2000 Holden Statesman WH V6 supercharged from Australia and New Zealand




Had a slight drone from the rear when in third gear. Holden replaced the rear K-frame to an updated one (series 2) with dampers at the end. It fixed the problem. Note: When the K-frame was replaced it was after the warranty expired; still they gave it to me free, but I was asked to pay for the labour - no problem.

After 6 years (85800 km) the supercharger gasket blew and had a slight misfire. Replaced the gasket myself and it was as good as gold.

General Comments:

The car is very comfortable to drive, with a lot of legroom at the rear and front. The suspension is soft and it can tow a 5.5 meter boat with ease. The engine is also smooth and can hardly be heard when running.

Visibility through the windscreen and surround is very good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2015

2000 Holden Statesman WH 3.8 Supercharged from Australia and New Zealand


The best car I have ever owned


This vehicle needed a new thermostat and water hoses not long after I bought it.

Not long after this, the ABS module started to display a fault. This has since been replaced.

I have had no more faults with this vehicle since.

General Comments:

This vehicle is very comfortable and is a pleasure to drive.

The options this car came with are all still in great working order.

I cannot fault the way this vehicle was manufactured.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2011

4th Jan 2013, 16:37

No, I would never ever buy another Holden. I have a WH Holden Statesman Supercharged 1999. I have nothing but problem after problem.

Right now I have a problem trying to get the power steering pump hose to fit the car.

2000 Holden Statesman 5.7 V8 from Australia and New Zealand


Best car ever made on the PLANET


Power steering small leak.

General Comments:

The best car I have ever had, and I have had lots, being a car dealer, so I cannot understand why people buy BMW and Merc stuff, which are far inferior. Anyway, they may wake up one day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2011

26th Nov 2011, 16:45

They buy BMWs & Mercs for the badge cred, and the engineering that goes into the cars themselves; both things are sorely lacking on Holdens. Most won't be switching to Holden anytime soon.

2nd Feb 2013, 20:29

Yes, in a way, until the BMWs and Mercs get a few k/s on them, then the spending starts; some of the problems like BMW's Vanos timing and chain guides can be a nightmare.

23rd Feb 2013, 16:21

2000 WH Statesman International 5.7 gen III. We own number 40 of 250 ever made of this model. It's a pleasure to drive, and it's as smooth as, but give it the whip and it will smoke round corners sideways. You can see most cars disappear behind you. Very collectable. SS models are a dime a dozen. N.Z.

2000 Holden Statesman WH 5.7 V8 from Australia and New Zealand


A lemon


Differential failed at 60000kms.

Water pump failed and replaced at 65000kms.

Power steering failed twice.

Rattles in engine area have never been fixed.

Failing lights keep failing.

Transmission and oil warning lights activating since 45000kms and continuing.

Paintwork too thin and soft and beyond recovery.

None of above fixed under warranty.

General Comments:

Vehicle is a delight to drive and would be the best vehicle I have had if I could keep it on the road.

I cannot think of a comfort my statesman doesn't have. GPS, leather, sunroof 18inch state of art wheels, 255kw etc.

Service has been calculated to delay warranty work until out of warranty and no support thereafter.

I have had consecutive statesmans, with the former being a Greg Norman Special (great vehicle - no problems), but never again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th October, 2006

6th May 2010, 23:27

I agree totally, I have also had consecutive Statesmans, but never again; the WH did it for me when the guts of the catalytic converter came loose and started banging around in the shell; that broke the camel's back. I can't see me getting the wife out of a Benz now.