1994 Holden Commodore Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1994 Holden Commodore Executive 3.8 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance270000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Hi-lux

Summary:

Good family car

Faults:

Drivers seat rack is worn.

Water pump was replaced at 220000 km.

Rear window wiper fell apart inside of tailgate.

Suspension replaced at 230000 km.

Radiator replaced at 170000 km.

Full exhaust replacement at 230000 km.

Electric mirrors work erratically.

Air conditioning was re gassed at 250000 km.

General Comments:

This car is very roomy and quite com8fortable on long trips.

The fuel consumption is very high for around-town driving, but superb on long trips.

After 270000 km the engine runs like a dream and still develops good power.

Best thing we could have done was to replace the suspension.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2003

1st Mar 2004, 02:52

The mileage at which these things had to be done is getting quite high, so I would not be to upset at this as all cars do start to wear out eventually.

1994 Holden Commodore VR 3.8L V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance220000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Berlina

Summary:

If you can find a good one it is goof value for money

Faults:

The following things have gone wrong with my car that I can think of since I purchased the car as an ex-company car. Although I keep my car in relatively good condition there are things that still go wrong.

* Driver's side seat track needed replacing

* New transmission only recently as it just kept slipping and the engine warning light came on all the time.

* various other things have gone wrong.. replaced the usual things like fuel pump, thermostat. Most of my problems cycled around the transmission though.

* Alternator was replaced twice in a period of 4 years.

* Replaced the battery twice also since I got the car.

General Comments:

This car for the problems it's had has pretty good power.

Holden parts cost a lot so when it breaks, it also breaks your wallet.

Interior is pretty comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2003

1994 Holden Commodore VR 3.8 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership1995
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corona

Summary:

Sensational car coz it's a Holden

Faults:

Hard 2 change the radio, new alternator and engine mount. The usual wear and tear that comes with 150000km car.

General Comments:

Very fast.

Extremely Reliable.

Cheap parts.

Good fuel efficiency for a large car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2002

22nd Oct 2002, 01:37

A question for the person who posted the car, when you say the fuel efficiency is good for a big car - how many liters does it take and how many kilometers do you get from it?

Thanks.

28th Oct 2002, 21:01

Not this car, but I have a vr wagon.

And it does 520 to 60 litres around the city whats wrong with that.

11th Jan 2003, 18:34

I have a '94 VR that will do 35-36 mpg (7.7-8l/100 km) on open road driving (4 passengers and luggage), urban economy is a lot less.

12th Aug 2004, 19:40

My VR was my first car. I must say it has not giving me any trouble what so ever. It gets me from A to B and back to A again. Powerful, comfortable and easy on the fuel I would recommend this car to anyone seeking a reliable car.

5th Mar 2009, 03:50

VR Commodore's are extremely reliable and pure Australian. Great fuel economy and family car. But did you choose SRS airbags with yours, and if you did, have they activated and were they good?

7th Jan 2010, 22:45

I wouldn't say the VR is purely Australian.. Although built here, the V6 is based on a Buick design dating back to the 60's..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buick_V6_engine

These cars are a piece of crap!

1994 Holden Commodore Executive 3.8L V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired188000 kilometres
Most recent distance201000 kilometres
Previous carDatsun Sunny

Summary:

Performance and Reliability

Faults:

One of the interior dash lights needs replacing.

Suspect it needs new front ball joints (creaky sounds coming from the suspension).

New Water pump & Pulley at 195,000.

Central Locking system was spiked/ECU needed reset.

General Comments:

Spacious and quick car for a good price.

I have seen many other VR's/VS's with the same engine last up to 250,000/350,000 k's with no major dramas.

Automatic gearbox is nothing flash, but it performs well.

Replaced the factory cassette/radio with a nice Sony CD deck.

All in all, it has performed very well on long trips and in the city, fuel performance is around the 10-12 l/100km mark, and apart from a few niggling electrical problems the car& engine are flawless.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2002

19th Sep 2002, 02:00

The creaking is your suspension sub frame being loose. Do all your bolts up tight.

10th Dec 2003, 06:47

VR/VS's don't have the same engine. VS's have the new ecotec engine still used in VY's.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 16 reviews