1981 Holden Rodeo Poverty Pack 2.0 diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Fantastic work, a reliable workhorse

Faults:

Nothing really, the radio tuner needle gets stuck from time to time, and the self cancellation indicators don't work.

General Comments:

I actually just realised when I saw the comment on the other 1981 Holden Rodeo from 2000, that I wrote that when I got my first Rodeo in 1999.

I have had Commodores, Falcons, and even a Skyline. But I keep coming back to Rodeo's. I now have a work Holden VE Commodore so I thought I could get another Rodeo.

I actually bought this ute for $1200 at a deceased estate auction in NSW.

It has been fantastic, I have only had it less than 6 months, and it has not been off the road once, whereas my VE Commodore and house mate's Corolla has been with warranty issues..

The car is slow, noisy, and the seat belts dig into ya ribs. The vinyl sticks to the back side on a hot day. The heater is useless. No air con, no power steering.

But mechanically it cannot be faulted; it starts every morning, gets revved hard, and doesn't drink oil or water. But, if you put a load on it, it keeps working and working.

I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2009

12th Jan 2011, 04:21

Any idea where I can get a dashboard for mine?

11th Mar 2012, 06:17

Yeah, I have one write back on here if you are still looking, with your contact details.

1981 Holden Rodeo 2.0 diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Most reliable ute ever!

Faults:

Not all that much and they are all from being neglected like getting fungi in the fuel line.

General Comments:

It is a very reliable workhorse but the parts can be hard to get your hands on. This is because there aren't to many Holden KB Rodeo's and even less 2.0L diesels.

The only complaints are in the 4wd models - a limited slip differential would be nice in the mud. And the pre-heat glow takes a while.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th September, 2000

30th Mar 2008, 20:05

Legendary vehicle. Goes forever, and economic on fuel.

Two things against it though; the diesel 4x4 needs another gear to get up and boogey on the open road, and there is no way of dropping the gearbox without removing the motor, which involves dropping suspension. (major pain)

25th Dec 2008, 20:12

Hi, I was originally a Valiant man, when I purchased the 1981 KB 2.0lt petrol motor, I bought it for the long tray to carry my motorbike.

Since then I have done up to 500,000 ks at a cost of a water pump and a starter motor overhaul.

I was that impressed with the cheap running costs that at Easter time 2008 I purchased a 2004 LT Rodeo V6 3.5lt, which I am also very impressed with. I hope I can get the same reliability as the old KB, which I still have and is still going.

5th Nov 2010, 21:10

My ute is a 1981 Holden Rodeo 4x4 2.0, and it's burning fuel like no tomorrow. What could that be?

12th Dec 2010, 00:17

It might need a tune up or a service.