1998 Holden Commodore S Pack 3.6 litre supercharged V6 from Australia and New Zealand


Not too bad


I bought my 1998 Holden Commodore S Pack supercharged V6 4 years ago at 90,000kms. It has 150,000kms. Here is a list of what problems I had:

I had a starter motor that was noisy.

Have changed 2 trans cooler pipes.

2 rocket cover gaskets.

Reconditioned power steer pump.

General Comments:

I can tell you what goes wrong on VT & VX Commodores:

Rear shocks leaks.

Fuel pump.

Tail shaft seal.

Head gasket leaks.

Rocket cover gasket leaks.

Power steering rack leaks.

Power steering pump leaks.

Sump gasket leaks (not too common).

Engine mounts broken.

Stabilizer bar bushes split or bent rod.

Rack boot split.

Wheel bearing noisy.

Transmission lines leaks.

Noisy diff.

Heater tap leaks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2007

1998 Holden Commodore Acclaim 3.8 from Australia and New Zealand


Just "Holden" Together


The quality of the cars interior is terrible! I take good care of the vehicle but the cheap plastics break and rattle. Fixtures such as the seat back pockets and hand grabs have just fallen off and dash rattles. The car has quite a durable engine but is affected by terrible electrical problems which attack the remote locking, interior lights and power mirrors/windows.

General Comments:

Generally I think the "VT" is a very good car that has been let down by poor build quality. The engine is strong and very powerful. The ride is comfortable on poor Australian road conditions such as where I live (Northern Territory). The big seats are comfortable as well and it comfortably seats five. However it's those little constant annoying problems that have let the car down such as the poor electrical system and the cheap plastics which spoil an otherwise nice dash board. The paint job is also poor and has started to fade. Panel alignment is well below that of the Japanese cars and an orchestra of squeaks and groans emit from the suspension/interior. The car also uses a lot of fuel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th March, 2006

1998 Holden Commodore SS Supercharged V6 from Australia and New Zealand


Comfortable performance sedan


I have to say nothing has gone wrong with this car since I bought it. There is a slight vibration in the automatic gear stick, but apparently that is common among automatic commodores.

Plastic bits in cabin make a few noises.

General Comments:

This car runs very well considering its size.

Parts are very cheap being locally made vehicle.

With regular servicing and prudent checks, this car appears like a good family/performance sedan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2003

1998 Holden Commodore VT Series I Executive Wagon 3.6 ECOTECH V6 from Australia and New Zealand


A great, versatile and reliable car to drive


Engine oil leak at 70,000km.

Power steering oil leak at 65,000km.

General Comments:

The Holden Commodore VT wagon is a pleasure to drive, as it handles smoothly and has a quiet interior.

Performance wise, the 3.6L V6 delivers plenty of power when required, aiding in overtaking maneuvers.

Having a relatively large engine, the VT wagon uses about 11-12L/100km which is reasonably ecnomical, especially for a car of its size.

Freeway driving is a pleasure as it cruises along with low RPM in top gear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2003

14th Dec 2004, 19:32

Put a v8 under the hood.

6th Jan 2005, 05:30

A VT commodore has a 3.8litre V6, not a 3.6 that is the new Alloytech V6 that has only just been released by Holden for the new VZ commodore range.

14th Dec 2005, 07:56

I’ve got a 3.8lt VT wagon with super low springs, 17x8in rims, a 2 ½ sports exhaust and the gearbox has billet corvette servos (stage 3 shift kit). With the car being so low with big wheels with sidewalls only 45mm high it has very little even no body roll, it handles better than any car I have driven. Even with a stock motor the exhaust has an awesome note to it. The shift kit is wound up pretty hard which jolts you around when it changes gear, but the car is pretty quick with only these mods. All up this car is great to drive, looks good and handles even better.