1985 Holden Commodore Reviews

1985 Holden Commodore VK 3.3ltr Carburettor from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.3ltr Carburettor Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Previous carVolkswagen Type I

Faults:

This car is the biggest piece of junk I have ever encountered. Just about everything needs replacing, and it looks like a good one.

General Comments:

The only good thing is that you can do a burnout, and that you can throw it away and not give a damn that you did. They're just getting too old, and were never built correctly. If you want an older car, cheap etc. and need a Holden then buy a fair descent VN for under 2000. Far better in everyway. Or do what any good bloke would do and buy a mans car, a Ford. No probs with Fords. Ford Built Tough.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2006

17th Mar 2006, 15:58

VK were garbage.

Fords are not much better as well.

4th Apr 2006, 19:04

And your saying a VN is better? Misguided is all I can say! Remember it is a 21 y. o car plus what sort of loser goes around doing burnouts? Cool man!!! (rolls eyes)

20th Apr 2006, 03:30

Hey, I am 18yr old and I'm all about burnouts. The Vk I have "couldn't pull a knife out of soft butter", Now a mans car if you want to talk about reliability and comfort, mate ford all the way, I have never been more uncomfortable in my life in a holden (and I have woken up beside a naked 40 yr old fat chick).

Anyway, I didn't even get to drive my Vk for the first five weeks because it spent all that time getting engine rebuilds, suspension rebuilds, new gear box, new diff. The only thing in that whole car that was not broken was the B&M shift kit. I looked everywhere to find a good one and that was the best I found, Although to be honest the body and the interior were 'A1'.

30th Jul 2007, 19:40

Mate.

I have a 1985 6 EFI Berlina, and I must say the last owner was hard on the car. I got the chance to take it for a spin before I took it apart to fix it (last owner really gave it a hard time).

And I gotta stand up for the VK; great car to drive, power to the max and really comfy.

Would give my parent's VX a big run for its money.

Have you ever thought that your VK was crap coz it wasn't looked after?

1985 Holden Commodore SL 202 black Carby model from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 202 black Carby model Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired275000 kilometres
Previous carDatsun 200B

Summary:

A good car providing it has been looked after and maintained properly, fairly easy to fix

Faults:

Clutch cable stretched.

Clutch pedal loose.

Distributor excess play.

Leads, Rotor and Cap.

Blocked Radiator.

Timing.

Double locking on driver door.

Locks.

Steering column.

Gear lever.

L.P.G converter.

General Comments:

202 motor is very simple to get parts for as there was that many 202's made.

A reliable car providing that you look after it and if buying one, make sure you look VERY carefully at all parts of the car as they have many problems if you don't care for them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2004

1985 Holden Commodore SL 202 Black from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 202 Black Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 kilometres
Most recent distance170000 kilometres
Previous carIsuzu KB Series

Summary:

Comfortable cheap motoring

Faults:

Water pump.

Engine needed replacing at 102000 km due cracked pistons.

5 speed manual gearbox very clunky between 1st & 2nd gear since purchase.

Odometer stopped working at 150000 km.

Starter motor replaced at 150000 km.

General Comments:

I believe the Holden black 202 motor was at the end of its development and this last effort was just too much for a 20 year old design to handle

I replaced the original motor at 102000 km and then again at 170000 km.

Very poor paint quality, the sun exposed surfaces have deteriorated badly in my opinion.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th November, 2003

1985 Holden Commodore VK 202 black motor from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 202 black motor Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired215700 kilometres
Most recent distance215887 kilometres

Summary:

Good first car

Faults:

Starter motor was playing up, got it repaired for $30.

Power steering pump leaks a little, but works well.

Needs a new rocker cover gasket.

Seats have started to wear, but good for it age.

General Comments:

Runs good, blows no smoke at all, nice car to drive, good on fuel, runs on gas, good body, no dents, good paint, no rust and looks good!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2003

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 19 reviews