2005 Holden Rodeo Reviews

2005 Holden Rodeo RA DX 2.4 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance30900 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Triton

Summary:

It's a ute. Nothing more, nothing less

Faults:

Car has a rattle from the tappets, it comes and goes. Dealer heard it, but didn't tell the mechanic.

Electrical fault that fixed itself after 3500kms.

Weird vibration when you get up it a bit.

Aircon compressor bearings on its last legs.

General Comments:

Besides those little niggles, the Rodeo has been good.

Its easy to drive and park, turning circle could be bigger however.

The clutch is extremely light for a commercial ute. The diff is massive so I'm not betting on any driveline problems for a long time. Gearbox is nice, shifts are as good as you would expect for a light ute.

Ride is hard, tray is 2.6metres so it takes a heap.

The independent coil set up in the front doesn't give a "car like ride and handling" like Holden advertised.

Interior is hard wearing and doesn't look like anything is going to fall off. Doesn't have a clock!?! Seats are uncomfortable. Wouldn't want to go on a long trip in this thing.

I just brought it for a work ute, and so far I'm happy.

The electrical fault was the battery draining if it sat over the weekend. Try explaining why your late every Monday morning because your car needs jumpstarting. But this soon disappeared strangely.

Vibration in the firewall when you get up it a bit. Nothing major though. Air con is icy cold, but will probably break soon when the AC compressor carks it.

Not that good on fuel. Pretty disappointing considering it's only a 4 cylinder. But not horrible.

Overall a tough ute that is very much bias to the tradesman. Doesn't give much in comfort. But feels like it will keep going for a while yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th May, 2008

2005 Holden Rodeo LT 3.5 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.5 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance45000 kilometres
Previous carHonda CR-V

Summary:

Good value for money

Faults:

The vehicle occasionally has trouble starting when the engine is still hot. It's due for a service soon and I will get this looked into. Otherwise, no problems at all after a year of ownership.

General Comments:

I wanted a Hilux, but they were just too expensive. I also wanted a "space cab" type configuration as the larger "crew cab" had a payload area that was too short. The "space cab" basically gives me a small back seat/storage space, which has proved to be very handy.

I like this truck more and more as I get used to it. I'd never owned a pick-up before, and it doesn't handle like a car. It is a large, heavy vehicle, but given that, the handling is quite good. It's quite a comfortable ride, although the seats are a bit flat. I think they're made for fat people!

Quality of plastics inside is a bit ordinary, but nothing has broken.

All in all, my Rodeo LT Space Cab has been a pretty good deal, and is still under its new car warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2007

20th Aug 2009, 19:43

Terrible fuel economy, so I got mine put on gas so it is cheaper to run. I would not run it on petrol; only got around 350 kms unladen to a tank, which is pathetic.

14th Jul 2013, 04:26

I thought I was the only one to complain fuel economy wise. I have a 2005 twin cab 4wd, 3.5 litre V6. And yes, it is terrible on fuel consumption.

4th Jan 2014, 23:33

I'm looking at 2005 LX Rodeo 3.6 litre with 80000km. Do you recommend these vehicles? It is my first one, and I don't know much about them.

2005 Holden Rodeo LX 3.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance30000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Hi-lux

Summary:

Good workhorse, fast and thirsty

Faults:

Immobiliser problems, i.e. will not start.

General Comments:

The Truck goes like crazy, will blow any similar truck away, its super fast and even fully loaded accelerates with out much effort, drives like a sedan, very comfortable as far as mid trucks are concerned, however very thirsty! I get approximately 450km out of a 65L tank!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2005

28th Apr 2006, 22:03

Happy with my RA Rodeo V6. Very comfortable & quiet. I agree on the fuel consumption. When towing 2 tonne caravan... approx 22L per 100km's.

5th Nov 2006, 20:07

We own a 2003 RA LT Rodeo crew cab and yes for some reason the fuel gauge won’t go above 3/4 of a tank. It also chews through petrol, especially going to work up a big hill everyday and it's an automatic as well (But is going on gas next week), the steering wheel squeaks when you turn in the mornings too, but other than that I love it and its our 2nd Rodeo we have bought and would definitely buy another.

10th Apr 2007, 01:21

Great ute, but get a diesel next time.

15th Apr 2007, 00:05

We bought a 1996 Holden LX. It runs good and it's a nice tough Ute.

25th Oct 2008, 01:33

Drinks heaps of petrol, been through a motor (warranty). I'll let you decide.

13th Oct 2010, 06:34

My 2003 Rodeo RA is the best crew cab I have owned. 271000 kms and still going duel/fuel.

The only problem I found was that I fitted the gas tanks in place of the spare wheel, got bogged and had to be pulled out by a Jimny (embarrassment!) This has been rectified by a 3 inch lift kit.

Catch if you can.

22nd Dec 2010, 04:18

Love the LX MY05 crew cab, but the immobiliser keeps coming on. I have no idea how to reset it even with the key.

Any suggestions?

2005 Holden Rodeo LX 3.0 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous carToyota 4x4

Summary:

Cool. I've got a 4x4 that's almost a car

Faults:

As yet, nothing has gone wrong with the car, but I have trouble shifting into and out of low 4. At the 3000k service I explained this to the service technician, and got a demo on how to shift correctly. But I still don't have much luck, and it can take up to 2 to 3 minutes to shift sometimes.

General Comments:

Compared to some of the other 4x4s that I took for a test drive, this car handled very well on the open road.

The thing that didn't fit the 4x4 shopping list were the seats. They had no lateral support, and no hold to stop you sliding forward. Sitting on them in hard driving is a balancing act.

The pedals are very close together, and would be very difficult for someone with big feet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th October, 2005

3rd May 2010, 04:41

I've now done 85000 kms, and have worn out the right side brake rotor at 30000ks, which the dealer charged $350 to fix, and would not replace it under the warranty. My local mechanic said he would have done the job for $150.

The tail gate catch has broken; the reason is because it is made of plastic. Replacement cost is $350.

The speed control on the air only works on 3 & 4 (blown resistor I think, which is no big deal). And the air direction dial is striped.

The seats still bug me to the point that I'm going to put an after market seat in the driver's side.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 4 reviews