Holden HR Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1966 Holden HR Premier 350 Chev from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1966
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 350 Chev Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Magna

Summary:

Absoulutly beautiful

Faults:

Had a bit of rust in the top of the front left door. I had to cut this out, patch it up then repaint it. It took a bit of effort, but well worth it.

General Comments:

The HR is the best model of holden I have ever driven. When I got the car it had the original engine and powerglide trans. The height of the car was standard and had a heap of body roll. It was too slow for me. So what I decided to do was upgrade the engine first, so I put in a 202 cubic inch blue motor, but this didn't make much of a difference, so I put in a Chev 350 cubic inch and then rebuilt the powerglide and changed the old column shifter and put it on the floor, topped with a B & M Pro Rachet shifter. The engine is topped with a 850 Holley. The body roll was a problem so I dropped the car on its guts, approximately 4 inches. From there I replaced the original mags with Drag way Indy's, 13 x 10 inches on the back and 13 x 8 inches on the front and outfitted them with Yokohama performance tyres. The original interior was kept as it was in perfect condition, red leather. Once the rust was cut out I resprayed the car in the original colour of 2 pack white. All the badges have perfect chrome and all panels are extremely straight. So overall the car still looks like an original, but under the bonnet its far from it. A seriously tough street machine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2003

17th Nov 2004, 18:22

Well that is certainly one way of dealing with the body roll! From the sound of it, it must be a pretty cool car, can you put pictures on this site and if you can, DO IT. that would be cool.

1967 Holden HR 202ci red from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1967
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 202ci red Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11183 miles
Most recent distance18920 miles

Summary:

High performance Bargain

Faults:

Motor is fairly worked so its had a couple litle problems, Lifter, HeadGasket, couple of diffs and axles. crank, cam, head, induction (450 Holley), extractors.

General Comments:

Kills v6 commodores. Gearbox converted to a supra 5 speed. handling is a bit hard 205/60R13 Front and 225/60r13. pedders lowered springs in the front and 2inch lowering blocks in the rear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd October, 2002

1967 Holden HR Special 186ci from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1967
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 186ci Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

The best $A2000 I've ever spent!!

Faults:

Auto transmission finally gave up the ghost 3 years after I ran it dry!

Window winder broke in 1996!

Doors going a bit rusty.

Very little else.

Has been more reliable than new/modern cars I have owned.

General Comments:

Great old car.

Lots of personality.

Reliable as hell.

Very quick off the lights.

Lots of body roll - fun with the bench seat!

Steers like a barge!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2002

1967 Holden HR Special 161 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1967
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 161 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carHolden HZ

Summary:

A classic Australian cruising machine

Faults:

The engine mountings broke whilst doing donuts and sent the fan through the radiator.

Slips out of 3rd gear at high speed cruising.

General Comments:

Been in the family since new.

I've taken it places my friend can't get his Landrover through!

More comfy than my HZ ute.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2001

1967 Holden HR 161 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1967
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 161 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired45876 miles
Most recent distance47896 miles

Summary:

A powerful slab of steel

Faults:

Just some oil leaks.

Engine mount cracked, I had to replace it.

A little bit of rust.

General Comments:

The car is very powerful, it puts out 114 brake horsepower and smokes it up very nice.

The interior is very comfortable, however the seats need to be reapolstered.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2001

1966 Holden HR Premier Red 186 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1966
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Red 186 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired400000 miles
Most recent distance450000 miles

Summary:

A truly wonderful car

Faults:

Brake booster failed - replaced easily.

One headlight failed - both replaced.

General Comments:

The HR Premier is a fabulous car - unkillable and a pleasure to drive.

I've taken it to Sydney and Sale with no trouble at all.

I love the Premier bucket seats (very comfy) and the quarter-vent windows.

The Powerglide 2-speed auto transmission is a constant surprise ...to other drivers - it takes off like a bat out of hell.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2001

1967 Holden HR 202 roadrunner from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1967
First year of ownership1983
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 202 roadrunner Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Summary:

A very reliable car, and a pleasure to drive

Faults:

At 32000 miles the axle came out going around a corner too fast, the result was the car spinning out hitting a guard rail in the rear corner of the car..

Damage cost around $1200.

General Comments:

The car has been modified, 5 speed gear box out of a Toyota, 202cu motor, heavy duty suspension, the car corners very well. It's a very quick HR, I've owned it for over 18 years, it was my first car and have done over 100 thousand miles in it.. Externally the car looks original, terquise with a white roof.. 6in rims and hubcaps..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2001

2nd Jul 2005, 12:49

Hi, I have a question about the transmission, you said 5 speed toyota trans,what model of toyota and what year? I have 66 hr and I think I'm going to do that?

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 19 reviews