1983 Honda Accord Reviews

1983 Honda Accord hatchback 1.8 from North America

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance113000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

A Great Car!

Faults:

It needed a valve cover gasket, plugs, wires, rotor & cap, air filter, belts, exhaust, etc.

General Comments:

This car is great! It's my first Honda, and is easy to work on. Parts are pretty cheap too. Very cheap transportation for only $450! Great on gas at 34 MPG, and will easily do 70+ on the interstate. Has rust holes in the body, and the paint is terrible on the top, but who cares what is looks like on the outside...it's just a commuter car that will run forever! Inside is quite clean and everything including the AC works! Burns no oil yet

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2007

1983 Honda Accord LX 4 cyliner from North America

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4 cyliner Automatic
Distance when acquired68832 miles
Most recent distance68832 miles

Summary:

It looks like it is going to be a winner!

Faults:

It seems to have trouble in cold weather.

General Comments:

Actually, I just bought the vehicle. My review is to say that I am overwhelmed by the great care given to it by the owner before I purchased it. I believe it to be a very quality vehicle that I paid minimal cost for. It is not every day that you find a near showroom-quality 23-year-old car.

I did want to know from others if your Accord seemed to be a little troublesome getting going in cold weather and if anyone has seen recall notices for fuel intake on the 1983 model? I look forward to being a longtime proud owner of my '83 Accord.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2006

1983 Honda Accord 1.7 Liter from North America

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1983
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.7 Liter Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired301000 miles
Most recent distance317000 miles
Previous carToyota Pickup

Summary:

23 years young

Faults:

Nothing out of the ordinary.

Needed a new clutch and carburettor at 309000 miles, but besides maintenance items, nothing.

General Comments:

317,000 miles, enough said!

I love this car. My mom bought this car new and drove it when she went to college. Then I went to college 19 years later and she gave me the car. I wouldn't be surprised if my daughter goes to college driving this car. It will be in another 18 years, but this car seems like it can do it.

Driving this car makes me wonder what is happening to the new cars now days. This car is really quick and gets really good gas mileage. 34 average, still! It has A/C, and all the power stuff minus the seats and sunroof. They still work, all of them. From what I can tell, this car is better than anything new out there. I'd like to see Hyundai with a 20 year/300K warranty. This car is indestructible and still fits in nicely with other cars on the street. Sure it has had a repaint or two in it's life, but heck, it's older than I am by a year and older than my wife by two.

The car is the best thing I've owned by far. No problems, no hassles, no worries, not selling.

There is one thing that I do not like about this car though. That analog clock in the dashboard. Not that I don't like analog clocks, but it ticks really loud. Not a good car to sleep in on long road trips. Other than that, great! Incredible piece of machinery.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th January, 2006

6th Jan 2006, 13:10

I don't know why this review has a frown face on it. I wrote this review and I really like this car. I am nothing, but happy with it.

13th Jan 2006, 22:46

I've heard lots of terrible things about new Hondas. My step dad's 1998 Civic is a heap of trash or a lemon. I've also seen my friend's Accord (1 year old) with ignition problems. I'm afraid to buy a new car from Honda now.

10th Jun 2009, 20:23

Go Honda! I've owned over a dozen in the past 8 years. Love em a lot. Looking to buy a 1983 with only 30K this weekend!

1983 Honda Accord Special Edition 1.8 EK1 from North America

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 EK1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Age is just a number

Faults:

Nothing really. The car has been so reliable and problem free, it's funny.

Rear view mirror fell down.

Cloth headliner beginning to fall down.

Minor squeaks and rattles.

Rust.

Smokes a little under full throttle acceleration.

General Comments:

UTTERLY dependable car. Engine never quits or needs any major work.

Simplicity makes for easy and cheap repairs and general maintenance and upkeep.

No computers to fool with.

Overall, the car is very ahead of it's time.

All power accessories still work, including the cruise control.

Leather seats are very comfortable and well stuffed.

The ride is soft and the car sails down the road smooth as silk, but handling is crisp.

4-speed automatic is butter smooth and shifts perfectly.

The engine is refined and gives the car more than adequate acceleration. The peak torque is at a low rpm, so the car accelerates quickly without having to race the engine.

Travels at speeds up to 75-80 mph with ease.

Fully carpeted trunk with a large opening.

Being an 'SE' model, this car is fully equipped. Power sliding sunroof, power door locks, windows, leather seating, cruise control, power antenna and unique Honda allow rims. I do not know how many of these were made, but I haven't yet seen another one.

She rattles and squeaks, she's old and has a lot of miles... but age and mileage is just numbers! Don't be afraid of these early generation Hondas... for they are probably the best Hondas that were ever built.

Despite being 22 years old with almost 180,000 miles, it can still drive like (if not better) than any newer car out there today. In fact, I pass quite a few much newer vehicles stranded on the side of the road on my way to work. Break downs are no fun, but fortunately, I don't have to worry about one in this fine little Accord.

In a sentence, if you're looking for a ridiculously reliable car that is dirt cheap and easy to maintain and repair... then an early 80's Accord is your car! Don't mess with later models that are run primarily on computers... the older stuff is better, period.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2005

6th Jun 2005, 08:56

The "SE" model was just Honda's way of squeezing out some more sales in the final year of a design cycle. Honda always put out an SE model of the Accord the year before they came out with a redesigned model.

Rattles, squeaks, rust and smoke?

I'll stick with later models, thanks.

6th Jun 2005, 16:12

Not quite accurate. 1983 was not the last year for this generation Accord. 1985 was, however... and as you stated, an SE was offered. My car is a 1983, and is an SE model. During the 4th generation, an SE was also offered in 1991, which was also not the last year for the model... which was two years later in 1993. Every generation afterwards, however, SE's were only available during the last year of the production run and were gussied up LX models.

As for my 22 year old car having a few squeaks and rattles and a little smoke at full throttle, so be it. I get behind cars 10-15 years newer than mine that smoke like a house on fire and I've driven late model cars (particularly GM cars) that rattle and squeak far worse than my car! So, you can keep your 'new' car. I doubt very seriously it will still be running as good, be as reliable and trouble free as my car after 22+ years of service.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 16 reviews