1982 Holden Gemini Reviews

1982 Holden Gemini TF SL/X Sedan 1.6 SOHC g161z from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 SOHC g161z Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 kilometres
Most recent distance127500 kilometres

Summary:

Best value for the money around!

Faults:

Well the heat core has developed a leak, the radiator hose blew out, and I cooked the motor.

Bought a motor for $350 fully reconditioned. It's been excellent since.

General Comments:

Great first car, due to awesomeness of the SL/X haven't had to upgrade the alternator and have 2 Amps, 6 inch splits in front, 6x9's in the back, 12 inch sub in boot and dual battery system running, and even if I drive around all day with the stereo cranked, it still doesn't flatten the battery's :D.

(regular Gemini's are 35amp alternator's, the SL and SL/X alternators are 50amp)

Anyhow, probably a great car all round, and it also has an alarm and central locking now.

Turbo kit going on in 1 year ~

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2008

1982 Holden Gemini TG S/LX 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired152000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

A good car, but I wish it had more grunt

Faults:

The driver's side floor was rusted through and had to be replaced, but it was relatively cheap to fix.

General Comments:

This car is quite loud thanks to a modified exhaust and the fact that it's a Gemini. Because of this fact it is a bit of a head turner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2004

1982 Holden Gemini TE 1.6 litre from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 litre Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired217000 kilometres
Most recent distance228000 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

Quick, underestimated bargain!

Faults:

Water leaks in from the doors and near the accelerator.

Weird electrical faults such as, the car dies when you pull the handbrake on sometimes and reverse lights come on in 2nd gear (if anyone knows anything that can help me fix it, I'd be grateful)

Had to replace the gearbox.

General Comments:

Gemi's go a lot harder than people think. Mine is standard and I've slapped third multiple times and beaten many newer cars.

Being rear wheel drive they can be lethal in the wet if you're not careful.

Apart from the above, it's a great little car, goes hard as, and reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2004

6th Oct 2004, 01:33

The TF gemi would have to be best first car to own. I have owned many cars, but the TF would have to be the best car on fuel and it's handling is good as gold.

1982 Holden Gemini SL/X 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired138688 kilometres
Most recent distance142104 kilometres

Summary:

Cheap fun

Faults:

So far the only thing that has gone wrong was a broken fan belt, otherwise Nothing so far, but I have only had it a short time.

General Comments:

My little Gemini lacks a lot of power, but a small budget will have her in great racing potential.

I must say it's true the Gemini runs on an oily rag.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2003

15th Dec 2005, 18:15

I love gemini's my self I'm only 14 and I'm getting one very soon I want to know what model is the best to get in a 5- speed manual thank you.

1982 Holden Gemini SLX 1.6 unleaded from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 unleaded Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Gemini

Summary:

A cheap performance ripper

Faults:

Had problems with a leak in the radiator and fuel pump and also with the headlamp relay.

But parts for this car from a wreckers are dead cheap.

General Comments:

This car is great for someone with a low budget or someone who wishes to make a project and do up the car. There are many other Isuzu engines that fit into the Gemini's.

The car has great handling if you put in larger tyre's (14/R) and lower it.

I think these cars are cheap to run and to afford. Great car for your first time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2003

1982 Holden Gemini S/LX 1.6 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance40000 kilometres
Previous carFord Meteor

Summary:

Great first car for a no money, university student who goes everywhere on not much fuel!

Faults:

Pretty much nothing at all, besides the general services that need to be done. Radiator did go, but wasn't much of a hassle to replace.

Services can be done yourself in about an hour, as the engine is so simple and easy.

General Comments:

There is not much room in the back.

The engine is a bit slow and lacks pick-up, but I think a manual would do the trick.

Very economical, a tank takes you everywhere and back!

Great for a first car and someone on a tight budget.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2002

1982 Holden Gemini 1.6 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired144000 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres

Summary:

It just won't stop

Faults:

It leaked when left outside, on the passenger side and end up in a puddle on the floor, the boot leaked, also came from back of brake light, it was like as if it was made to leak. I used a filler to stop the problem.

Then found out that part of the leak that keeps on appearing on the passenger floor was coming from the heater, it was a mission to get out, cost $20NZ to get a new heater coil.

Then I think the engine was invincible - nearly cooking it with no water, one of the big end bearings decides to pack in, engine came out no trouble and replaced the bearings for around $40NZ. Once that was replaced it hasn't played up since.

The automatic choke seems to work then turn off quickly, and on cold mornings it tends to stall unless you keep your revs up.

General Comments:

Great first car as this is mine, you can run the thing on empty for about a week. It just doesn't wanna stop.

Wider tyres would help the handling as it doesn't like sharp corners in the wet!

It's a very easy car to fix if anything does go wrong. It's a machine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2002

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 11 reviews