1994 Holden Commodore Reviews - Page 2 of 5

1994 Holden Commodore VR series 2 3.8 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired187000 kilometres
Most recent distance191000 kilometres

Summary:

Good first car, but take it easy with accelerator

Faults:

Front end bushes and a link needed to be replaced due to wear.

However this was all covered in my 3 month warranty.

Air conditioner needs re- gassed as well.

General Comments:

Car corners great for big car, loads of power and torque.

Fun to drive, I'm a P plater and reckon its best thing since sliced bread.

Build quality is quite solid.

Bags of room, comfy seats and looks nice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2005

13th Apr 2006, 09:49

Well I have a VR series II 1994 and I am P plater... and seriously I have had some problems... I have changed all the bushes on it, front and back... now I have found out at 170 000km my auto transmition is burnt out, hasn't died on me though need replacement asap $1700 worth, the really bad kick was I paid $6500 for the car.

7th May 2006, 06:14

Had the air - con TX valve replaced and regas nearly 200 bucks worth.

Only other issue is boot leak. The whole VR and VS series are prone to it. The small welded body panels between boot lid and rear quarter window are prone to corrosion for some reason and let in water.

25th May 2012, 04:05

In Penola S.A. you can get second hand gearboxes in very good condition for about $100.

1994 Holden Commodore VR 3.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Previous carMitsubishi Diamante

Summary:

This car has had more down sides than up sides

Faults:

On the same day I bought my Holden VR the motor blew up on my way home, so the car dealer picked it up and replaced the motor.

When I went back to pick it up the second time it broke down whilst I was stopped at the lights waiting for them to change green, so again the car dealer had to come pick it up and fix it.

The third time I went back to pick it up the radiator had a severe leakage problem, but I still took it home.

Once I had it home it was just one problem after another for the first year.

The first time I took it in for a warranty of fitness check after I brought it home I had to:

-replace the whole exhaust system.

-replace rear shock absorbers.

-replace front brakes and.

-replace all caster and link rod bushes.

Not even 6 months after that I still had problems.

The wiring will never be right. (I also own another 1991 Holden Executive which has the same problem.) The boot light stays on sometimes, the inside lights won't turn off unless you take the bulb out and the small right hand side indicator light needs a good bang sometimes so it'll work.

The remote key had to be replaced as the car wouldn't start a lot of the time.

Horn needed to be fixed as it only went when it wanted to.

The alternator has been replaced twice.

The power steering system had to be replaced as it was leaking.

Tie rods needed replacing.

Boot won't stay open.

Central locking doesn't work properly as it only locks 2 of the 4 doors and unlocks 3 of the 4 doors.

The interior trims are unattached themselves IE. roof material sagging and floor carpet lifting.

Has a very bad rust problem around the spare wheel area.

Have recently had to replace the master braking system.

General Comments:

Although this car has been nothing, but a hassle it does have a few upsides to it.

It has a big powerful engine.

It handles exceptionally well at it's top end speed of 220 kilometers.

It is a very spacious and comfortable ride. I have 3 children under 5years of age and they all need carseats, which all fit on the rear seat.

Does not lag behind going up hills.

Very good at cornering and holds the road well.

I have also repainted it bright red with chrome trimmings which makes it a real head turner.

It still has the same old simple and basic boring cabin area.

I have often thought about getting rid of it, but after all I've done to it I don't think there's much point unless someone offered me the right price.

I love Holden's and would definitely buy another Holden in future years to come, but it would be a lot later model with hopefully a lot less problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2005

5th Feb 2006, 01:16

I just got my license about a week ago and brought a 93 Vr, I'm an apprentice auto sparky and the only problem I've found with it is the transmission seems to lag a lot. I love my Vr best holden!!

19th Feb 2007, 18:34

I also have a Vr Commodore 94' FI v8 5sp, Which I bought about 3 months ago, Since then I have needed to replace headers, thermostat, radiator, sway bar kits, rack and pinion, Castor's, gear box mount, both engine mounts, front right bearing wheel kits, fuel injection kit, rotors, and shockers, any one wanna pay me the 7000$$ I just paid on top of me 7000$$ car, but aye the car is nice, Vr rock, and v8 with 355 stroker that's sick...

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 16 reviews