

Where I lived at the time, near Malmsebury, there was a country road with a bridge over it, with a deep inverted hump under it, if I could get the car up to 60 MPH, it would leap over the hump and everyone in the car would fly off the seats, a real thrill.

The back seats meant I could travel around and two people could sleep in comfort in the car, great for those wet nights when camping out at the Cotswolds windsurfing lake.

Don't ask about performance and cornering, this car was bad in every way, it was however a car with real character, solid, heavy and fun!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2004

18th Dec 2009, 04:27

What a good real world review - viewed with nostalgia when buying a cheap banger meant a wonderful old '60s barge.

2nd Jan 2011, 15:44

Hillman = super auto, super auto!

1960 Hillman Super Minx Series III 1.5 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

An absolute dud

Faults:

Most things went wrong with the car. The head cracked.

The positive earth electrics were a nightmare.

The car would not start on a regular basis.

Seats were so bouncy and the ride so hard that we would often hit the roof going over a bump.

The car had a crank handle which could be used - but could break your arm if not carefully used.

At one stage the car was running on 3 cylinders for 2 months before I noticed.

Tyres were so skinny that the car would slide out at little notice.

General Comments:

This car looked ugly and was ugly.

Its only positive point was that it was cheap ($350).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th July, 2003

29th Feb 2004, 06:09

If it was so bad why did you keep it for 11 years and 120,000 miles?

10th Mar 2004, 17:40

I agree with the other comment and what do expect from an old car?

I had one and loved it, but being young and stupid I had to scrap it because I didn't look after it.

Read my review for fond memories of this car!

16th Feb 2005, 23:54

I've owned a 1964 Super Minx for the last 2 years, and I wouldn't swap it for quids! Sure it has a few things go wrong now and again, but it is 40 years old. One must look at the bright side, unlike all modern cars, my Super Minx is not made from recycled Coke cans and plastic!!!

6th Apr 2005, 15:54

I have a 1963 super minx and love it! a wonderful looking car!! that wrap around rear screen is just fab!took it to France last year, and the French just loved it, however, on missing our boat back to the UK, we had to sleep in it, not so comfortable!!

Chris salter.

8th Oct 2006, 20:00

It's a 40 years old car; it represents the age of non-computer design, non-automatized plants and an era of challenges for auto industry.

My advice when you drive any vintage car is: feel it as our ancestors did; try to transport your mind to the epoch and enjoy having the oportunity to own such a jewel; should you feel more secure an confortable then buy a new car.

Best regards.

Guillermo Pinzon, Bogota, Colombia

Auto-collector and minx break 1961 proud owner.

Octuber 09 2006.

1962 Hillman Super Minx 1.6 litre from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Solid, reliable, roomy

Faults:

Nothing went wrong with the car. I didn't own it very long, but it was totally reliable.

General Comments:

My mother thought it was too big, it looked a little like a small Vauxhall Cresta, which itself was a Chevy Bel-Air knock-off.

It went pretty well, I saw over 90mph several times.

First car I ever had with a bench front seat, all my friends could cram in.

If I hadn't moved abroad, I would have kept the car several years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2003