1982 Holden Commodore Reviews

1982 Holden Commodore VH 4.2 V8 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1981
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.2 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 kilometres
Most recent distance146000 kilometres

Summary:

Great first car

Faults:

Dash has a few cracks.

Water pump has stopped working.

Small amount of rust in rear guards.

General Comments:

The 253 V8 is a fantastic engine, good amount of power, reasonable economy and the sound!

Interior is nice (though brown) and the seats wrap around you through corners.

The car looks completely different and much more sporty with just a new front spoiler and grille.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2005

1982 Holden Commodore VH SL from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Bluebird

Faults:

I recently bought myself a 1982 SL commodore.

I would appreciate some feedback from any previous or current owners in regards to problems I should expect and basically anything else I need to know.

Greatly appreciated!

General Comments:

My mechanic recommended I get this car because it was a cheap one to fix.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th April, 2004

1982 Holden Commodore VK 5.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 kilometres
Most recent distance200138 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Summer Nats 2004 burnout car of the year!

Faults:

Two blown tires from an awesome skid! Broken handbrake. Temperature gauge doesn't work. Stereo was stolen along with a 12 inch Alpine sub-woofer. It's running rich.

General Comments:

It's a mean machine. It also does big burnouts. And it looks cool even though it has been defected for being too low to the ground.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2004

1982 Holden Commodore SL/E 3.3 six cylinder from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.3 six cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired192000 kilometres
Most recent distance192100 kilometres

Summary:

Beautiful, fast and reliable

Faults:

Gas wasn't working when I bought the car, all I did was connect a wire and it works.

General Comments:

This car's interior looks like it just came from the factory.

It is White with blue pearl and sits approx. 4 inches lower than standard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2003

1982 Holden Commodore VH 3.3 Six cylinder from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.3 Six cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired155000 kilometres
Most recent distance203000 kilometres

Summary:

Honest, reliable first car

Faults:

Since I first purchased the car I have only spent $1500.00 mechanically.

The petrol tank required replacing in my first year of ownership as it had rusted through as had the radiator.

It has always had a disturbing pinging sound in the engine when climbing steep hills. I have had the car checked many time, but we can't seem to resolve the problem.

The car lacks guts and drains the fuel tank significantly on small to medium trips that involve inclines.

Front end shakes and wheel alignments and balances only solve the problem short term.

General Comments:

The car starts first time in any climate, but really needs the gas pumped on ignition.

Very comfortable with plenty of room for luggage and passengers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2003

12th Jun 2003, 06:35

Well I will give you what I recon is causing that pinging problem. timing is off over heating (which can cause bad pinging) crappy fuel possible new fuel filter and the shaking to see sounds like your struts are moving in. try getting a strut bar.

19th Nov 2003, 01:18

The pinging whilst going uphills was a common problem with my vh as well, but by advancing the timing and replacing the pcv valve from the back of the rocker cover I was able to fix the problem almost entirely

1982 Holden Commodore VH 3.3 Litre from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.3 Litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired151000 kilometres
Most recent distance159450 kilometres

Summary:

A cheap car with power

Faults:

Petrol tank hoses leak and have been replaced.

Varajet carburetor gave me problems replaced with a XE Falcon weber carburetor which has gave me a major power increase.

Automatic transmission shatters in reverse.

General Comments:

This is seriously quick for a standard 3.3 Liter engine I can get the engine going 100 KM/H in first gear.

Does wicked burnouts.

Chews up fuel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2003

1982 Holden Commodore SL 3.3L Straight Six from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.3L Straight Six Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 kilometres
Most recent distance233228 kilometres

Summary:

Great car, reliable, easy and fun to drive and has a lot of power

Faults:

The left hand front window has become lodged out of place several times and it takes a lot of effort to put it back.

It is extremely easy to break into and has been stolen once, but fortunately was returned with only a broken window mechanism.

Radiator leaks slightly.

Alternator and coil were replaced early 2002 at 220 000 Kilometers. It was very cheap at $35 for both parts.

The body is rusted, but nothing to serious.

General Comments:

The car has a lot of power and has excellent steering.

The car uses quite a lot of petrol, but usually you will get 100km out of $10 around town when its about 90cents per liter.

The seats are very comfortable.

The interior is in good condition, but brown and cream isn't really a nice color.

The car is very reliable and since the new alternator has been installed the car has not broken down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2002

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 18 reviews