1983 Holden Commodore VH Blue 202 3.3 litre from Australia and New Zealand

Faults:

Water pump, thermostat housing corroded away.

Distributer fell to pieces. ICM and selector broke.

Timing gear totally collapsed busting the motor at 202,000kms.

General Comments:

It was a good car, my parents owned it before me then I started pushing it a bit harder and that might explain to motor busting. But a good car, only time it's been stuck anywhere. 18 years old and still no rust in the body.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2001

1983 Holden Commodore VH SL/E 4.2 dual fuel from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

SL/E's are the best cars, I'm never gonna sell mine I reckon

Faults:

Ignition module broke.

Petrol gauge and temperature gauge don't work on the dash.

Radiator leak.

Needed new brake discs.

Steering is rather heavy.

General Comments:

Very comfortable seats/interior.

Fully optioned (cruise etc).

4.2 on gas a bit gutless, but sounds great.

Parts always being stolen from it so watch out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2001

26th Nov 2003, 05:12

Good man, I'm never selling mine.

1983 Holden Commodore VH SLE 5.0 V8 (308) from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Great car, but you need $$$ to keep it awesome

Faults:

Some electrics faulty (trip computer).

Replaced front rotors.

Fried a starter motor.

Major oil leaks, the worst being a harmonic balancer seal, ever seen a black engine bay before?

General Comments:

Apart from the leaks the car runs like a dream.

Runs high 13's over the 1/4.

Has an awesome suspension setup, I like to call it the low rider.

The interior is immaculate, full velour, and the power windows keep everyone amused.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2001

12th Feb 2001, 22:46

VH's and VL's are the best and reliable.

23rd Mar 2001, 22:49

I have a blue 253 V8 Commodore VH SL/E, best car ever made. Absolutely comfortable, the motor doesn't vibrate when idling, trip computer and odometer a bit screwed but who cares. Better than any VL or VK.

11th May 2001, 02:24

Low 13's? Come off it!!!

26th Aug 2001, 23:16

Low 13's, yeah 0-100!!!

12th Oct 2001, 02:32

Haven't you guys ever been to the drags!!!

High 13's are easy with only few mods, eg diff ratio, 4.11:1 will get you 14's, no worries!!!

26th Feb 2002, 21:52

Does anyone know if it's possible to supercharge a 202 without too much trouble? I'm looking for about a 30-40% power increase to get it as fast as the 5l 8.

10th Apr 2003, 23:10

I have A VH SL/E Love it:) there is something about the VH's that is just sweet. And mines pulling 13.6 1/4's without a drama, 308, cam heads and bored 30thou, easy stuff.. you just need to know what your doing with it... and what is the point about complaining about fuel economy.. you don't buy a V8 for fuel economy!

9th May 2006, 23:09

The VH SL/E has to be the best Commodore ever to come off the shelf. I own one and it is definitely a hotrod, so look out if you see me coming.

10th Apr 2013, 07:11

The VH SLE is the best Commodore to date.

1983 Holden Commodore SLE 3.3 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

You just can't kill it!

Faults:

Waterpump spat it.

Odometer works sometimes: may be a good thing!!

Minor oil leaks, easily fixed.

Little electrical faults: mainly from old wiring that had corroded.

General Comments:

Has been thrashed day in and day out and has never let me down.

Is more comfortable than my previous VL Berlina, although it lacks power badly on the open road.

Is also heavy on fuel, but it is fully optioned and has carted up to nine people out into town on a Saturday night (we were going for a record).

Generally though, it is so cheap to fix, easy to work on, and doesn't do much wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th November, 2000

1983 Holden Commodore VH 3.3 petrol/LPG from Australia and New Zealand

Faults:

Engine reconditioned.

Front discs replaced.

Front suspension bushes replaced.

Front steering rack replaced.

General Comments:

Solid reliable car that was still in fine form after 300,000km.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 1999

16th Jan 2001, 00:27

I own a VH Commodore and the rating for my running costs would be 6-7 due to not being on gas where gas makes it cheaper to run.