1960 Hillman Super Minx Series III 1.5 petrol from Australia and New Zealand


An absolute dud


Most things went wrong with the car. The head cracked.

The positive earth electrics were a nightmare.

The car would not start on a regular basis.

Seats were so bouncy and the ride so hard that we would often hit the roof going over a bump.

The car had a crank handle which could be used - but could break your arm if not carefully used.

At one stage the car was running on 3 cylinders for 2 months before I noticed.

Tyres were so skinny that the car would slide out at little notice.

General Comments:

This car looked ugly and was ugly.

Its only positive point was that it was cheap ($350).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th July, 2003

29th Feb 2004, 06:09

If it was so bad why did you keep it for 11 years and 120,000 miles?

10th Mar 2004, 17:40

I agree with the other comment and what do expect from an old car?

I had one and loved it, but being young and stupid I had to scrap it because I didn't look after it.

Read my review for fond memories of this car!

16th Feb 2005, 23:54

I've owned a 1964 Super Minx for the last 2 years, and I wouldn't swap it for quids! Sure it has a few things go wrong now and again, but it is 40 years old. One must look at the bright side, unlike all modern cars, my Super Minx is not made from recycled Coke cans and plastic!!!

6th Apr 2005, 15:54

I have a 1963 super minx and love it! a wonderful looking car!! that wrap around rear screen is just fab!took it to France last year, and the French just loved it, however, on missing our boat back to the UK, we had to sleep in it, not so comfortable!!

Chris salter.

8th Oct 2006, 20:00

It's a 40 years old car; it represents the age of non-computer design, non-automatized plants and an era of challenges for auto industry.

My advice when you drive any vintage car is: feel it as our ancestors did; try to transport your mind to the epoch and enjoy having the oportunity to own such a jewel; should you feel more secure an confortable then buy a new car.

Best regards.

Guillermo Pinzon, Bogota, Colombia

Auto-collector and minx break 1961 proud owner.

Octuber 09 2006.

1962 Hillman Super Minx 1.6 litre from UK and Ireland


Solid, reliable, roomy


Nothing went wrong with the car. I didn't own it very long, but it was totally reliable.

General Comments:

My mother thought it was too big, it looked a little like a small Vauxhall Cresta, which itself was a Chevy Bel-Air knock-off.

It went pretty well, I saw over 90mph several times.

First car I ever had with a bench front seat, all my friends could cram in.

If I hadn't moved abroad, I would have kept the car several years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2003