1982 Holden Gemini Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1982 Holden Gemini TF SL/X 1.8L diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8L diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 kilometres
Most recent distance175000 kilometres

Summary:

Slow and loud, but cheaper than a 3 cylinder

Faults:

The differential had a bit of noise, but I got another from the wreckers for $100 and it's running good now.

General Comments:

It's not a speed machine, but it gets me from A to B without any problems.

The cheapest car to run.

What can I say, it just won't stop going and costs nothing, can't ask for more.

The trim is a bit out dated, but can be fixed quite easily with a bit of work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2002

1982 Holden Gemini TF 1.6 dual throat carby from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 dual throat carby Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired178000 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres

Summary:

Very quick

Faults:

Was auto, but had a very bad gear kick down so I changed it to a manual.

General Comments:

This car goes hammers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2001

13th May 2001, 06:55

Too big off jet on the carbie.

1982 Holden Gemini TF 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired248000 kilometres
Most recent distance301400 kilometres
Previous carHolden Gemini Wagon

Summary:

Cheap, reliable and fast

Faults:

Broken linkage in the gearbox.

Head gasket.

Alternator.

Regulator.

A little rust and water leaks.

General Comments:

Great little car, just needs more power (eg 80 kilowatts) and better rust protection.

Gets the job done.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2000

7th Apr 2001, 05:31

We have just recently bought a white TF SL Gemini for $1500, little rust, 3 months rego, and I couldn't agree with you more. Great reliable little car, although has crap box power. Tons of mileage, done at least 10, two and half hour trips within the last 3 months.

16th Apr 2001, 04:57

I recently bought an 82 Gemini, which currently has a blown head gasket. I'm going to fully rebuild the motor and was wondering if blown head gaskets are a common problem. The car was only owned by old people and never driven hard.

Any main reasons for blowing head gaskets?

13th Jul 2013, 03:18

When people didn't look after the cooling systems, the head gaskets would go, along with welch plugs etc.

The head gasket is an easy job; can do it in the back yard in an hour.

1982 Holden Gemini TF SLX 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired174200 kilometres
Most recent distance183658 kilometres

Summary:

An economical car with potential for style

Faults:

Minor rust in the doors.

Rattle in the driving gear.

General Comments:

Good first car with a lot of potential if you were to supe up the engine. Could beat any car in a drag minus the V8 field.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2000

11th May 2005, 06:35

My TE gemini has a 2 liter turbo in it and it flys great car to do up and I beat lots of v8.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 11 reviews