2006 Holden Commodore Reviews

2006 Holden Commodore Omega 3.6 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.6 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired24 kilometres
Most recent distance31511 kilometres
Previous carMazda 3

Summary:

Don't judge this horror book by its romantic cover

Faults:

After two weeks of ownership, a squeaky noise started from the engine compartment, turns out to be a noisy power steering pump pulley, which were replaced.

Had a recall on the rear seat belt buckles. (So much for your children's safety)

The driver's seat plastic side trim broke off and some annoying rattles appeared in the dash. This problem has never been solved in more than two years of ownership.

On the very hot Australian Outback summer days, the air-con would stop working. This problem also has never been solved in more than two years of ownership.

The computer gave me at least 6 times within two years of ownership, the message: "CONTACT DEALER". I gave up after the third time the dealer didn't know what to do.

The warning light for the alternator, as well as a confirmation message on the computer, came on twice during my two years of ownership. The first time I were told by the dealer that they couldn't find anything wrong with the car. The second time, however, I drove the car until the message disappeared from the screen by itself.

"SERVICE - ENGINE OIL" also appeared on the screen, that have also been discarded by the dealer.

The plastic side panels on the cent-re console came loose. This problem also has never been solved in more than two years of ownership.

Had two recalls for a fuel hose.

Had a recall for the front seat belt webbing guides.

I woke up one morning to find the battery flat - COMPLETELY flat, which is hard to believe given that the sound system and all lighting switches off automatically. Dealer found a loose battery cable.

General Comments:

This car have stunning looks and are quite roomy for the whole family. It's got a very comfortable ride, but reliability ranks very low.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th January, 2009

5th Feb 2009, 17:55

I have a 2008 VE Calais V and the front plastic clip side on the driver's seat door side panel has broken for the second time in three months. The first time it was replaced under warranty, but they said it will not be changed again at their cost. Their excuse is that "their" investigations have shown that these break when the driver puts weight on the door side seat bolster. My question is "How do you get in and out of the car without putting weight on this bolster?". In my opinion Holden have tried to do a sports style seat and not put enough support in the design for the side bolsters. Once you sit on the seat (especially for big guy like me - 130kg) the side bolsters are forced down and the weight is on the plastic seat side panels! Cheap design! Oh well, the car is due for it's 15,000Km service soon so I will have the discussions with them and see how it goes. I love the car other than this and expect more for my $52,000 I paid.

I'm 54 years old and I have never had a driver's seat fail like this in all the cars I have had in all my 36 years of driving.

31st May 2012, 20:47

Glad to know it's not just my car (same year/model) with the battery problem. First time this happened I assumed driver fault, even though I couldn't see what I had done wrong. Jump started it and away it went again. That was about 18 months ago, and it has just happened again - go to get in after the car was sitting overnight, and it is dead flat for no apparent reason. Have noticed things wrong with the electrics on several occasions, but they always seem temporary and eventually right themselves - ie whole central controls (radio/AC) shut off and couldn't switch back on, then 12 months on in the heat of summer, the entire AC just switched off - not pleasant. Each time dealer runs it through diagnostics, resets the computer, and offers no help beyond this to fix the root problems.

2006 Holden Commodore VE SS-V8 6.0 V8 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 6.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired4000 kilometres
Most recent distance8000 kilometres
Previous carAudi allroad quattro

Summary:

A tremendous bargain when you look at what you get for your money, power, comfort, on-road presence

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

After owning the car for 3 months now and after 4000 km of driving I am very happy with it so far.

The Holden is a lot easier to drive than the Audi Allroad that I had prior to it. There is plenty of power, and the fuel economy, while it is thirsty around town, is actually pretty good on a long trip (about 11 litres per 100km).

There has obviously been a lot of thought put into the design of the current VE Commodore. For instance, the stereo controls are very intuitive I feel, with the steering wheel controls very easy to get used to. Ditto the cruise control, which I have found pretty useful for keeping the speed down under 110km on the straight bits, as it certainly has plenty of power.

The seats are pretty comfortable, although the lack of fully electrical adjustment of them is probably the only criticism that I would offer.

My wife is also a great fan of the car. She refused to drive the Audi, as she reckoned it made her tired when she drove it. No such problem with the Commodore.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2007

25th Mar 2007, 20:05

I don't have the SSV, but I do have the SS.

And its been excellent have over 15,000 on the odo now.

5th Jan 2008, 21:40

You can't comment on reliability 3000K in and give it 10/10.

I like to see if you can comment the same after your warranty is up. Shame you can't give negative scores.

6th Jan 2008, 19:56

I just covered over 30,000 on my VE SS and has not have any problems with it. So I still rate it as I see it.

Don't like it then bugger off with your negative crap!

20th Dec 2010, 00:08

I own a 2006 VZ SV6, 65000 km.

I love it, drives great, not a problem. I also own a 1992 VP V6, I bought it in 1995, 225000 km. Except for the usual stuff, I have never had a major problem with it.

2006 Holden Commodore VE SS 6.0 L98 V8 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 6.0 L98 V8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 kilometres
Most recent distance3500 kilometres
Previous carHolden Acclaim

Summary:

So far so good and I love it!

Faults:

Nothing yet so far so good for a series 1 VE.

General Comments:

A hell of a lot better than my VY Acclaim.

Excellent handling for a large family car, and a much safer car to drive and own. It has tons of grip. It's so nimble to drive around really.

Has all the interior comforts that I need and many more extras.

The V8 is a gem it just pumps out the power and the ESP keeps the car in check.

The car just looks awesome and it's a real head turner.

Although it does sit a tad high, but I guess I can live with it.

It has oodles of torque and it sounds great.

It's a pure joy to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2006

19th Oct 2006, 05:53

I also own a Holden Commodore VE SS, its wonderful to look at, fun to drive and quite comfortable, but has already been back to the dealer twice. Once for failed central locking system and the other because the airbag light came. Now I here that V8 models are up for recall after only two weeks only sale due to a possible fuel leakage. Pathetic Holden quality, I shouldn't be surprised really, they never were good at putting cars together, but I thought I'd take a chance, so much for "rivaling the Germans". Hope it doesn't get worse from here, I should have bought Japanese.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 3 reviews