Holden Monaro Reviews

1978 Holden Monaro HZ 308 V8 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1978
Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 308 V8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 kilometres
Most recent distance256000 kilometres
Previous carFord Fairmont

Summary:

Nice

Faults:

Just the diff has a whine, but the motor was rebuilt and brakes changed to disk type.

The steering control arm is a little sloppy.

General Comments:

Been a Ford boy, I've always had V8s. This toy is just that; a toy.

You will always spend money on this, but apart from that, nothing beats the feel of a V8.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th May, 2007

2002 Holden Monaro CV8 5.7L from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.7L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 kilometres
Most recent distance97200 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

This car is a head-turner

Faults:

Leather seats have started to wear down.

When air conditioner is on car loses, pick up and chews lots more fuel than usual.

Window seals on driver and passenger doors leak.

General Comments:

A very powerful car and handling to match it.

Very nice looking car inside and out. Just a pain to keep clean.

A sexy, sleek looking car.

With the exhaust done 2 1/4" from catalytic converter, no resonator sound awesome. I also noticed a difference in acceleration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2006

2002 Holden Monaro V2 CV8 5.7 litre V8 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.7 litre V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 kilometres
Most recent distance76000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Impreza

Summary:

Today's muscle coupe...tomorrow's classic!

Faults:

Driver's seat rocked - had mounts replaced 18 months ago, now rocking again!

Power steering hose burst.

LHS catalytic converter replaced.

Differential reworked at 40,000km due to excessive whine.

Passenger door trim replaced TWICE.

Map pockets behind front seats replaced TWICE.

Vehicle is on its third battery and the car is only 4 years old!!

Only yesterday the 'check engine' light appears... yet to rectify...

General Comments:

Very well equipped and comfortable for long trips, heaps of power, huge boot (for coupe) and sounds great with 2.5 inch twin system.

The Monaro is a great car that I have enjoyed owning over the last 3 years, but could drastically use some Japanese build quality.

For pure $$$ value, the Monaro is in a league of its own and is fantastic (for a V8) on fuel. Even as the car approaches 4/5 year old, the amount of attention and even people taking photos is remarkable! Get one if you like the limelight!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th September, 2006

2005 Holden Monaro CV8 5.7 Litre from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.7 Litre Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance3500 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

The car appears to be a great all round sports car, best for 2 people

Faults:

There has been an annoying Rattle in the dash since buying this car.

The air pressure that comes from the Climate Control Air Conditioning seems to be varied between left and right sides of the car, and poor flow to the rear.

Power Steering pump mechanism has failed after boiling the fluid and the pump appears to no longer function.

General Comments:

This car is extremely quick, with excellent traction.

Excellent handling around all types of bends, even in the wet.

Ride is smooth for a performance car, no harch bumps.

Car lacks front and rear passenger hang on handles for support in extreme conditions.

Front seats do not come far enough forward for elderly rear seated passengers, seems to be adequate for younger types.

Poor old sound system, sounds very muffled, does not come close to a Ford Premium sound system.

Leather option is of great quality, nice smell look and feel.

Extremely disapointed about the "green" old commodore illuminated dash, it is a little old and dated.

Great set of dash instruments, such as Fuel used, avg fuel consumption etc.

Insufficient boot space.

Great wheels and rubber.

Sounds like a V8, first holden to sound like this in a long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2005

16th Sep 2005, 03:47

The problem with the A/C its dual climate control and the passenger and driver, can have set to what temp and fan speed they would like coming out of their vents. Has this idea been thought of or is not the problem???

31st Oct 2005, 05:47

Unfortunately its not the issue, there is just one Fan speed throughout the car, yes you are correct when you say it has duel climate control, however even when set to the same temp, the pressue or Air Flow output varies from side to side, and has VERY minimal output in the rear. Since I wrote this report I have minced a set of tyres (lasted just 18,000km's). Also had the Centre Console Snap off its base as a passenger was exiting the vehicle, the Power Steering pump was replaced after the previous malfunction.. However I Still love being able to Launch at the traffic lights (Yes a Porsche or WRX would probably eat me alive, but its all good fun...)

31st Oct 2005, 05:55

Oops, I forgot to add, I had a couple more Minor issues which holden are still trying to fix or have fixed..

1. Engine Waring Sensor - Every 2 Minutes a Warning Chime goes off on the dash telling me to service the vehicle soon, after 3 visits to the dealer and 2 days off the road, it turns out some hoses needed adjustment.

2. Reverse Sensors - Eeeek, I want to blow these things off the face of the earth!! hehehe What I mean is that I have a factory fitted tow bar, and when the car feels like it, it will work, and when it want to get at me, it leaves the reverse beeper permanently on when the car is in reverse!! I do about 1000Kms a week, so as you can imagine, there is a load of reverse parking, so in turn a load of frustration, Holden suggest I remove the bar when not used.. I don't think this is a fix.. Just a way to keep me off their doorstep..

Enjoy..Thanks Dennis.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 7 reviews