1984 Holden Gemini SLE 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand


Go the Isuzu


Diff blew at 170000 kms of pure thrashing.

Needed a new water pump after 146000.

Minor rust in doors.

General Comments:

This car is exceptional. It handles great and is not slow. I put a stage 4 cam webber and full exhaust on. It made it like a rally car - it easily beats V6 Commodores and kills Falcons. Drive it right and it will impress anyone.

It's also easy to control and does great burnouts for a 1.6. It gets both wheels spinning easily without an LSD.

I would recommend it to anyone - it's a little beast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2006

29th May 2006, 06:52

Yeah, I have a 1980 Gemini wagon SL. Good car, no probs. gets there.

Jan Sinden. Sydney.

12th Jul 2006, 03:48

Yeah I own a 2 liter TG Sedan. It absolutely hammers. Had a locked diff in it, had to change it to make it roadworthy, but still spun both wheels no worries. Just was not as good for doies.

I think that every one should own at least one in their life - they are so much fun!!!

1984 Holden Gemini SL/X Nissan SR20DET 2.0lt turbo from Australia and New Zealand


Turbo + Gemini = Endless fun!


Had a few small problems, nothing major though.

- Had a bad wiring job from the previous owner, had to rewire some of the car.

- The standard 1.6lt died, so I fitted a 2.0lt SR20 Nissan turbo motor.

- One front indicator lens used to leak not matter what you did to fix the problem!

- Standard brakes were terrible. Replaced with 4 wheel disk brakes.

General Comments:

I would have to say that my Gemini was easily the most fun car I have ever owned. Especially with the SR20 Turbo motor in it.

It handled reasonably well for an older car and once the new brake setup was in it stopped well too!

Interior wise it was really comfortable although a little cramped in the back, which doesn't matter to you when your the driver!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2005

1984 Holden Gemini TG 1.6 Litre from Australia and New Zealand


The cheapest and quickest car around


Rather big dent in the boot and between the rear lights.

Front window leaks and leaves a puddle of water on the floor.

Automatic choke turns off too early.

It takes a few goes to put the car in reverse.

It has an AM radio which is a bit of a drag.

Exhaust grinds on speed humps at stock height.

General Comments:

Very Cheap and fast first car.

The 4 speed manual is quick for the age of the car.

There is no rust what so ever on the vehicle.

The car handles beautifully even though it doesn't have power assisted steering.

Goes quick for a first car.

Cheap to fix up and modify.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th October, 2004

21st Jun 2009, 06:41

My first car, a TG Gemini manual, goes hard. It's cheap as I only put in $100 worth of petrol last month and it's now on E.

Not much more to say, but it's an easy solution to rising petrol prices, and you can do anything with the engine.

1984 Holden Gemini TG 1.6, then a 2.2 from Australia and New Zealand


A typical Holden, a Ford thrasher!


Old 1600 went quickly.

Seats, rust and dodgy door seals.

Torque tube mount is broken after a hard launch off the line.

General Comments:

The mew 2.2 beats even the newest of cars with 134kw at the wheels.

The rust has made it lighter over time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 2001

1984 Holden Gemini SL/X 1.6 litre from Australia and New Zealand


My little beast!


After owning my car for six months the welsh plugs began weeping. After pulling off the head we found that the head gasket, bearings and crank shaft all needed some attention.

The windscreen leaks during hard rain.

General Comments:

The Gemini isn't a bad little first car, they are easy to handle and economical.

If you go through the right sources they are a cheap car to hot up.

My car is red and that makes it better than lots of other cars.

The shorter gear ratio's can be a pain but come in handy in some situations.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2001