Holden HR Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1967 Holden HR Special 186 Red Motor from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1967
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 186 Red Motor Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles

Summary:

My dream car

Faults:

Muck in the fuel tank has blocked the carby a few times and jammed open the needle and seat.

I put a new fan in it and tore the radiator to bits.

General Comments:

Best car ever. Wouldn't trade it for any other car on earth, unless it was another HR.

Handling is a bit of a bugger, but I'm going to counter that with heavy duty shockies, lowered springs and possibly more hardcore sway bars.

It's only a Special, but it's got all the Premier body trims and the interior's pretty sweet.

It has a twin barrel Stromberg on it which I probably wouldn't recommend. It may add extra power, but I've had many a problem with it. The fact that I don't have a choke cable also makes it a mission to start in the morning.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th August, 2001

1966 Holden HR Special 161ci from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1966
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 161ci Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance139000 miles
Previous carToyota Corona

Summary:

60's style in real steel

Faults:

Original engine, so the original fiber timing gears stripped when I was late for something.

It was a bit leaky around the wind screen, but it is 30 odd years old.

General Comments:

Solid car on the road, doesn't get affected so bad by side winds.

60's styling what more can I say!

Real steel construction, my mate's mum backed into it with a Hyundai, totalled the Hyundais rear end. I just had to buff out the red paint left by it.

Mega reliable, it was my daily driver for over a year.

White with red velour interior, how cool is that!

3 speed manual gets annoying in the city with no synchro in first.

My car was nearly original except for the seats, stereo and mags, right down to the log book, only a few owners, original keys, panels, small insignias on the windows. Awesome.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th May, 2001

1967 Holden HR Premier 202ci from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1967
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 202ci Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Summary:

The ABSOLUTE BEST car on the road!

Faults:

Um, well I tried stopping at a little bit too high a speed, previous owner hadn't quite tightened the alternator bracket, I ended up with a radiator full of fanblades... My fault, should have checked.

Other than that, it's PERFECT. I have owned it nearly 4 years now, driven it everywhere, never once had ANY problems.

General Comments:

I need to change a few things myself, like it has 13 inch, 9-10 inch thick Bridgestone Eager tyres, and the tyres are only 50mm outer tread to rim, so they are ULTRA low profile, which doesn't help my top speed much... yet it still does OVER 160km/h.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2000

31st Mar 2001, 23:25

I bought my "HR" last year in August at 18 years, I got it stock standard and on 13's. So far I've put 14/7 Tridents, big sounds, primed it for painting, and lowered the front (back still to come). Things I've still got to do are paint, upholestery and exhaust.

Economy wise it's not very good, I chew up $40-$50 a week (NZ) and thats just a little cruising and to and from work. But I love it! It's big and comfy, and I can fit all my mates in! It will look good. I love my car, it's classy!!!

4th Dec 2002, 05:22

I've had a hr for 4 years now and haven't even driven it yet. all I need is my useless panelbeater to paint it! still waiting though. I've got 13 inch wheels with low pro tyres and a 3:55 diff sitting behind a toughened trimatic. I reckon shes gonna scream her head off at 100km/hr! it hasn't broken down on me yet though!

1966 Holden HR Premier 186 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1966
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 186 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired687000 miles
Most recent distance700000 miles
Previous carHolden HD Special

Summary:

Best car ever manufactured

Faults:

Snapped the engine mounts and the engine fell out, but managed to jack the engine back in and drive three hours home before I fixed it!

General Comments:

Someone put a tri-matic with a 308 diff centre in it, I am putting in a 5 speed Celica gearbox because the tri-matic is crap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th November, 2000

9th Dec 2000, 06:17

I am the owner of a 1976 HR Premier which has had a Celica 5 speed conversion done. The conversion is a vast improvement on the old "three on a tree". The only negative is that the differential ratio is original, which means that the engine is revving higher than necessary. (ie approx 2500 rpm in fourth gear to do 60km/hr). The original differential ratios that came out in the HR's are too slow for the five speed. I was wondering from what vehicle you got the new diff centre from? I was contemplating fitting a Salsbury fine spline diff, but if I can find a good ratio center to fit the standard differential it would be a much easier solution. If you could give me any information about this it would be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely Daniel.

1966 Holden HR Special Station Wagon 186 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1966
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 186 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30194 miles
Most recent distance31205 miles
Previous carHolden HR Wagon, Standard

Summary:

Love 'em

Faults:

Tailgate needs replacing - when I bought her it was fibreglass, and the winder doesn't fit into the handle.

A few dings, but there's only minor stuff that you expect with a 34 year old car that's seen a few miles...

Heavy duty sway bar and fat rims make her more stable around corners (otherwise, yes, HRs do wallow a bit).

General Comments:

This is my second HR - I kept my first for 11 years, and plan to keep this one as long as possible. Oddly enough, a lot of people tell me that they used to have one and it was the best car they ever had!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2000

25th Feb 2002, 16:56

Just to let you know - she is now out of rego and starting her rebuild.

I have a "new" tailgate and a spare, a full stereo for her, have scammed an original console, a 5 speed Celica gearbox, ALL the rubbers (ouch$!), and we're checking out the price of billets. A mild 186 is being built up, colours are determined, and motor trimmer lined up. Hoping to have my beloved girl on the road again within a year, money willing. The XY wagon is a good work horse, and its V8 is fun, but I miss driving my HR!

1966 Holden HR Premier 186ci from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1966
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 186ci Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired81675 miles
Most recent distance82803 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

It's brilliant, I won't part with it

Faults:

Nothing. Only put on correct size (185x13) tyres.

General Comments:

Mileage is genuine, last owner had it for 28 years. Still has plenty of grunt for a 34 year old. Happiest at 70 MPH.

Corners like a bus, though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2000

1967 Holden HR Standard 186 ci from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1967
Engine and transmission 186 ci
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10

Faults:

It's 32 years old - usual stuff but it's still on the same motor.

General Comments:

Love it! Bench seat, column gears, handles like a viking long boat in a gale - but you can't beat em !!

Bet Greg Norman wishes he had one!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 1999

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 19 reviews